Blizzard to require the use of Real Names on Forums

I’m watching with great interest the reaction to Blizzard’s (a.k.a. World of Warcraft) plans to require the use of real names in forums. I’m collecting a link to posts about this topic in case you’d like to read more:

That’s it for today. I’ll update this list if I see other posts about this.

Update (thanks for the heads up Rebecca!) Blizzard backs down:

I’m sure there will be more.

p.s. I’m sure it was the Alliance Scum who were behind this idea originally. For the Horde!

  1. #1 by Explorer_One on 2010.07.10 - 8:31 am

    Yeah, that did not take long. It was an iffy proposition for many reasons including the issue with kids and women and the potential stalker issue. Great thouights about connecting with family and friends, but not too realisitic. Better option is to integrate with Facebook as an option Opt-In where you can choose to display your Faebook profile to guildies and friends.

  2. #2 by Rebecca on 2010.07.09 - 10:06 am

    Announced today:

    They changed their mind… no kidding 😐

  3. #3 by Rebecca on 2010.07.08 - 10:55 am

    I can’t tell you how many people I know that will no longer be playing WoW. I’ve played this game off and on since beta. Between myself, my hubby, and two sons that play, we are 4 subscriptions, every single expansion, and collector’s editions ta boot. We’ve purchased transfers, customizations, and all manner of downloadable crap. I don’t even think we’re the rarity for Blizz. I’m pretty sure we represent average consumers to them.

    My guess is that the backlash for this will be severe enough that they will moderate their position and implement opt out mechanisms of some kind. However, given the rash of cancellations I’m seeing (just in my own guild and server… folks who’ve played for years and years and years), it might just be too late to maintain the dominance they’ve enjoyed thus far.

Leave a Reply

