Quick January Report

I’ve got the top-line numbers for January, so I thought I’d share them:

Our Gross income was: $37,930

That’s less than $1000 less than break even!!!

(And that’s without hoods, and without the developer program).

As of a matter of interest, we’ve had 1655 subscriptions since the start of the service, and 320 cancellations, or 19.3%. That seems high, but that’s people resurrecting alts, and then canceling. Remember those are life-of-service numbers – not just January.

I’ll provide more detailed figures later.

  1. #1 by Bob DeVreeze ( mrbob_58) on 2012.02.29 - 5:49 am

    I am very happy to see there back. Thanks Michael. I am very happy to see my friends again. 10 bucks a months is cheap enterainment.

  2. #2 by NoBioN on 2012.02.25 - 2:44 am

    The detailed figures seems to been undersay for a long time now. But i bet feburary month is a green one

  3. #3 by Detested_X on 2012.02.17 - 5:34 pm

    My account was “SUSPENDED” for under age, when I’m 19 years old. I offered proof of my age with no reply, so how do I cancel the recurring payment without being able to login There central?

    • #4 by Detested_X on 2012.02.19 - 6:33 pm

      It’s charged me twice since my account has been suspended, any ideas?

      • #5 by Greenie on 2012.02.20 - 2:48 pm

        You need to cancel your THERE subscription payments via your PayPal account. I don’t have the exact information available to me at this time but you can read these blogs and at http://thumdar.com to find out the particulars.

        You can email feedback@thereinc.com to address your issues with THERE/Makena staff.

        Good luck.

  4. #6 by Sabene on 2012.02.16 - 9:34 pm

    I’m happy, I love There and am so pleased to be back

  5. #7 by Soosi on 2012.02.11 - 12:59 pm

    Great news, Michael, and thanks for the update.

    I have a question about Neighbourhood layouts. Do they “remember” anything about the lots that were present when the layout was saved or just items that were in the neighbourhood (and not in lots)? Thanks!

  6. #8 by ron on 2012.02.10 - 8:22 am

    there.com, you really do still need to allow ppl to pay in other ways, there are one or two countrys that paypal won’t deal with , aswell as some, have geniune reason reasons for not being able to use paypal. just a small not for the many ppl who have a problem with another person based on bad spellings, maybe show a little more respect towards others? if you can not or will not, simply shut your mouths. i say this as i have noticed a few behaving in a manner i feel is wrong.

    • #9 by Reo on 2012.02.18 - 12:44 am

      If you want respect from others, maybe you should show enough respect to bother with correct capitalization and spelling. It’s not hard. Use a spell checker if you need to.

  7. #10 by softNdark on 2012.02.05 - 11:57 pm

    Great News!!! Bet it puts a smile on your face too
    OK…. lets keep it moving, so peaceful to be back in There

  8. #11 by Hugsie on 2012.02.04 - 5:11 am

    I want to cancel my alt, i really don’t need it anymore but I’m confused as to how to go about it. Should i turn off autopay on paypal or is there something on there.com i can click to cancel membership for an alt?

    • #12 by Reo on 2012.02.18 - 12:46 am

      Last I checked, There.com shuts off your account the minute you remove the automatic payment from Paypal. It doesn’t matter if you paid for your month 1 day ago or 30 days ago, you lose all of your remaining time. I like to manually track my payments, so I found this out the hard way. They may have changed it since then, though.

  9. #13 by SaltySilver on 2012.02.03 - 8:12 am

    Wonderful news. Thanks for keeping us updated.

  10. #14 by jimony on 2012.02.02 - 11:23 pm

    I am really pleased to read this news. With new subscriptions being added in the future and rental property, not to mention auction income and T buyback fees, There should profit nicely. I hope the profit is large enough to never have There consider closing again. I would be as happy as a centepede in a peach if There put Zuckerburger to shame. LOL

  11. #15 by Margot Wagner on 2012.02.02 - 10:32 pm

    Michael Wilson,

    You are a complete asshole. You disrespect your customers like they owe you something. You do not know how to run a business. Learn how to treat customers better, and people in general. Until you stop being a complete faggot to everyone and learn to run a business, I am cancelling both of my subscriptions.

    Meanwhile, I’ll be doing more productive things with my time. College work and playing games that aren’t ran by idiots.

    • #16 by Michael Wilson on 2012.02.03 - 6:33 am

      Funny, the first post from this address was :

      ” understand, and correction I didnt come into there.com everyday stealing from you. To be more specific I was in there for 4+ years and used and exploit at the end once. I shouldnt have used it at all I get that”

      and then

      “I said that to make it known I wasnt this horrible horrible person, and I made a mistake as everyone does in their life. I was a good island guide for the year so I did it got top island guide my second month of joining the service so yes I was anything else?”

      Interesting.

      • #17 by Bankrupt on 2012.02.03 - 5:59 pm

        It is true you dont know how to treat customers. You would think you would know by now since there has struggled with customers for a long time that you would have learnt how to treat them by now to keep more around.

        Also does anyone really care about the stats on how much money there makes and so on? its like walking into a store to buy clothes or something and the owner comes out and tells you how much the store is making and how much salaries cost and how much electricty cost i dont think anyone really cares and if they do they need to get a life. Customers only care about what they get for their money not how it is run.

      • #18 by Hugsie on 2012.02.04 - 5:13 am

        Bankrupt.. You know you can just stop reading this blog if you don’t wanna know if there.com is making money or not. Just because you don’t like to read about it doesn’t mean you HAVE to read it.

      • #19 by frankprss on 2012.02.04 - 5:15 pm

        Michael if i let you suck my cock will i be able to get free subscription?

      • #20 by DirectX on 2012.02.05 - 9:53 pm

        The heck is going on in here? What is this pick on Michael Wilson day? It was unnecessary to show figures, sure… but that doesn’t mean it’s evil. In fact it only means there is an attempt being made to go above and beyond by showing us some stuff. We don’t have to try to understand what that graph thingy Bruce drew meant. We could appreciate it if we wanted to though, as the option to do so is there.

        I haven’t checked the blog lately but it sure looked different last time. A bit more respectful as well. MW is dishing out his own money in this phase, I am quite sure, and if it were you….. well I don’t have to ask if some of you people would mention it. Obviously we’d never hear the end of it if we were YOUR customers, and by the looks of this blog lately, I’d be willing to wager it wouldn’t sound quite as nice as “Just thought I’d share”.

        Get a life, griefers.

        Mike, I had only one question for you.

        “Our Gross income was: $37,930
        That’s less than $1000 less than break even!!!
        (And that’s without hoods, and without the developer program). ”

        Did you mean “And” or “BUT”… ?

        -dx.

    • #21 by Kayleigh Lace on 2012.02.03 - 10:17 pm

      Margot, you have NO EARTHLY IDEA how good There customers have it. The very fact there is a blog like this with interaction from the people in charge continues to astound me. Go play another game – go ahead. And then you pull this sort of crap with the GMs on their forums. You’ll be banned faster than you can blink your eyes. They don’t put up with it.

      And here is another one that has been failed by schools. ‘aren’t ran’? Seems to me before you call other people idiots you ought to make sure you don’t look like one yourself.

      Toodles!

      • #22 by jimony on 2012.02.04 - 11:08 am

        The vulgarity, name calling and the fact that she had been banned for exploiting the game do more to undermine her point than her grammar does.

    • #23 by Garth on 2012.02.04 - 3:26 am

      Jeesh, what a bitch. If you don’t want to support the efforts to relaunch There to the public, just shut up and go away. That’s how the best and brightest take a break. Then they don’t have to eat their words, or worse, be too embarrassed to come back. I certainly don’t want that kind of language used in world (or anywhere really).

      You’re not only showing yourself as a hateful bigot, you’re bashing some amazingly talented people who’ve taken on an exhausting challenge.

      I hope they take enough time to rest, we don’t want any of them burnt out!

  12. #24 by SueZ on 2012.02.02 - 7:08 pm

    Great to hear and thanks for all the hard work! I see people in world listing events, setting up quests, forming clubs, and making plans for designer submissions…things are looking good for the future in There!

  13. #25 by Bankrupt on 2012.02.02 - 6:14 pm

    I no longer play there.com due to having my account suspended via fake chatlog. It’s been about 5 months and still suspended and not even checking my age or verifying if i’m over the age of 18 which is total Nonsense if you’re going to suspend someone for being under the age of 18 atleast allow them to send proof. I’ve never played second life until happen but now i’m kinda of addicted and loving it and i can play for free.

    There.com is run by a pack of amatuers who dont know how to deal with customers. What if i spent alot of money and had all accounts that i was planning on being subscriibed too and then all of a sudden someone sends in fake logs and suspended and it’s taken about 6 months and still i cant send in proofand i lose money that i spent on enjoyment of playing i am not going to risk it again already lost money from my account and i not gonna wait forever until they finally allow you to send proof.

    If you wanna keep members michael you need to do something others like me will just walk away. Ive uninstalled there.com and everything to do with it never wanna see it again. i mean come on 6 months and still not allowing to send in proof of being over age when someone is compeletely over the age by a mile. that is total Nonsense.

    • #26 by Kayleigh Lace on 2012.02.03 - 10:10 pm

      You type like a grade-school child. Are you really surprised people think you are indeed a child?

      And by the way, dearie, you’re lying to us. “I’ve uninstalled There.com and everything to do with it. I never want to see it again….” (Forgive me for correcting your grammar and punctuation. Your grade school, high school, and college are FAILING you miserably if these few posts are the best you can type…) You’re posting on a There blog. I guess you haven’t rid yourself of everything to do with it.

      Don’t let the door hit ya… actually – go ahead let it.

      • #27 by Puter_Head on 2012.02.04 - 10:46 am

        I can’t believe how rude people can be? If you don’t like what is being said… why do you stoop to the level of the poster by being so damn rude? For all you know they might have a learning disability or be “challenged” in some other area.

        I think we are ALL free to voice our opinions here… why do so many feel they have to be so rude in how they respond? Talking about how a person types? Give me a break!

        Unbelieveable.

      • #28 by Kayleigh Lace on 2012.02.04 - 5:38 pm

        Puter_Head, don’t mistake sarcasm and snark for rudeness. And did you actually read what this original poster said? Did you?

        Have a good night.

      • #29 by Bankrupt on 2012.02.04 - 7:53 pm

        Yes Kayleigh my spelling isn’t the best but then again english is my 2nd langauge i could type in my first langauge but i doubt many will understand me. But if thats how you judge people on how they spell to determine they are underage you really need to get out more.

      • #30 by Kayleigh Lace on 2012.02.06 - 8:12 pm

        Your entire rant is telling. ’nuff said. πŸ™‚

      • #31 by Bankrupt on 2012.02.06 - 9:10 pm

        Kayleigh grow up and do something with your life rather than comment on people spelling online not knowing that everyone does not speak english. atleast i make an effort to try and type in english.

      • #32 by NathanAvis on 2012.02.07 - 5:37 am

        While I do think Bankrupt is a stupid head πŸ˜€ … putting on a grammar police helmet is usually the protective shield of someone who cannot form a valid argument against another person so detracts from it or as Puter Head says stooping to the opponent’s level. Again while I don’t like what Bankrupt has said at all in MW’s blog, it’s kind of embarassing Kayleigh that you share the same support for the program as someone like me yet have proven yourself to be way more stupid than people like Bankrupt who do not.

      • #33 by Bankrupt on 2012.02.07 - 9:24 pm

        NathanAvis what you think i’m a stupid head because i said it’s stupid that they can suspend my account for someone sending in a fake chatlog saying that i’m underage yet im 30 years old. And when you email support they say i cant send in drivers license or anything until there opens yet it has been 5 months and account still suspended. You think treating customers like this helps? espeically when i have been playing there.com since 05.

    • #34 by Hugsie on 2012.02.04 - 5:16 am

      There is a person who deals with bans if the service thinks you’re underage. Talk with Mackie and she can help you restore your account, or start a new one.

    • #35 by Christy Clendenen on 2012.02.04 - 6:20 am

      * EYEROLL* I have said this 100 times and I will say it again.. SL is free if you want to walk around with “freebie” ( as in it sucks) skin, clothes, hair, shape, AO, etc. All of these things you have to have to have a 1/2 way decent looking avatar. I have had my SL account since 2005 ( bliss boccara) and I don’t even want to think about how much money I have spent so I can have my little 1/4 sim, look decent and be able to have something that resembles fun in that damn sea of LAG! Try racing cars in SL or going on a cross country race, oh wait you can’t go cross country. And since you are not paying SL a subscription to be a premium member ( 78 bucks last I saw) customer service wont even speak to you or help you! There.com is still in BETA, it is NOT open to the public yet, the world is still being worked on, there are 4 people working at Makena. MW has already told us that after the world gets open to the public and things get going THEN they will deal with banned avatars. SO be sure and get that pay pal account ready, the same one you have to have for SL so you can be adult verified, and go to all the adult places, oh wait you said your playing for free so you must not be allowed in the adult sections, how boring for you : ) I hope you have a wonderful time with your FREE SL * laughs* Patience is a wonderful virtue BTW!
      wikkedbliss

      • #36 by Bankrupt on 2012.02.04 - 3:52 pm

        Playing for free is nice do you really care how good your avatar looks maybe you should get a life sometime i just play to chat and meet people not about looks of their virtual avatar. Also Second life has 50-60 thousand online at any one time which does cause a bit of lag but its better than having a totally dead world i know about 10 people who useto play there and moved to SL when there closed and they told me they are addicted to SL and wont be returning.

        http://dwellonit.taterunino.net/sl-statistical-charts/ SL charts compare πŸ˜‰ i dont think there.com will ever ever be as big.

      • #37 by Christy Clendenen on 2012.02.05 - 12:29 pm

        I really hope that There.com never has 60k people logged in, because that would mean that Like on SL, you can never find anymore than one or two people in a place at a time unless ofc you are at a long standing club or the nude beach. But whatever floats you’re avatar right? I like to be able to travel all over the entire world, see many , many friends and have everyone be so NICE, even total strangers to me on There.com. My 1/4 sim in SL is a public romance sim where I allow people to drop, change clothes and offer privacy and freedom to newbies or people without homes or land. it’s listed in the destination guide and has been for 3 years… even after saying all of that, I spend 90% of my online time in There,com. it’s the people and the community that make it so wonderful and I will defend it against bullies and haters who if you had just read the blog you would have known about the banned avatars and maybe not felt the need to trash all the work everyone has done. Again enjoy your FREE SL

      • #38 by Bankrupt on 2012.02.05 - 8:25 pm

        What i’m trying to say is not every country has same time zone i dont live in usa and when i get home from work it’s about peak hour like 8pm or my night time and its about 4 am in usa, and when i go online there isnt anyone online which makes it very boring and dead. I’m just trying to say more players the better then no matter what time or what time zone your in people will always be in world. I guess it fine for usa people but those from different counries and totally different time zone it can be very dead during the hours you play.

      • #39 by Kayleigh Lace on 2012.02.06 - 8:13 pm

        I hear violins….

    • #40 by SwimGood on 2012.02.06 - 9:17 pm

      I understand your frustration. We should be allowed to play, but apparently long time dedicated members who have been wrongly accused are not important. I feel like There.com is only about making figures, go ahead hate, but its my opinion. I think its time for There.com to focus on customer satisfaction.

  14. #41 by coolnet on 2012.02.02 - 5:54 pm

    Thank you for the update.

  15. #42 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.02 - 5:22 pm

    Excellent news on the financials, Michael. Looks very good for ‘hoods and the Developer program to push this over into a tidy profit every month. I have to agree with a tiny part of one comment above — the world seems pretty empty most of the time; 6000+ members isn’t many when you figure most of them are only in world for a few hours a week, and the world has about as much land area as Connecticut. Even Phoenix Park has been pretty bare lately — but that might improve as people get back into hosting events that aren’t just “lapping at XYZ Track”. New Cross Country Race coming up tomorrow night (Friday the 3rd), starting at 8 PM EST, seems like a good start.

    Relative to that, I might also mention that e-mail for club invitations has been working part of the time, but it’s spotty. No, not something immediately critical, but something to put on the list of “when there’s time to spare for fixes”.

  16. #43 by NathanAvis on 2012.02.02 - 4:57 pm

    Happy Happy Joy Joy!

    • #44 by Escape on 2012.02.03 - 1:29 pm

      Ren and Stimpy, that’s one hell of a cat and dog!!!!

  17. #45 by David H on 2012.02.02 - 1:55 pm

    ‘Like’

  18. #46 by Punkster OfThere on 2012.02.02 - 11:39 am

    Beautiful! Things are looking good for our future! ‘happydance

  19. #47 by MademoiselleFifi on 2012.02.02 - 11:08 am

    Great news…..good job Pheonix Team…..enjoying There..it’s a great place.

  20. #48 by SunnyMusic on 2012.02.02 - 10:17 am

    YAY!!!! So glad to read those numbers! I cannot wait for new members either, it will be nice to meet new faces and help share what it is we love so much about There. And, I am doing the ‘shopping for new stuff dance’ as well! ;P

  21. #49 by Mercuria on 2012.02.02 - 8:31 am

    Suhweeeeeet! I love reading the progress πŸ™‚

  22. #50 by MrScrooge on 2012.02.02 - 8:27 am

    I’m happy to read this news. I admit, I had my doubts at first but you’ve erased them, Team Phoenix. I look forward to when There opens for new members, that’s when the real fun will start.

  23. #51 by soede on 2012.02.02 - 8:26 am

    This is really encouraging news! While people have been expressing that things are coming along too slowly here and there, This is a big part of how There did things RIGHT before. Slowly and carefully and with quality.
    Once the profit from the hoods and dev system submissions and increase in auction sales is all rolling along it will be interesting to see what areas There chooses to expand in. Dipping toes into a limited form of basic accounts? More staff and moderation? More advertising?
    Hopefully There can find the right recipe to keep our world economically stable and sustainable in the Long Run =D

    • #52 by Michael Wilson on 2012.02.02 - 8:34 am

      Our experience with advertising has been universally disappointing.

      I think the “next thing” will be to get a real program in place so developers can somehow get real $ for their digital goods. We’ve got some good ideas how to do that, and we’re very excited about it.

      • #53 by soledadnegativa on 2012.02.02 - 10:35 am

        ‘rtr and Props to you and the Phoenix team, everything you guys have promised have been delivered with interest. I was going to ask you about the developer program but see that you have already addressed it. Any estimation of when we can expect it to be available?
        I want to also apologize to you for being that grain of sand in your shoe; I know you have pressing matters than policing There. Oh and thanks for your patience. Lol.

      • #54 by Thumdar on 2012.02.02 - 2:38 pm

        Wow ~ this is REALLY REALLY REALLY good to hear! It just seems this is the key to success.

      • #55 by Susan Van Brundt Redlin on 2012.02.03 - 9:55 pm

        Hi, perhaps targeted marketing would be more successful than paid advertising. Specifically directed at women, seniors and/or disabled people, not groups that spring to mind when discussing online worlds and gaming, but a large and important segment of the There community. In addition to belonging to all three of these groups, I worked in PR and marketing until I had to quit due to poor health. Some publicity opportunities to consider when There opens up to new members..

        — Jane_Austen

  24. #56 by Christy Clendenen on 2012.02.02 - 6:14 am

    YAY!!!! I am SOO Looking forward to the day we open the front gates and let the public in, I love my fellow Therians but I think we are all ready for some fresh meat : ) And not pink fluffy horse meat LOL Can’t wait till the developers and designers get back in!! * does shopping for new stuff dance*
    Wikkedbliss~

  25. #57 by Sassybeme There on 2012.02.02 - 6:14 am

    Wonderful! I hope it continues to go upward. πŸ™‚

  26. #58 by Francis_7 on 2012.02.02 - 6:10 am

    Good news indeed! Thank you for sharing this with the members!

  27. #59 by 12mandy on 2012.02.02 - 5:36 am

    thank you michael for update,it looks promisning,when you start to allow new people in it make big difference,

  28. #60 by Tift on 2012.02.02 - 4:28 am

    Dynamite…….excellent outlook for the future!

  29. #61 by DDGQ on 2012.02.02 - 2:47 am

    I don’t see how people can cancel from There.com …
    Even if I did stop playing-I’d still pay subscription for everyone elses sake-every little penny counts!

  30. #62 by Yozh VisualDelights on 2012.02.02 - 1:14 am

    That’s awesome to hear, Michael, thank you very much for the info! ‘tu
    Yozh

  31. #63 by Make-nahh on 2012.02.02 - 12:46 am

    Wonderful. You bought up the technology for what could have been the next internet. You were given all you needed to revolutionize the way human beings everywhere interact with their computers and each other.

    Instead 10 years later and you’re thrilled with 1000 users and an empty world covered with advertisements . And celebrating the fact that so far you’re only losing a little money.

    I love ya buddy, but sell the technology. Let someone else have it. It’s a priceless work of art being wasted in your attic.

    • #64 by Michael Wilson on 2012.02.02 - 7:32 am

      First, you’re not my “buddy”.

      Second, your statement is short on facts, facts that you could verify by just reading what’s been written here over the past few months.

      Third, your credibility is seriously hampered by the fact you’re hiding behind a fake email address (“oldfriends@there.com”?).

      But I’m glad I’ve provided you a place to express your “opinion”. You have a nice day now.

    • #65 by toufovou on 2012.02.02 - 8:43 am

      It must really suck for you to see that ‘There’ is open again, right Make-nahh?????
      Great news MW!!! I truly believe that sooner than later ‘There’ will once again regain is place high up in the VW rankings!!!!

    • #66 by Hugsie on 2012.02.04 - 5:20 am

      Wow the trolls come out in force. Kids are upset i guess.

  32. #67 by just R.J. on 2012.02.01 - 11:06 pm

    only prob. with that is you have a bunch of old flgie’s that beleave they run the damn place you cant even make a trip to zephyer with out some OLD HAG or some old rednech moron butting into your buisness everytime you turn and if is not what thay like to here then your bullied hoastand paintballed or hoverboard smashed all over the damn place

    • #68 by soledadnegativa on 2012.02.02 - 10:40 am

      @ just R.J.

      Anytime you want to go to Zephyr let me know, I will be happy to bounce around with you.

      Sole

    • #69 by xSnoopy on 2012.02.03 - 4:04 am

      @ just R.J.

      When you go to the zoo, don’t pet the lions.
      I have been hanging out in Zephyr since 2005 and it usually takes an immature, inconsiderate and disrespectful remark or act to rile the residents.
      If your going to continue coming to Zephyr, perhaps you should treat the people there with the same respect you expect from everyone else.

      @ soledadnegativa,

      Come on down!! We/I will be happy to help you on your “bouncing” quest!! πŸ™‚
      BTW, GG last night

      xSnoopy

  33. #70 by Fallax on 2012.02.01 - 10:46 pm

    WOW this is looking promising πŸ™‚

  34. #71 by Thumdar on 2012.02.01 - 10:37 pm

    Coolness! Once the developer program and hoods get rolling along with new members (and the eagerly anticipated My Little Pony Zephyr hood), you should be seeing some good profit. That’s good for everyone!

    • #72 by Christy Clendenen on 2012.02.02 - 6:11 am

      Nooooooo! I don’t want to see those guys fighting over who has the cutest pony! * washes out eyes* LOL

  35. #73 by Kittyclaws on 2012.02.01 - 10:31 pm

    Someone send me an inv! :/ SL blows.

    • #74 by TherePercy on 2012.02.02 - 1:12 am

      @Kittyclaws: If you are a former Thereian, you can reclaim your avatar through the front page of http://www.there.com and doing the “Invite me now!” link at the bottom left.
      If you have never been in There before: just a little more patience.. we are drawing closer and closer to opening to everyone πŸ™‚

    • #75 by Greenie on 2012.02.02 - 2:27 am

      Kittyclaws,

      Go to http://there.com and send your Legacy Avatar, (avatar account that existed prior to 03-2010), a self invite. After a short wait you will receive an email from THERE with instructions. Follow those and you too can soon be in THERE! It may take a day or few for your avatar account to fully migrate but you can enjoy the 3D world and THERE IM once again while you wait for skills and possessions to join you back in world!

      In the meantime, you can visit http://thumdar.com where you can learn about what’s happening and how to make it happen in THERE.com.

    • #76 by DDGQ on 2012.02.02 - 2:45 am

      Invites are only for accounts before the shutdown in 2010. If you have one, you can resurrect that account on the there.com website by creating a new account with the same avatar name and password as it had before.

Leave a Reply

