There is NOT reopening on March 11, 2011

Hello everyone,

I’m sure that many of you have seen this post on Thumdar.com’s excellent site about There.com re-opening on March 11, 2011.

It’s completely false.

Incorrect.

Wrong.

I just thought I’d kill that one off before it even got out of diapers.

P.S. Besides, in 2011, who would waste dates likes 01/11/11, 11/11/11, 9/10/11, etc.

  1. #1 by Manolo619 MyAvi on 2012.07.16 - 3:56 am

    There was too cool. It really was. There were a few people that I use to bump into and they were cool too. Alternate realities like watching a good movie or playing a totally awesome game… the thrill, the feel of something so out There… I am a person that takes new technology really slow because it is so expensive and new technology plows in faster and faster… and if you are not careful you are buying each new system or application or new piece of hardware that hits the market, some bad and some not better than the old stuff and tons of money down the drain too. For example, I barely bought a PS3 after owning the first X-Box for about 8 years. I didn’t see enough variety or the “WOW” factor, well not enough of it to buy the new $600 systems. But now I have a PS3.. .where am I going with this? PS3 has a similar version of There if you have checked it out. You get an Avitar with your system and you walk around in virtual worlds and teleportation and things like that and you have your own apartment that you can invite friends into. Of course the PS3 version is nothing like There at all… Maybe There got bought out because it was too much competition? Where there is something too cool and too affordable, the government or some big corporation obliterates it with their dollars just to control the economy and direct the market in the way they see fit. And yes I said they and if you don’t know what I mean by “they” then you must really be in bliss. And to be in bliss is to be oblivious or what is know as ignorance. “Oh why oh why didn’t I take the blue pill?”

  2. #2 by kaylyn on 2010.12.31 - 4:32 pm

    i miss There so much it was awesome THERE is no virtual world like There it let’s you do whatever you want and it’s free i loved There maybe you can sell There so it can reopen and stay open it would be a good idea since it’s missed so much

  3. #3 by jessy269 on 2010.12.28 - 8:09 pm

    hey every one,, long time since i said anything about There.com,,, So I will start with this

    it was the best place on line to hangout and play with people from all over the world with out leaving your house.
    whether you like it its features or not, there was no place like THere.com, and most likely never will be again.

    We can all dream of racen at dune valley, running events, grieving, paint balling, biatching, hassling noobs, the staff.
    and lets not forget all the whining as we were all guilty of that, at some point in our time in There.
    The fact remains there is no more There.com,
    it’s sad but true, yes we miss it, yes we are searching for something as fun on line to do with our ideal time,
    and some may even be wishing for its return.

    But wishes are for horses and dreamers will ride, i have kept in touch with a few of my true Thereian friends, and lost contact with many as we all took the dreamers ride to different corners of the internet, or xbox/ps3 in search of a place that could fulfil the emptiness left within us from the closing of there.com……. But as in real life things change

    To : Michael Wilson the CEO. of There.Com,
    I thank you again, as I did the second last night of There, at Dune Valley, well you were on your final cruise, I felt your comment about the track was a little off for a man of your stature and standing, but i understood, you were feeling worse then most of us. PS. it was I that built that track:)
    You were a great leader, with a great vision, and ideas that were truly ahead of our time.
    Your team of core staff was amazing and you should treasure them and their efforts and devotion to you and your company.

    I know in my heart that you realized the joy you supplied for the masses of the Thereian’s, and if at all possible in todays real world economic climate, There .com would still exist and thrive if it could.

    I also understand the business world and we all need to profit, not just pay the bills profit but cash in the bank profit.
    But unfortunately we are all measured by our piers, government and the bank buy wealth, not happiness, or the happiness we can provide, this is also sad but oh so very true. You made our life’s funner, happier and worry free for a long time Mr Wilson and I will take this opportunity to Thank you again from myself and all my Thereian friends.

    I wish you the most success in your all future ventures, what ever they may be……….

    And a fond ado to all my Thereians Friends and Mr wilson a very happy New year2011

    Respectfully
    Jessy

  4. #4 by Stephanie on 2010.11.18 - 4:52 am

    Hello. I heard some crazy guy telling everyone there.com is going to re-open this december? is it true O_O

    • #5 by there_forever on 2010.11.20 - 2:12 am

      Are you talking about that police officer that made his announcement on Facebook?

  5. #6 by Ken on 2010.11.15 - 4:30 pm

    Mike,
    Its been 8 months and 4 days, but whose counting? LOL
    I have read pretty much everything you have said about the reasons why There closed and I get the feeling that you have worked out most, if not all of the problems that kept There from being profitable.
    I doubt that you would have someone working on the Avatars if you didn’t have something planned for the future.
    Dangling carrots are not in my diet. Could you give me/us something a little more substantial?
    There is NOT one game that even comes close to what There offered. Believe me, I have tried them all.

    • #7 by there_forever on 2010.11.17 - 8:29 am

      Ken said : “There is NOT one game that even comes close to what There offered. Believe me, I have tried them all.”

      And it doesn’t look like there will be a world like that in the near future thats for sure.

  6. #8 by Lolz on 2010.10.31 - 6:19 pm

    U t4lked to her brother, U t0ld her brother! You iz lying Michael Wilson!!!!!!!!!

    Just kidding, but you should watch the first 30 seconds of this video Michael, and everyone else if you have not seen it yet. Quite entertaining.

    (removed by Me)

    • #9 by Michael Wilson on 2010.11.01 - 10:15 am

      I have never spoken to that person’s brother, and I have elided the link to her silly video.

      • #10 by Lolz on 2010.11.02 - 7:53 pm

        Good decision, lol.

  7. #11 by ohimtherebby on 2010.10.30 - 2:54 pm

    well ohai, i just want to say that i loved there.com. I was banned about 20 times but i’ll forgive you. i hope your service comes back so i can enjoy being banned a further 23 times.

  8. #12 by truth is, on 2010.10.28 - 11:27 pm

    ^ Truth is, the other 999999+ people that would go back wouldn’t care if you chose not to for the first day. You would once you realized what you were missing πŸ˜‰

  9. #13 by Matt on 2010.10.27 - 1:26 pm

    Thanks for clarifying all of these myths. No, There wasn’t really obsolete.. But many of the features, additions, art (which you’ve even said yourself) were of the past. For instance, the real water which still didn’t seem quite real due to a lack of different depths.. It took a long time for it to be implemented. I’m not criticising or anything but just saying that these things have been done way before There did it. My guess is that is why a lot of people claimed it to be obsolete. Also the lack of some features, tools, and abilities made it seem obsolete. There’s so much more that could have been done with the webpages, profiles, auctions, event stuff, and even in world.. My list of things for you can and would be endless. I believe you were a great CEO and applaud you for being able to keep There running as long as you have and accomplishing what you have had. Despite what many may think, I still believe virtual worlds are ahead of their time right now. Another 5-10 years and the success of virtual worlds will most likely be far greater than now.

    There are also numerous things I’d like to point out that you may have overlooked. One of the biggest problems I found was getting into the community or even finding a like minded group of people. There.com kind of lacked the features and tools of integrating new members with the rest of the community or people they would enjoy hanging out with. New members did not know how to find their way around some new and unknown world. For example, the map claimed certain places were hot spots or highly populated. You’d teleport to them and find no one. Sure, the members do play some roles in this but we just didn’t have the tools (which was There’s part to do) to aid us. Due to things like this and new members thinking the world was empty, it was rare to see a new member return again the next day.

    Also, one thing I’ve noticed was that There seemed to focus way too much on helping members and developers to make money and failing to help themselves at the same time. Sure, there were developer fees.. But after that, what was in it for There.com? One of the failures I saw was that the inflation of Therebucks.. More Therebucks were going into world and faster than was going out of the world. With something like that, people could then avoid ever spending a dime to the company to purchase Therebucks. There was already enough in circulation and not much of it leaving the world. Also, once a developer paid the fee of their submission.. That was pretty much it. There are numerous things that could have been done to solve this. I think those muscle cars were brilliant. Perhaps the same kind of system for buggies would have helped a bit. Once we locked a design onto a muscle car, that was it. If we wanted to try another design, we had to buy a new car from the There shop, in turn spending more money. Instead, buggies were sold by the developers, rather than the There shop. There just has to be a way for There to keep people buying things from There to take money out of the world rather than allowing it to continue circulating around and never going back out. The introduction of neighborhoods probably helped with that. But by then, it was too late. There was already way too many Therebucks in world.

    New members also seemed to have way more features and capabilities allowing them to enjoy There.com without ever spending a dime or upgrading to premium. Sure, the $10 one time fee is cheap, but the question is….. Other than the voice ability, why would I upgrade? There was really nothing too special to upgrade for, or at least wasn’t promoted enough. I had no idea There even had voice in the first place until upgrading and then hearing someone talking. In most free to play MMOs, there are also item shops in which you could spend real money to get things to help you on your journey through the game. I wonder how an item shop would have worked out for There.com. The super bunnies could have been an item shop item, and even some other things..

    There was just hardly any benefit to upgrading or spending money on There.com other than the voice ability and becoming a developer or something. There could have been so many more premium service ideas, even to be sold as “addon packs”..

    As far as the “refer a friend” thing.. That could have worked.. Though I never even knew it existed until after it was gone. Where’s the promotion of things like this?

    Another thing as I once stated before… The action and activity that the Theregames brought, it brought a lot of people together (even though it often caused some heat between people).. Action and high activity is what a lot of people look for when they first join a game. Yeah, There is a virtual world, not a game.. But it is advertised on gaming sites and gamers did come check out There and treat it as a game because its “playable”…It’s an entertainment outlet so to speak and does fall in the realm of a game sort of, especially with the game activities it had involved (racing, paintball, etc).. These gamers need action in order to stay.. I really think that something could have been done with Theregames in the way of using it as a top selling point for There.com.. But that never seemed to be the case.. During Theregames seasons, There.com could have picked up many new members and got them to spend money, but it was just never promoted anywhere except in world to those who are already members.

    I could go on, but I will end there. Other than a lack of some things, I still think There.com was a wonderful experience (though that is not discovered unless you have some patience and take time to get familiar with the world)… And I fully applaud you for the accomplishment, success, and role that There.com played in many people’s lives for nearly 10 years.

    • #14 by Brandyn_1 on 2010.10.29 - 5:01 pm

      ^^^^ Awesome comment ( I like that you spoke your mind lol)

      I got a few things to add on that i want to add ,
      I wish There’s Client as in the bar at the bottom was updated a bit. I mean Like as of now a bit more like Windows7 and not so much like Windows98 I mean i thought myself yeah the world did need updated but… I thought after a while It gives it a different look than all the rest of them. But i don’t really want the graphics of There changed to much to were it looks totally different because then it wouldn’t be the same as it was. Also the pictures that You MW put up on your blog of Updated There.com avies, I really liked it made them way more detailed then what it was. Just some things need to be different for There.com as of maybe making More Hairstyles, different bunny Ears ( My FAV!) , Different color bunny slippers , ect. And as he said above For New Members it was very Noob friendly as like it told you how to do the basics of the avatar like changing outfits and moving or typing.. It just kind of lacked in the getting to know or getting in the community. Also yeah Thergames was EPICLY fun! i loved it the winter games before There closed Me and my friend Striker actually became Theregames host that time in the Joeyshadow Roller coaster Hood it was fun we did quest and buggy bashing and CTF ect. it was a blast and i miss it, but as i learned at least the games i hosted it was barely ever a new member it was like someone that was at least online for 3-4 months. There.com Majorly lacked in Advertisement or even just getting its name out. im pretty sure you MW know everything we have said or at least its crossed you mind and all we can do is wait and wait till the day There.com Announces There.coms doors will open or wait for the day for There.com to say. It wont ever reopen. But as i have said to many people now “Im very glad that he closed There.com when MW did , Because if he didn’t he and the Company would have gone bankrupt and there would not be any chance for There.com to reopen. I hope you are making the fixes because i know MW you want this world open as much as we do.
      -Brandyn_1

    • #15 by Ken on 2010.11.07 - 2:01 pm

      Matt,
      if your sick of hearing about there.com, STOP READING THESE POSTS .. Geeeezzz

      • #16 by Matt on 2010.11.18 - 12:16 am

        Ken, read the comments again… It wasn’t me that said I was sick of hearing about it.

  10. #17 by Me on 2010.10.24 - 11:14 am

    c’mon peeps, give it up. get on with your lives. so sick of there.com rumors that i might refuse to go back even if it did return. geeezzzusss

  11. #18 by SugarLipps on 2010.10.23 - 10:52 am

    I just want to say thank u for the gr8 times I had at There.com. I enjoyed the freedom of having fun even if u had no friends to enjoy the day with. I must say the closing is still a sad spot in my heart and I do wish there was another place to gather similar to There. I know the saying – u never missed it till it gone- it really makes me sad to see – that 1 incident, which was major closed down my freedom. (R.I.P Vmtv and There.com)
    Thank you Mr. Wilson – I had a ball and do hope that 1 day a program such as that 1 may come forth but if not, I’ll have my memories.

  12. #19 by Taelos Katran on 2010.10.23 - 10:50 am

    Oh darn. Another rumor squashed before I even heard the rumor. Indeed people starting these rumors have a bright future in politics. To convince an adequate number of thoughtful, responsible adults that someone stands for their principles and beliefs demands a degree of duplicity. Clearly as we have seen here, one application of social networks is as a training ground for aspiring politicians.

  13. #20 by Thereian Fan on 2010.10.23 - 10:19 am

    Thank you so much for clarifying it. I keep on reminding everyone that There is NOT reopening unless that you make announcement on There.com website or on your blog that it will be retuning. They just don’t listen. They should have understand when there was a rumor that There was reopening in May 17th, 2010, and when you explained that it’s not, they should have known by now, that only you are the one who can say whether it will reopen or not. I wonder why are they doing this? I miss There as much as everyone, but giving people false hopes is rude.

  14. #21 by Richard Hallock on 2010.10.23 - 8:29 am

    Just about each month there seeems to be a new video on YouTube proclaming the return of there.com on a specific date. Does this happen with closing of other virtual worlds? Or is it unique to there.com? Are there ‘Metaplace is coming back’ rumors and vidoes on YouTube?

    I got a post on my Facebook profile just yeasterday mentioning it was opening back up this Decemebr. I got an IM from somoene this week in SL saying the same thing, but that one was in March of 2011. All of these people always say ‘I heard it from a freind’, whose name they can never quite remember when asked. I guess hope springs eternal. While annoying as these rumors may be, It must be nice to know people are still passionate about there.com.

    • #22 by Michael Wilson on 2010.10.23 - 8:31 am

      Those are probably the same “friends” that told the we got an offer of $2 million, $5 million, and yes, even $8 million for There and turned it down.

      My sense is that most of the people behind this are younger. I wonder what political office they will run for when they grow up?

  15. #23 by Orielle on 2010.10.23 - 7:46 am

    This is the same person who claimed the client for vMTV 3D was badly damaged and forced Makena to close down vMTV 3D. He also kept claiming that vMTV 3D would reopen, possibly as 4D, on such and such dates and that MTV might even close down There on the same day that vMTV 2D would be closed and vMTV 3D would be reopened. Those dates came and went and vMTV 3D still hasn’t reopened. Eventually he was banned from virtual MTV for spreading these rumors there.

    If you do reopen it should be on March 2nd. πŸ˜‰

  16. #24 by Brandyn_1 on 2010.10.22 - 12:52 pm

    That would be awesome for There to open on one of those dates lol Im hopeing for the 01/11/11 =D But doubt it =D i will never not one day think that There.com wont open back up Until MW says it will NEVER open back up. =D

  17. #25 by Thumdar on 2010.10.22 - 10:55 am

    Yeah, I had a feeling it was a rumor. Too bad though. It really is remarkable how much of an impact your virtual world had on so many people. Some people just can’t seem to let it go. There.com was (in my opinion) the best virtual world experience ever and it is sorely missed.

  18. #26 by Majandi on 2010.10.22 - 9:13 am

    Hey, 11.11.11 is my Birthday :o)

    • #27 by jimony on 2011.04.18 - 9:27 am

      On 11/11/11 I think I will buy a lottery ticket with the numbers 11,11 and 11.

      • #28 by Michael Wilson on 2011.04.18 - 10:32 am

        As interesting as re-opening on 11/11/11 would be, that’s a lonnnggg way off. I would hope that if we decide to re-open, we’d be ready before that.

  19. #29 by Christi on 2010.10.22 - 7:44 am

    lol if There did re-open on that date, it would be cool… since that is my birthday πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

