Operating Costs

We’ve updated the page about operating costs.

Please read the “Ground Rules” and “Notes about Commenting” carefully before commenting.

Enjoy.

  1. #1 by Teresa Henry on 2011.10.01 - 4:05 am

    drums her nails on the desk, .. still waiting for my there.com 😦

  2. #2 by marcusb on 2011.07.01 - 6:56 am

    Hmm will the avatars look the same?.

  3. #3 by AnOldDeveloper on 2011.06.06 - 1:28 pm

    Dang, I forgot all my passwords.
    So accounts are going to be restored, which means names have already been reserved, right?
    So all we’ll need to do is a ‘lost password’ request?

    • #4 by Ant1977 on 2011.06.06 - 5:30 pm

      “So all we’ll need to do is a β€˜lost password’ request?”

      You are correct, as long as you have access to e-mail’s to your accounts, or the secret question and answers. Otherwise you’d have to pay Makena the cost of investigating proper ownership and even then there’d be no guarantee they could retrieve it for you. If you wish to see Michael Wilson’s answer, try reading the There “2” Q and A tab on his blog.

      • #5 by AnOldDeveloper on 2011.06.07 - 8:18 am

        ‘doh I should have remembered reading that.
        I’m so excited that I’m becoming a twit. πŸ˜›

  4. #6 by martin71 on 2011.06.06 - 12:42 pm

    hey MW we need feeding with new info of whats going on as we are in june now and for the home page to be updated.

    many thx

    martin71

  5. #7 by Okalnix on 2011.06.06 - 10:57 am

    I think you need to update the There.com site.
    There are still old info to jion fee members /basic members and old stuff.
    Confuse info if people reading that.

    just a helping hamd to let you know.

  6. #8 by martin71 on 2011.06.06 - 1:00 am

    are we still going ahead with the ThereIM for end of this month MW

    martin71

  7. #9 by Jerry on 2011.06.05 - 5:04 pm

    I take that as no you don’t want our fun online project signs in There.com. It is a distraction and you feel that you will have to always have to figure out if something is commercial or something is a hobby. So I see why you ignored my question. I will have to see what other signs are in There when I am in. If I see other people’s group signs comparable to mine then it won’t hurt to submit it. πŸ˜‰ See you in There in 2 months with bells on.

  8. #10 by StingrayJames on 2011.06.04 - 7:17 pm

    LoL ive been wanting there to open back up since it closed .. i always loved building and crashing my new stuff into peoples houses yelling look what i made .. lol there will be alot more of that when we get running again … for me it was never about money i was just having fun..

  9. #11 by Jerry on 2011.06.04 - 1:46 pm

    Everything seems to be going smoothly so far. I like the volunteer situation here. Take advantage of it. Some young guy offered to be some sort of intern since he is in business. Myself I think I have some talents in the thinking arena. Not documented by higher formal education but my self-taught life experiences. At any rate if you can bottle some of this up and get a page going where you have a virtual staff and think tank you can truly harness some good concepts and assistance that you need. Don’t be too proud to accept it. Your company can run like a big corporation with very few employees on your books. Don’t write it off as frivolous. Try and get something going so we can submit a virtual resume. What we have to offer and what positions in the There world you have for us. A think tank is good for now. I will join.

    At any rate hey I was wondering. I like to do a few things online with dotcoms. None of them commercial. Yet they may have a flavor of being commercial since I get a few dotcoms. I was wondering can I put signs in There with my dotcom name on them if they are non-commercial? Meaning I don’t make a red cent from it and it is essentially a hobby project. For example my latest idea is Far Park. That is just the name of basically a park within a virtual world like SL or Active Worlds and hopeuflly There. Just click my website I added to see it. Tell me if signs like that would be accepted and I can throw down a portazone with the signs around. I just put some writing on the page I will make changes it was just 30 minutes of writing so I could quickly get something going.

    Thanks,
    JS
    Far Park Concept for virtual worlds

  10. #12 by debbilyn on 2011.06.04 - 4:52 am

    Are we THERE yet?

    • #13 by mimi06 on 2011.06.04 - 1:23 pm

      Not yet debs lol.. soon I hope! Glad its summer, I don’t have as much time to sit and click refresh.. ( but I do anyways) rofl
      back to my cornor. ->->->

  11. #14 by Innie on 2011.06.03 - 1:11 pm

    Just a thought…..

    It might make more sense to change There.com’s website to not show “There is closed”. Emphasize more on the opening? I tried to show the website to a friend who said “Which is it? is it closing, or opening?”

    Anyway…..(to the tune of “I want my MTV”)

    I want my
    I want my
    I want my There buggy…..

    • #15 by Escape on 2011.06.04 - 6:55 am

      Dire Straits – Money For Nothing is the Band/Tune!

      • #16 by Innie on 2011.06.04 - 8:21 pm

        Yes, I know…….Thanks for informing others, though. πŸ˜›

  12. #17 by mimi06 on 2011.06.03 - 11:35 am

    ack.. so I ALWAYS click THERE things.. DUM DUM.. no idea what website he said not to click.. but its probably to late for me.. rofl.. gullible Mimi.. dangit.. back to my cornor.. ‘sigh

  13. #18 by Jonathan on 2011.06.03 - 7:29 am

    I don’t know if anyone has asked this before, i’ve not seen it.

    Just wondering, what happens to our friends list, i.e. if a user hasn’t re-joined, will they be gone from our friends list? And also, does that mean their profile would be inaccessible too?

  14. #19 by SugarLipps on 2011.06.03 - 6:53 am

    TY MmeOdile but seriously this site looks legitimate n it gives u free tbux what is going on plz? ( 4 got my password in my haste so i cant get in anyway)

    • #20 by Michael Wilson on 2011.06.03 - 7:47 am

      It’s not legitimate. I’ve asked Thumdar to take the link down.

  15. #21 by MmeOdileS AKA OdileS on 2011.06.03 - 6:27 am

    ok…there is a place someone just showed me….I don’t want to give the website here…SO PLEASE DELETE if this is not legitimate …
    http://www.rickastley.co.uk/, but do explain to others if it’s not good…ty

    • #22 by Michael Wilson on 2011.06.03 - 6:39 am

      I changed that link. It was the Virtual Congress site. When will people learn?

      • #23 by MmeOdileS AKA OdileS on 2011.06.03 - 6:42 am

        Well, I told the person on FB to leave it alone until you could be contacted……but hmmm I think the can of worms, (using that url,) might spread like wildfire on FB… That’s crazy…Can’t people use their brains?

      • #24 by SugarLipps on 2011.06.03 - 8:28 am

        oh wow I do have a brain just a bit slo but no need to post , anywhoooo fyi they were all taken down,

  16. #25 by martin71 on 2011.06.03 - 3:35 am

    hi MW have you got any idea of when there.com will be up and running again

    thank you

    martin71

  17. #26 by Mr_Perry on 2011.06.02 - 6:42 pm

    Thanks all…. seems like all but the question on the software was answered.

    • #27 by jimony on 2011.06.03 - 3:14 am

      Hi, Mr Perry, all the software will be new downloads so you may as well remove them, but I would archive them if I was you just on the off-chance that you might be able to retrieve a setting or chatlog or something later.

  18. #28 by franko on 2011.06.02 - 3:28 pm

    yeah to add on to that i do think thats a good idea even though you said no MW like on xbox they charge to change there gamertags and it would be another way to bring there a couple more bucks. you could charge so many t bucks to change your name or something and for when you do change your name on there.com there would be a way to send a email to your friends telling them that i changed me name from …….. to ,,,,,,,,,

  19. #29 by Biggiedude420 on 2011.06.02 - 3:27 pm

    im pretty sure this has already been adressed but I have an email still from when i gave my tbux away back in march 2010 of 49000 tbux if i still have proof that i gave my stuff away can this be retreived or only the inventory you had when there.com closed?

    • #30 by pHluid13 on 2011.06.03 - 4:19 am

      Backups were taken after there closed. Not before. So you’ll only get back what you had on last day.

  20. #31 by Mr_Perry on 2011.06.01 - 6:00 pm

    Hey Mr. Willlllllson! (Dennis the menace referance)
    my gratitude to you know no bounds!
    just wanted to know if you have given any thought to recycling places like “cocoa-cola island”
    and turning it into a restricted area…. a place for the 18 and under only group?
    also I have There IM beta and There.com still on my computer…as I never gave up hope.
    should I delete them or keep them? I guess what im asking will I just have to update this software, or do a whole new install?
    one more question….. I am a teacher. I brought my students into there.com on virtual field trips…(hence my avie name Mr_Perry)
    and got hopelessly hooked and addicted and remained long after the school board put the squash on these outings.
    I would like to change my avie name, but am afraid my friends would not be able to find me..and I made a LOT of friends.how will that work?

    p.s. I had the distinct pleasre of chatting with you in world on several occassions, and must say I think you are one heck of a guy. I do hope to chat with you again sometime.

    • #32 by Ant1977 on 2011.06.01 - 11:03 pm

      “I would like to change my avie name, but am afraid my friends would not be able to find me..and I made a LOT of friends.how will that work?”

      One suggestion that might work for you: Sign back into your Mr_Perry account when There re-opens, write down everyones names that are on your buddy list on a separate piece of paper or copy and paste the names into notepad. A week or so before your account is due for renewal, create a new account with the name of your choosing. You will have one week to transfer all your belongings and you will be able to re-add your friends as they come back to There. This will basically clean up your friends list and you won’t have to subscribe to more than one avatar for an extended period.

    • #33 by Wendy Stoll on 2011.06.02 - 2:19 am

      There IS NO UNDER 18!! And you can’t change your avie name. You can start a second account and move all your stuff to that account and then get rid of the first account.

      • #34 by NathanAvis on 2011.06.02 - 4:39 am

        The avatar question got answered just 1 post up from yours, mate.
        Also, no under 18s. Period. Hope you enjoy There whenever it returns and you are permitted to use it ‘tu

    • #35 by franko on 2011.06.02 - 3:25 pm

      yeah to add on to that i do think thats a good idea even though you said no MW like on xbox they charge to change there gamertags and it would be another way to bring there a couple more bucks. you could charge so many t bucks to change your name or something

  21. #36 by David on 2011.06.01 - 9:08 am

    Hi, I was just wondering, if I request my inventory, will I need to take my name back? Because I don’t want to.

    • #37 by Michael Wilson on 2011.06.01 - 10:46 am

      Yup. We can’t restore your inventory to someone else.

      • #38 by NathanAvis on 2011.06.01 - 1:55 pm

        I think a lot of people want fresh starts but with the same old inventory.
        I don’t want to bog you down with any useless questions, Mr. Wilson, but it seems that a recurring one is “will there be an option to change user’s handles/nametags like on XBOX Live?”

        It’s not something that would interest me. I picked my final name, and kept the things I wanted before the shutdown so I’m content. Just asking it in a different way for the people that do want this service.

      • #39 by Michael Wilson on 2011.06.01 - 2:46 pm

        No.

  22. #40 by Aphrodite2112 on 2011.06.01 - 1:33 am

    I have to say that looking at this from a business proposition that 10 bucks a month is a fair deal compared to how much needs to be paid back to investors. Also on top of that having to pay staff. Not a bad deal. Plus don’t be selfish about how much its going to cost. Don’t worry about what happened to There before and why it closed.Crap happens and we just have to learn to get the heck over it.

    I do however posses one question. What happens to those of us who were Island Guides and created separate accounts for certain items? Do we get those items transfered to one account? I know there was quite a few Members who did this to avoid lag on the Walkway. That seems to be my only worry atm. As far as cost goes I’ll pay what I have to but I miss my There.com Family. I miss being able to have an actual family. I can’t wait to see you all again! πŸ™‚

    • #41 by Tiggy on 2011.06.01 - 8:19 am

      After looking at the budget myself and seeing the “nuts and bolts” of it I completely agree with Aphrodite. I really hope this new run of There works out. If it even goes as high as 15 I’ll scrape enough together to get in there.

  23. #42 by justagreatguy on 2011.05.31 - 8:41 pm

    I cant wait πŸ™‚

  24. #43 by user on 2011.05.31 - 4:52 pm

    thanks for update do you think the i.m. will be out this month? or sooner

    • #44 by Ant1977 on 2011.05.31 - 6:11 pm

      This month is over in a few hours

      • #45 by Kaden on 2011.06.01 - 2:27 am

        ok well then in June or sooner?

  25. #46 by NathanAvis on 2011.05.31 - 2:27 pm

    Thank you for updating that page, it was a very interesting read πŸ™‚

  26. #47 by debbilyn on 2011.05.31 - 2:14 pm

    Thanks for the update. I hope it is still full speed ahead for the reopening of There.com.

  27. #48 by Therians Fan on 2011.05.31 - 10:30 am

    Thank you Mr. Michael Wilson, for posting the operating cost for There. I never knew how much exactly or an estimate how There would run. This shows how everyone survey review is very important. One person can make a big difference to whether or not There can run. As a community we must work together and help out as much as possible to bring There back. There is a social place where you can meet others and have a great time. The only thing as I was reading in the post about the cost, is EC2. Could you clarify on what that is exactly?

    Thank you again Mr. Wilson for posting this, and looking forward to go on ThereIM. πŸ™‚

    Happy Memorial Day!

    • #49 by Amxscott on 2011.05.31 - 2:53 pm

      EC2 are the cloud servers I believe.

  28. #50 by Jordan on 2011.05.31 - 10:26 am

    Will do, Thanks MW πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

