Banned Accounts and Updates

Yesterday, we discovered that bug in the migration scripts was failing to properly migrate the “Banned” status of accounts from original There.

Specifically, “Banned” accounts were not getting their “Banned” status, and were free to reclaim their accounts, get their stuff migrated, and use ThereIM.

To be exact 230 of the 11,845 banned accounts reclaimed their avatars and possessions (yes, out of the millions of Avatars in There, only 11,845 were banned. So much more the “most the members of There were Banned” theories).

We’re now re-banned these 230 members.

I know that at least 230 of you are disappointed by this, and would like a “Second Chance”. And, I believe that those whose accounts were closed due to Account Problems, and things like swearing, may deserve that second chance. However, some of those accounts closed due to exploits, cheating and/or stealing from There, threatening others, stealing There’s IP (yes, I’m looking at you, my little buddies overseas) etc, etc.

We can’t unban 11,845, or even 230, accounts without filtering out the latter (oh yes, “exploits” is not a “public service” to There, and yes, I’m talking to you). When we get some C/S in place we’ll be able to review the bans and re-instate people who should be re-instated. But we have enough things to do right now that handling the genuine bad apples is not what we want to be doing.

On other fronts this week is dedicated to:

  • Finishing setting up the servers for the first live parts of the world, including the ocean
  • Loading the Scenes for the Welcome Walkway, Dune Valley, and the Dx9 text scene
  • Picking the In-World GPs and figuring out how to allow them controlled access.

Just to remind some folks, the size of the world doesn’t drive the cost of running There. The ocean is all on one server, no matter how big it is.

Finally, those mischievous bannees who plan on finding their way back in, we will catch you and I guarantee there will be no second chances.

Here’s are some of the folks we’ll have assisting us. They don’t sleep much:

P.S. I’m pretty sure we will be doing work on the cluster so you can expect occasional outages of varying lengths.

  1. #1 by Orixx on 2011.08.29 - 4:06 am

    While I was never permanently banned, I did have some run ins with some Helpers who seemed to be power crazy. Specifically, accidentally crashing my buggy into a PZ, resulting in me getting banned for 3 days.

    I also have a friend who was grouped up against and banned. I definitely think banned users are worth being reviewed.

  2. #2 by lela on 2011.08.27 - 12:37 am

    I have a suggestion. Make the banned who want to come back pay for at least one year in advance. If they do anything to get banned again, keep all of their money and kick them out. If they do show for a whole year that they have now matured into responsible avatars then let them off parole.

    If there any early Beta testers who got banned and want back, make them likewise pay an equivalent deposit. If they are good for their entire probationary period, give them that much in T$.

    Lela
    From the land of Pangea, before we had any classes.

    • #3 by PcDoc on 2011.08.28 - 3:19 am

      That actually sounds pretty reasonable

    • #4 by sn3aky on 2011.08.28 - 5:57 pm

      I am down for that or whatever hike or spike in pay they would be willing to do. I have my perm Sn3aky that is banned. I couldn’t remember why at first but yesterday my incident came back, I put down quest ballons in Zephy causing lag… and wasn’t able to request help in time to get the issue resolved. So I was banned for now being able to request help through There while There was lagging. Kind of a nice routing loop eh?

      Any who, I really would love to be able to run around There with my perm. again hopefully something comes along soon as far as a request for review setup soon after there opens. If I have to pay $100 to get my account removed from ban status then pay $20 monthly so be it.

      Just want good ole Sn3aky back. (and my Nike Air Max 2003’s)

    • #5 by SapphireRose on 2011.08.30 - 12:53 pm

      That sounds great !

  3. #6 by out side looking in on 2011.08.25 - 5:32 am

    I was banned for helping a friend with her ex. and i know that was stupid of me for doing so but others did the same and i got the ban then a week later she got banned . I know what i did was stupid of me since i was a ig and i did not like the guy that we tryed to get rid of and the plan backfired in our face. I know i did wrong and can prove i did wrong and i was banned for a year if not more and i know i can make it good again . so i am glad they are going to review .. I had a clean slate til that day … i should of know better for helping out a friend that was in a fight with her ex … i got whay i deserved and i am living out my years of punishment with out there … so i will be happy when the review comes around …

    • #7 by Christy Clendenen on 2011.08.25 - 1:04 pm

      I too have a moderated/banned account, I let one of mt friends use it on one of the last days before there closed and he got into an argument with a moderator~ Which Is my fault for letting him use it but it still sucks cause it was a very old Prem : (

      • #8 by ImageMaker on 2011.08.25 - 3:59 pm

        I wonder how much effort There staff will put into figuring out what alts also belong to someone under ban? In some cases, it’d probably be effort well spent, but in others (like yours, Christy) it’d be a waste of time. Hmmm…

    • #9 by SapphireRose on 2011.08.25 - 4:21 pm

      i agree πŸ™‚ we have all matured and know if we stuff up we will just loose our money , i believe we should get a second chance cause i know i will not make the same mistake that i did i am deeply sorry for what i did 😦 ❀ good luck to the banned members ❀ sapphy

      • #10 by out there looking in on 2011.08.26 - 4:04 am

        i am sorry for what i did it was foolish and i think since it is a fresh start we should have a fresh start and prove to them we can be outstanding therains …. i just hope we all have a clear review if it happens

  4. #11 by Christy Clendenen on 2011.08.25 - 4:07 am

    Reading the post and feeling the Drama, put down the paintball guns and step slowly away….. * smirks and rests hand nonchalantly on mine*

  5. #12 by Michaela on 2011.08.25 - 1:16 am

    i can’t log into thereIM or the website..does this mean i’m banned? i don’t remember being banned in there ever o-o?

  6. #13 by Drakez on 2011.08.24 - 5:02 pm

    Well, now that I’m banned I might as well tell you that you forgot to take the BuyBack program T’s I sold to you. I don’t know if that’s a universal problem or not, but you might wanna look into that. I know be discussed this in an earlier comment thread but I feel that exploiting problems DURING the closing period should be forgiven in some circumstances. I mean we were made well aware that the chances of There reopening were infinitesimal. What was there to lose at that point? This is There “2”, and just because I might have been a little bit of a rotten egg out of the frustration of my favorite game closing, doesn’t mean I’m one now. I highly recommend taking a more fair approach.

    • #14 by Barbie Doll on 2011.08.25 - 3:39 pm

      The choice to not act up or not sholdnt have anything to do with There closing, you should act right cuz you are a mature responsible person and not just cuz the threat of punnishment is no more due to the world closing.

      • #15 by Drakez on 2011.08.28 - 10:50 am

        I disagree completely. If shoplifting was made legal, you can’t blame millions from walking into a Walmart and taking all the merchandise they can carry. I feel that since I was told that There wouldn’t reopen, I was given the OK to exploit problems in the last days.

      • #16 by Michael Wilson on 2011.08.28 - 11:40 am

        You ARE kidding aren’t you?

        We never said “Exploits were now legal”, any more than a closing store would say “Last day to come in and shoplift! Bag boys are standing by to bag up your stolen goods!”.

      • #17 by PcDoc on 2011.08.28 - 1:06 pm

        with the risk of sounding ignorant, what is an “exploit”?

      • #18 by PcDoc on 2011.08.28 - 1:08 pm

        and yeah… sorry i dont think stealing is ever right (if that is what exploiting is)

      • #19 by Drakez on 2011.08.28 - 1:55 pm

        No.
        And I didn’t say you did, I was implying that you set the illusion that the consequences of my actions in There would only echo into the next few days by saying it would never reopen. And comparing a store closing to There closing is logical fallacy. Because the consequences of shoplifting a store are still there regardless, the consequence of exploiting problems in There, were no longer apparent. You see where I’m getting at? If the consequences are no longer an issue, you can’t blame someone for taking advantage of them. And now that the consequences are back, I think it’s fair to say I wont be exploiting problems or causing trouble anymore.

      • #20 by Drakez on 2011.08.30 - 12:43 pm

        I was expecting your thoughts on my refutation, Mr. Wilson. Did you find me correct in my reasoning?

      • #21 by Michael Wilson on 2011.08.30 - 1:07 pm

        No.

        The people at YowNow bragged they hired EvoLast, and we all know that background. Perhaps you’ll have better luck over there. Do you need the URL?

      • #22 by Drakez on 2011.08.30 - 4:05 pm

        Personally I have no interest in YowNow or EVOlast’s endeavors. And I don’t find simple “No.” is sufficient in counteracting my argument by any means whatsoever. I don’t accept simply signing up under a certain, mildly deceitful username (when the system let be do it with no hassles at all), and never CLEARLY claiming to be a member of staff (only letting the assumption grow) when there were only a few days before the game would supposedly close for good, is so out of line to permanently ban me from what could be considered a different game from it’s parent company. I believe I would be a great asset to this community, and I believe my actions in the previous There were justifiable and understandable given the circumstances. If you found something as such in the last days of a game’s existence, I’m sure 90% of people would follow the same course of action I took.

  7. #23 by neo_spawn on 2011.08.24 - 4:51 pm

    How do you plan to keep all the under age kids out though? I mean, they’ll all try and register accounts and just make there age 18+

    • #24 by EvenStupider on 2011.08.24 - 6:50 pm

      The idea is to limit their liability.. By making someone confirm they are 18+, they aren’t responsible for what occurs to them inside the virtual world… the liability shifts to the person who falsified their identity. Therefore, they don’t have to waste money implementing and retaining expensive moderation methods. That is all they really care about. If a minor registers false data and spends money — its a win win.

      • #25 by Neo_spawn on 2011.08.27 - 8:48 am

        Well, they did say that they wouldn’t be allowing them to play, and that they’d find out, and ban. Calling MW a liar then?

  8. #26 by Robert Ricci on 2011.08.24 - 4:32 pm

    Through my sadness of ” There” going down and ” There IM” going off line back then. In my house cleaning of my computer, I deleted the old “There” program…( yes-s-s-s yes-s-s-s…..). Now I could reinstall the ” very ” old “There CD” ….the limited access CD …..minimum requirements 800mhz P2, 256meg ram, Win98, 56k modem…..but the updates would just be hugh……I do hope, that the ” There ” home page will soon have availble an up to date download……

  9. #27 by Tinirty on 2011.08.24 - 2:47 pm

    Keep on truckin’ Michael! It’s coming together and I am excited to see the World. And I love the pics you post…always interesting.

  10. #28 by Mickey Hawk on 2011.08.24 - 9:47 am

    Be glad when the program is ready and can log in to a program on the internet.
    Still waiting……
    Lookis like getting closer☺!,

    Veritasincognito

  11. #29 by Puddlefish on 2011.08.24 - 4:52 am

    Exciting stuff! Thanks for the great in-world pics to get us worked up and ready to go!

  12. #30 by Stelios Diamantoulakis on 2011.08.24 - 4:41 am

    i have a problem..
    1st on IM i was login.. when i visit some friends profile’s they take me to the login page
    but i was allready login ( said up my user name and welcome msg )
    after 1 day keep trying to see what’s wrong
    i log out from im and then i could’nt login back again
    i verify my e-mail again i reset my password i get new one but still can’t login
    i was never been baned in the past and i play the game till the end of the world..
    can anyone help me???

    • #31 by Stelios Diamantoulakis on 2011.08.24 - 12:36 pm

      now i use my secret question
      i reset my password and i login again with the new password
      i login to the IM to ..
      but then again when i try to see my profile or other stuf on the website
      the drive me to the login page i try to login and said the passworld is not right
      i try to see my profile from the im menu and i see it and show me as login ..
      try to change page on the site and again they drive me to login…
      so . i leave it like this.
      my im working.
      so i am gonna wait til the world is open again..
      that all and i hope when the time is come to don’t have any problem
      thnks fo reading ( p.s sorry for my english.. ) πŸ™‚

      • #32 by Robert Ricci on 2011.08.24 - 4:21 pm

        It’s been happening to some of us, If not all in the past day or so……relax, bugs and glitches, server stuff is being worked on.

    • #33 by MollieJ on 2011.08.27 - 12:13 pm

      Can I join, xSnoopy? I am a terrible shot in paintball. lol

  13. #34 by 911turbo on 2011.08.24 - 4:21 am

    Hey MW, I’m glad that the you’re game is doing well. My account was banned 4-5 years ago, I was 13-14 at the time and I Didn’t take my actions into consideration. I am now 18 and I realize what I did was wrong and I’m deeply sorry for what I have done, I since then have matured and wish to play in the game when it comes back up. I was sad to hear the game ended even when I was banned and not able to play, now that I hear the game is coming black and I’m very happy for you and everyone else that enjoyed the game as much as I used to. If I could go back in time knowing what I know now I would have never done any of that stupid stuff. All I want is to be able to play again and enjoy hanging out with old friends I haven’t seen in years. So I ask you to take unbanning me into consideration, Thanks.

    -911turbo

    • #35 by EvenStupider on 2011.08.24 - 9:45 am

      I could have sworn you were banned for being an extremely bad paintballer…

      • #36 by James on 2011.08.24 - 11:14 am

        likes this

      • #37 by xSnoopy on 2011.08.24 - 6:48 pm

        If people get banned for being an extremely bad paintballer, then I should have been banned about the same time you did Turbo.
        Turbo, when you get back into There, come see me, I have new paintball team and, according to some people, you might fit right in. Its called “Cant Shoot Straight”. I’m saving a spot for ya πŸ™‚

  14. #38 by ManicPsycho on 2011.08.23 - 11:14 pm

    Hmph. Privileges are suspended.? I’ve never been banned. What is that supposed to mean.

  15. #39 by JS on 2011.08.23 - 9:26 pm

    Sounds like 11,845 is a lot to me. But maybe not to you. Good idea to weed through your cases and unban many cussers and petty disagreements. One unbanned person could mean more will come back because there friends come in also. Sure if they made hard-core threats they shouldn’t get back in. Though a thirteen year old yelling idle nonsense I am not sure should be a lifetime ban. But I guess they made their own bed. So it is your choice.

    I remember once talking to this guy that was one of the early beta people. He bragged to me how he can easily get someone banned in There no problem. I said what do you have to do? There is things I can do he said but he didn’t want to tell me exactly. I thought what could he do? Fabricate some evidence is what he was saying. I thought could he fake documents that he submits? Making it out so that Tommy2Tone1232456 threatened him? I don’t know. I hope he didn’t do that to anyone.

    But to be honest I would bet there were hundreds of people set up to get banned. They egged someone on. Baited them into a rage. Wallked up and said you are ugly and your mama dresses you funny!! And you smell. Then they started rolling the camera and documenting when he or she went off with vulgarity and everything else that could stick. They all snickered and said GOT E’M!! Now he will be banned for life as they all went hehhehe lol rofl loving their dirty little sneaky avatar lives.

    • #40 by ImageMaker on 2011.08.24 - 2:35 am

      Some time in the past forty years, JS, I learned something: adults aren’t permitted to “go off” on others, no matter what the provocation. If someone calls you every name in the book, then starts to insult your mother, you’re required to take it and, if not laugh if off, at least walk away. No verbal insult is an excuse for violence. This is true in the real world, and it’s true in There. If someone is insulting you, don’t lash back, just check your chat logs to see if *you* got *them*. Don’t forget, too, that you can “ignore” any avatar — you won’t see anything they type, and you won’t hear their voice.

      What you describe, whether successful or not, is griefing, and ought to be (most likely is) a bannable offense in itself. With luck, we won’t see many of the avies who behave that way — or not for long, at least, since they’ll reveal themselves and get themselves banned.

    • #41 by Reo on 2011.08.24 - 3:50 am

      > I remember once talking to this guy that was one of the early beta people. He bragged to me how he can easily get someone banned in There no problem.

      I encountered this as well, and I saw it in action. I don’t don’t know the guy in question was an early beta, but he had a lot of PAZes in a prominent area.

    • #42 by EvenStupider on 2011.08.24 - 10:09 am

      Well said J S. I definitely agree with what you’ve said. 11,845 may not seem like the biggest number to some. What is more important, however,is that once you have members disembedded from in-game communities, the social connections that made the game fun for you in the first place slowly deteriorate until you decide to quit out of boredom. After all, There.com is a social platform… hence the satisfaction one derives from playing there.com lies in those social interactions. Once they go, the game becomes boring and dull.. and then you TRY and force your self to try and be friends with people like xSnoopy…but end up realizing you just can’t put yourself through it and you quit..

      Second, I also agree with what you’ve stated about people “trolling”, and then frapsing someone to get them banned. Happened all the time in There. Accepting fraps videos was the worst system There.com ever implemented.

      GP EvenStupider.

      • #43 by xSnoopy on 2011.08.24 - 3:33 pm

        WOW,
        All those big words and great grammar coming from a banned person, I’m impressed.
        I doubt that anyone that was at NurseJ’s event will miss you at all.
        I guess, at the end of the day, understanding social interaction and acting on that knowledge doesn’t matter huh?

      • #44 by Summers on 2011.08.24 - 5:29 pm

        Ken, are you senile? … I mean your age is catching up with you…
        Are you not aware of the many people you antagonized in game?
        Funny how you always seemed to turn on frapps at the right time, eh?
        You poor, poor man. Enjoy Zephyr with your pals Bumpin and Salty. πŸ™‚

      • #45 by xSnoopy on 2011.08.24 - 6:40 pm

        Summers,
        I have not said one word about Kevin for a couple of weeks. I was asked to stop, by the owner of this blog, so I did.
        He gets banned and and your blaming me?
        FRAPS? you mean the 3 videos that are from NurseJ’s event? Let me repeat, I was in Hawaii, on vacation the night that happened.
        If your going to attack me, at least get the facts right.

      • #46 by EvenStupider on 2011.08.24 - 6:54 pm

        I wouldn’t be so sure… my performance made me pretty famous within the game actually, and turned me into a YouTube celebrity over night.

        GP EvenStupider

      • #47 by Summers on 2011.08.26 - 5:18 pm

        Wait, so the owner of this blog asked you to stop going after Kevin then you fire off comment #86.
        Looks like we have an A+ listener amoung us.

        “#86 by xSnoopy on 2011.08.24 – 3:33 pm
        WOW,
        All those big words and great grammar coming from a banned person, I’m impressed.
        I doubt that anyone that was at NurseJ’s event will miss you at all.
        I guess, at the end of the day, understanding social interaction and acting on that knowledge doesn’t matter huh?”

        Good work. πŸ™‚

  16. #48 by Corey_Lee on 2011.08.23 - 9:09 pm

    Thanks for the update. I will looks for my second chance and see if i can log in to There on first day 😦

  17. #49 by 12mandy on 2011.08.23 - 8:55 pm

    thanks for update michael,
    ive got little suggestion,would it not be wonderful if yachts and boats were able to sail from island to island or landmass to another landmass,then berth there boats and drop buggy and explore,after all seas and oceans was meant for sea craft,buggy and car lovers could fly or sail to another island or landmass then drop car or buggy and explore,in the last there.com all yachts and boats and ships were static unable sail as seas and oceans were under 2 feet deep,so we were able drive our buggys from europe to america,we could always be prepaired to watch out for many pirates out there,lol,then there underwater dwellers im sure many love scuba diving,lost underwater cities,mermaid villages and beautiful sea weed corals shells ship wrecks etc,then it would be real lifelike world where sea and oceans was meant for sea craft, and land for cars and buggies,if it was or COULD be implemented then it would need support from members on here,before there2.com opens,then the captain or commander as some call michael might consider if its POSSABLE,thanks,mandy

  18. #50 by debpitts on 2011.08.23 - 6:58 pm

    Love the new pictures!

  19. #51 by frankprss on 2011.08.23 - 6:19 pm

    Never been banned but I was probably close to it because I was suspended a couple times I believe. Can I have a clean slate?!!!

  20. #52 by hugsalot on 2011.08.23 - 6:07 pm

    surprised users were getting banned for just cussing yet there IS an emote ‘cuss
    Go fig.

    • #53 by ImageMaker on 2011.08.24 - 2:27 am

      Despite the “PG-13 world” description I used to hear, language that would be fine in a PG-13 movie was a bannable offense in the old There — after all, we can’t have children “hearing” online stuff that they’ll hear from their peers at school — and, at age 13 and up, language they’re likely to use themselves at times. It’s certainly going to be nice not to have children underfoot all the time…

  21. #54 by lela on 2011.08.23 - 5:35 pm

    I am SO glad to see those shots. It makes me feel like we’re getting close.

    Thank you Michael for the status reports. Of course I want to see more in them like a timeline and what remains in the project. I want to go back HOME to There, to hop back on my board and just drive SO badly right now.

  22. #55 by Cellophane Thereian on 2011.08.23 - 5:05 pm

    Freakin’ thumbs up!

  23. #56 by Maroan on 2011.08.23 - 5:01 pm

    Well it seems I cant do my way to a successfull resurection… 😦 As far as I know I am not banned, but I encountered strange problems. One of them is that the password I have used since 2005 somehow didnt work anymore! My avatar name was accepted ( I got an invitation sendt to my NEW Email) and from there it has been downhill… Explorer 8 didnt show any error messages about my avatars name or my password.. But Firefox did:

    “When registering a legacy avatar, you must provide the matching legacy password.”

    Hmmm… Big surprise…

    I tried to reset my password, but i had to answer the secret question I never had the need to use… So it was useless for me!
    Last solution was of course a reset and a new password, but the new password has to be sent to.. my old Email wich I dont possess anymore!
    How smart is that?

    I managed to reactivate my old Email account, and surprise Nr. 2, I dont get any mail from There -AT ALL… And I know it works, I get mails from other sides without problems wahtsoever…
    I have checked my spam folder, theres nothing there either…

    Now let me put one thing straight:

    The There support staff has been great and really tried to help me as well as they could, but so far without luck…
    So I am really stucked….

    So have fun everybody so far, maroan wont be back right away!
    Hugs to all my There friends, I miss you people!

    • #57 by Dan Samuel on 2011.08.26 - 9:58 am

      Just to be clear, we deployed a fix for “IE8 not showing error messages” on 8/19 (about 9pm California time). I’m hoping you’re reporting behaviour from *before* that moment.

      Yeah, IE8 shows error messages properly. As do Chrome and Firefox… I think I will skip firing up the Wii to check Opera.

      • #58 by Michael Wilson on 2011.08.26 - 10:12 am

        Are you over 18? Didn’t we ban you?

      • #59 by Maroan on 2011.09.12 - 9:23 am

        Hello Dan and Michael,
        I am sorry I havent paid attention to that thread for as long time. As far as I know, I am FAR over my 18th birthday and I have NEVER been banned. πŸ˜‰
        And yes Dan, IE8 shows now error messages properly!
        The problem is that for some reasons There Emails dont reach my now reactivated old Email adress. I have tryed to get an invitation from There redirected to my old adress, and there is still no luck…. Any invitations sendt to my new adress come through without problems.
        I have resetted my old password, but your system wants to send me the new password to my old Email, wich unfortunately refuses to receive Theres Emails…
        There must be another way to be sure that an owner gets his old avatar back!
        With deep respect for the hard work youre doing,
        Maroan

  24. #60 by Bumpin42 on 2011.08.23 - 4:34 pm

    Man i can`t wait, See you in Zephyr.

  25. #61 by Gail M Feldman on 2011.08.23 - 4:14 pm

    never been banned. never misspelled banned. used to be in a band. have never been banded since i am not a bird. glad i will soon see my old friends and also glad i won’t be seeing some folks who were quite annoying lol, and not because of their spelling, either!

    g

  26. #63 by BABS on 2011.08.23 - 3:50 pm

    I love coming home from work to find new updates! ”yay

  27. #64 by SapphireRose on 2011.08.23 - 3:44 pm

    Thanks MW , yes i was one of those 230 people who where banned for something stupid , i am hoping my account will get reviewed ( later ) i know that you guys are working extremely hard and this is not the main priority , tho i would really love a second chance and would be willing to pay every month and to help you guys with what ever it takes , i would appreciate this so very much 😦 there.com has been my home for so long and i would love to be back ❀ thanks mw xo

  28. #65 by JasonMK on 2011.08.23 - 3:42 pm

    I do love There2 3D world updates so much better than ThereIM updates, ‘yeah. Great screencaps & photos, btw.

  29. #66 by Christy Clendenen on 2011.08.23 - 2:58 pm

    YAY! * Jumps up and down all excited and stuff* Thanks Commander and Team Makena!

  30. #67 by ImageMaker on 2011.08.23 - 2:47 pm

    Visions of Solid Pine Buggy and tumbling down Snow Top are filling my head — as well as a temptation to attempt an “around the world” journey (shouldn’t take as much as a week, on cruise control, in a hoverboat — it’d be less than that in a buggy, except cruise control won’t hold the “boost” button). I wonder if I remember how to calculate rhumb lines to approximate a great circle course, or if I should just start out heading due south to simplify navigation?

  31. #68 by JonmiChel on 2011.08.23 - 2:39 pm

    Thanks for the update MW!!

  32. #69 by 2_fast_for_u on 2011.08.23 - 2:34 pm

    woot cool beans!!!!! thanks for the update !!! we are getting close step by step!!! πŸ˜€ > super happy face

  33. #70 by Melody_Chase on 2011.08.23 - 2:33 pm

    OMG this is so exciting!!! I can’t believe how close we are!! I’m soooo looking forward to going home… πŸ˜€

    • #71 by hugsalot on 2011.08.23 - 6:12 pm

      really how close are we? I’ll be out of town till the end of the month. Perfect time for the 3D world to open to the public when I won’t be able to.
      One of those Murphy’s laws you know….

  34. #72 by Brandyn_1 on 2011.08.23 - 2:00 pm

    Great to hear MW. Glad that the “World” is progressing quickly (At least it seems to be) ‘tu Glad you guys got the banned members out but, it would be nice to see some of the people back that got banned for breaking the rules, that don’t apply anymore.

    I really love that picture MW. Mind if I put it as my computer background? πŸ˜€

    ‘tu Thanks for the update and all the hard work Makena Team!

    • #73 by Ant Combest on 2011.08.23 - 2:58 pm

      Hey Brandyn!! It’s going to be a long 3 year wait isn’t it? I mean you seem awfully excited for There to re-open as am I, but at least for me and being 34 years old, my wait will not be nearly as long.

      Were you not 14 years old when There closed?
      So that means you’d be 15 now?

      Please except my apologies if I am thinking of the wrong Brandyn_1 or was it Brandynl1996?

      • #74 by Brandyn_1 on 2011.08.23 - 3:14 pm

        LOL! I notcied that name too. But no I am NOT that user. I am and always have been “Brandyn_1”. I’m 18 as of right now, and 19 in December. I got the proof for Makena waiting just in case! πŸ™‚ ‘tu No wait for me πŸ™‚

      • #75 by CpnBob on 2011.08.23 - 9:22 pm

        Ant ~
        Its accept, except means the opposite. lol

  35. #76 by joseph on 2011.08.23 - 1:50 pm

    yea michael wilson stick it to the banned people srry for the bad grammar
    i know i should talk to oh holy god mw with better grammer lol

    • #77 by Jdin707 on 2011.08.23 - 2:16 pm

      Let me help you young squire, it is called an education of which you need more study time in.

      “Yeah!” Exclaimed Joseph, “Michael Wilson, stick it to the banned people”. Sorry for the poor grammar, as my parents and I have not worked hard enough to make sure I have studied my writing skills in school. I know I should speak to Mr. Wilson with proper grammar.

      Just a little help, hope you spend your time in class wisely.

      • #78 by Kattwomann on 2011.08.23 - 3:51 pm

        Hahaha…awesome!

      • #79 by Reo on 2011.08.24 - 3:44 am

        > an education of which you need more study time in.

        ‘facepalm

      • #80 by LeeLee on 2011.08.24 - 7:23 am

        That’s rude. πŸ™‚

    • #81 by LeeLee on 2011.08.24 - 7:23 am

      Exactly, joseph! πŸ™‚

  36. #82 by kk on 2011.08.23 - 1:40 pm

    I try to log on thereim all the time it still doesn’t let me and i tried everything-.-…..

    • #83 by IMAKOS on 2011.08.23 - 2:00 pm

      here are somethings to check,

      1) did you have an accout before?

      2) did you perform the self invite?

      3) did you check your e-mail account that you used to get the self invite?

      4) did you create the Avatar using the same E-mail and your legacy password?

      5) are you checking to be sure your password is typed in correctly ( it is Case sensitive)

      6) did you download the ThereIM software?

      7) Most important Were you banned on the old There.com?

    • #84 by hugsalot on 2011.08.23 - 6:14 pm

      Also you have to change the shortcut so that it connects to the proper server. there is an updated version to ThereIM that MW posted a few days ago that doesn’t require you to “hack” the shortcut.

  37. #85 by Mademoiselle Fifi on 2011.08.23 - 1:37 pm

    I also like the way you are handling the banned.

  38. #86 by Jonathan on 2011.08.23 - 1:36 pm

    What lens did you use for that? And what’s the aperture?

    • #87 by Jonathan on 2011.08.23 - 1:46 pm

      Nevermind, found it! 50mm

  39. #88 by Basya on 2011.08.23 - 1:25 pm

    Thanks for the update! Am looking forward to once again flying the beautiful skies of There (and also driving the hills)!!

  40. #89 by Seth on 2011.08.23 - 1:20 pm

    Thanks for the update, and as always we appreciate the work you guys put in everyday in restoring the game we love.

  41. #90 by kevin smith on 2011.08.23 - 1:15 pm

    what about avatars that were made but never used? is there a chance to get one of those?

    • #91 by jimony on 2011.08.23 - 1:50 pm

      Once they are deleted from the servers for inactivation you can recreate an avatar with one of the names, but no one should ever be allowed to claim an avatar that wasn’t theirs.

  42. #92 by Camel on 2011.08.23 - 1:12 pm

    Sounds to me like MW is saying there will be judicious use of cats in There2.

  43. #93 by YankeeintheSouth on 2011.08.23 - 1:07 pm

    Glad were so close! Good luck to all becoming a GP! Would be nice to see Thumdar as one of the first, just saying…

  44. #94 by INSPiRE on 2011.08.23 - 12:58 pm

    πŸ˜€

  45. #95 by LeeLee on 2011.08.23 - 12:58 pm

    That picture is so beautiful! ❀

  46. #96 by kelayna on 2011.08.23 - 12:57 pm

    Thank you for the update! Go Team Phoenix Go woohooo!

  47. #97 by CpnBob on 2011.08.23 - 12:56 pm

    Same problem here. Also names disappearing and leaving blank lines in buddies and clubmembers.

  48. #98 by Jordy26 on 2011.08.23 - 12:52 pm

    Sounds fantastic. Seeing as you may be selecting GP’s this week sounds like things have massively progressed and quickly too.

    http://www.here4there.com

  49. #99 by iamsilverlady on 2011.08.23 - 12:50 pm

    glad to hear i am not the only one having redirect login props…..was beginning to think I was having a blonde moment…lol

  50. #100 by luckyjunior2005 on 2011.08.23 - 12:44 pm

    Can’t wait! We’re getting so close! πŸ˜€

  51. #101 by Dusky Rose on 2011.08.23 - 12:44 pm

    I’m glad I was a good little avatar. Although PegsRelic did threaten to take me out to the tool shed a few times, but that was for busting her nil.

  52. #102 by ant1977 on 2011.08.23 - 12:36 pm

    I’ve been getting a redirect loop back to the log-in page for a couple days too, maybe the banned avie bug fix broke the logged in recognizer?

    • #103 by Escape on 2011.08.23 - 12:49 pm

      I have intermittantly experienced the redirect loop when viewing profiles. Noticed is was happening today during an update (like new accounts registered and allowed access and buddies returning). Don’t know maybe coincidence?

    • #104 by toufovou on 2011.08.23 - 1:01 pm

      I have the same problem too.

    • #105 by CpnBob on 2011.08.23 - 2:22 pm

      Yes, I’m having the same problems with Profiles. It redirects me to a There sign-in loop that keeps appearing without allowing sign-in. Could this be a glitch in the new IM loaded from the (Here) link? It is happening with all 3 avies, whether trying to look at their own profiles or someone else’s.

    • #106 by justagreatguy on 2011.08.23 - 2:43 pm

      This is weird because I get the same redirect loop back to the log-in page on one computer that it use to work on, but my other computer everything works fine. Both have Windows 7 Both are running the same ver of IE. (IE I only use for There, I don’t like IE).

  53. #107 by trevor9393 on 2011.08.23 - 12:33 pm

    Yea reviewing seems like a great idea since many got banned for small things.

    • #108 by Reo on 2011.08.24 - 3:41 am

      There was definitely a problem with some of the outsourced customer service staff last time. I seem to recall a friend of mine being suspended for 3 days for placing a radio inside his own PAZ. The moderator showed up and couldn’t speak English. My friend asked for someone who could understand what he was saying, and got kicked offline. I was standing there for the whole thing, and even saved the text log. I heard similar stories from many other people.

  54. #109 by Pillz on 2011.08.23 - 12:33 pm

    ‘pout

  55. #110 by Skyefire on 2011.08.23 - 12:25 pm

    Viewing profiles has been broken for me since yesterday. If I try to click my own, to edit it, it tells me to log in, but the login doesn’t work, it also seems to think that I am already logged in.

    • #111 by Sleestak on 2011.08.23 - 12:39 pm

      yeah same here

      • #112 by Diatribe on 2011.08.23 - 1:34 pm

        Weird, it works for me.

      • #113 by ImageMaker on 2011.08.23 - 2:39 pm

        This might be due to “working on the cluster”, as we were warned to expect. FWIW, I’m getting the same thing.

      • #114 by frankprss on 2011.08.24 - 4:15 am

        me too

    • #115 by MikeCesar on 2011.08.23 - 8:43 pm

      Same here.

      • #116 by Robert Ricci on 2011.08.24 - 4:10 pm

        Yeah I have experienced the same ” profile ” login/password prob, but you know…no big, I gather it will be corrected…along with the other There pages that show 404.

  56. #117 by toufovou on 2011.08.23 - 12:19 pm

    Great to see you are making progress. I hope everything runs smoothly and There will open sooner than predicted.
    The way you’re handling the banned accounts is just fine and I am sure you will be fair to everybody!!!

  57. #118 by MsFrizzle on 2011.08.23 - 12:19 pm

    xD i am happy to hear that banned accounts are going to be reviewed. I did some stupid things and i am glad your giving us a second chance MW!

    • #119 by acemastter on 2011.08.23 - 12:24 pm

      can you read that was a bug that was leting band ppl come back witch is now fixed no second chance’s for band ppl after the bug was fixed he re-banded all of the ppl that were banded so it sucks to be you rofl

      • #120 by Escape on 2011.08.23 - 12:41 pm

        Yea it does “suck” to have a banned account. But, some (later) will have a second chance (which is a good thing) for sure!

      • #121 by Barbie Doll on 2011.08.23 - 1:11 pm

        He said the bug was fixed and the banned accts would be reviewed later for their second chance, I’m pretty sure thats what she was talking about

      • #122 by MsFrizzle on 2011.08.23 - 1:23 pm

        acemastter, you must not have read it right because the post says that they will review accounts once they get everything together. So you should read it right before making fun of people.

      • #123 by MsFrizzle on 2011.08.23 - 1:25 pm

        actually you probably didn’t read my post right

      • #124 by justagreatguy on 2011.08.23 - 2:05 pm

        Why must you be so rude to others? So many people that played There was rude, that is one reason most of us are glad the kids are gone. Apparently there are still a few rude people left in the cracks! I wonder if someday rude people will be band if enough complaints are made πŸ™‚ Lets please keep There a place we all want to be! ALL WELCOME!!!!

      • #125 by Mollie Duvall H. (@sunshinefacemd) on 2011.08.23 - 2:08 pm

        *letting, *banned, *which, *banned, *re-banned , *banned.

        πŸ™‚

      • #126 by Tre_Ghost on 2011.08.23 - 4:01 pm

        Can you read acemastter? He said clearly later on they will review banned ppl who do not make further attempts to sneak in to give some 2nd chances out. He may be banned, but he can read simple dialect better πŸ™‚

      • #127 by Barbie Doll on 2011.08.23 - 4:35 pm

        There where just as many rude adults as rude kids, people expecting there to be some change due to the 13-17 year olds being gone are in for a big let down.

  58. #128 by vmcl1998 on 2011.08.23 - 12:17 pm

    Thanks for the update!

  59. #129 by jonathan5k2006 on 2011.08.23 - 12:14 pm

    Brilliant πŸ™‚ looking forward to it all πŸ™‚ Good work!!!

Leave a Reply

