Blogging is a silly diversion

Larry says so:

“The underlying engineering teams are so good, but the direction they got was so astonishingly bad that even they couldn’t succeed,” said Ellison. “Really great blogs do not take the place of great microprocessors. Great blogs do not replace great software. Lots and lots of blogs does not replace lots and lots of sales.”

Larry Ellison was my third boss (I was the 75th employee of Oracle, which I’ll write about soon). Whatever you might think of him, the facts are simple: He’s made himself, and a lot of his employees and other people very wealthy, Oracle is a clear leader in the database industry, and oh yeah, he won the Americas Cup in sailing.

(I would have won that cup too, if I hadn’t been doing this silly blogging thing). 🙂

  1. #1 by GregD on 2010.05.13 - 2:39 pm

    Just had to add that for years I had a really tiny blog because folks would always say I should write about what I’m doing.

    My first thought was , ok outside a few friends who the hell cares what I’m doing to warrant blog time? Then I discovered twitter where I can say ‘ if you want to know what I’m doing look there’… without a lot of work =)

  2. #2 by GregD on 2010.05.13 - 2:36 pm

    LOL, know what you mean about the blogging and thanks for the laugh. He’s right ; loved the post.

Leave a Reply

