Who’s in There?

As promised, Bruce has set it up so our CCU (Concurrent Users) graph is publicly available. Just click here to check it out.

  1. #1 by Inox on 2012.03.06 - 10:11 am

    Hello Michael WIlson,

    When “There” has finally opened. Would you consider giving “There” members the option to change their name?

    I would really appreciate this feature. Been stuck with an avatar name I dislike for 6 years now.

    Thank you.

  2. #2 by AgapeLove on 2012.02.26 - 5:19 pm

    I know that our forums are through Thumdar’s site now, but I was wondering if we will have access to club forums again?

    • #3 by Greenie on 2012.03.06 - 9:45 am

      Thumdar has provided a way to create Groups and link them with our THERE profiles and the forums for Thereians. http://thumdar.com/community/groups.html
      http://thumdar.com has an answer area, downloads for developers and users in general, a library and an answer section. Members can have blogs and customize their profile pages with mp3 players and photo albums. You can make use of videos, events calendar and chat rooms as well as a shout box too!

  3. #4 by 12mandy on 2012.02.25 - 9:15 am

    hi everyone,
    i bought a house in auctions but it has not appeared in mythings, i checked my trans actions and the money was deducted from my account
    i contacted the seller and he did recieve my money,but he says there nothing he can do about it,he says its there.com problem not his,
    is there anyway i can get the house i paid for,thanks for any help on this problem

    • #5 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.29 - 12:52 pm

      The item you bought should show up as a “deed” — it has an icon like a document. You should also see it listed in “Places”, “Real Estate” (after a suitable loading delay from login — takes about a minute for me), and if you visit the physical location of the house or look it up with “Find Places” (you *did* get an address, didn’t you?), you should see the information page list your name as owner. If that’s not the case, check your transaction history to find the DOID of the object you received from the auction and send that information (along with your avatar name and the details of the transaction) to feedback@thereinc.com — don’t expect an immediate answer, though.

  4. #6 by Soosi on 2012.02.23 - 2:57 pm

    Urgent question: Some people seem to be having problems buying Tbucks. They say that the PayPal pages that are supposed to come up don’t seem to work. PayPal is working fine for paying their subscriptions but they just can’t buy Tbucks. Anyone have any ideas?

    Is ThereMail supposed to be working? Appears only about 10% of the ThereMail sent is received.

    Thanks!

    • #7 by Soosi on 2012.02.23 - 3:16 pm

      PS Someone just sent me a regular email and said when they tried to send a ThereMail they got the following error:

      “5.1.2 – Bad destination host ‘DNS Hard Error looking up prod.there.com (A): domain has no A record”

      • #8 by IndyLou on 2012.02.24 - 8:53 am

        Are they using the email address of feedback@thereinc.com ?

      • #9 by IndyLou on 2012.02.24 - 9:17 am

        Sorry, misread on my end. lol. You are referring to ThereMail. If you are logged into There, you can send emails, but you can not do a reply to that email I have found from my Outlook Express. I have to be in There and send that person a reply email for them to receive my reply back.

      • #10 by Dan Samuel on 2012.02.27 - 2:55 pm

        yeah.we need some sort of auto-responder on avName@prod.there.com that explains you cannot reply, but gives you a link to the webapp that lets you send mail to avatars.

      • #11 by Greenie on 2012.03.06 - 9:47 am

        Dan Samuel,
        Has there been any work towards initiating something like what you mentioned, an auto-responder?

    • #12 by IndyLou on 2012.02.24 - 9:11 am

      When you click on BuyT$, the ThereBanker page opens where you enter the amount of dollars you wish to spend on Tbucks and you click “Buy Now”. The page changes to one that is “Buy More Therebucks (cont.) with the instructions to “Click the PayPal logo to begin:”, so you click on the “Check out with PayPal” button. That will do two things, the “Buy More Therebucks (cont.) page changes to a page that reads “Thank You!” and it will open up a second window for your order summary. Enlarge this page so that you see where you have to login to your PayPal account. Enter your email address for your PayPal account and your PayPal password then click the login button. The next window confirms your order and payment method information. Scroll down and click “Pay Now” and your all done and will receive your Tbucks!

      I think the main problem here is people are not seeing on the Order summary page due to that window opening so small where they need to login to their PayPal account to actually complete the purchase of the Tbucks.

    • #13 by Dan Samuel on 2012.02.24 - 2:56 pm

      Please encourage “some people” to send us their issues directly to ‘feedback@thereinc.com’ as I don’t think we have recently received anything like that (tbux purchases in specific, as opposed to subscriptions. Most feedback is the other way around since the backup funding source requirements are stricter for a subscription than for a tbux purchase)

      I’m sure were sending more than 10% of the email successfully 🙂 But email is definitely a reliability issue thanks to years of spammage making all the email providers nervous.

      However, there could be specific instances of email which are less reliable than others (for example, the developer migration email had a 100% failure rate until we fixed something silly), so if you have a particular kind of email transaction that you feel is massively unreliable, please let ‘feedback@thereinc.com’ know about it with as clear an explanation as possible… like, I dunno, “When I use a member’s profile to send an email (clicking on the little envelope link), it never seems to get sent” And if possible, include the url of the web page that offered the little envelope button you used.

      Thanks!

      • #14 by Soosi on 2012.02.24 - 4:58 pm

        Thanks for your information IndyLou! I’ll pass it on and hopefully that will solve the problem. If not I’ll have them send messages to ‘feedback’.

        Thanks Dan! I’ll be sending ‘feedback’ the problems I’ve been having with mail.

    • #15 by imakos on 2012.02.28 - 11:02 am

      I posted this earlier :
      I have found if you go into “Internet Options /Advanced, Under ” Security and Untick the ” Do Not Save Encrypted Pages to Disk” and that seemed to help me..

      I hope it helps you.

  5. #16 by Sassybeme There on 2012.02.22 - 5:42 pm

    Huge thanks for all the hard work. Take your vitamins. 🙂
    Totally wow’d again. And it just keeps getting better.
    Many thanks Team Phoenix.

  6. #17 by JasonMK on 2012.02.22 - 6:48 am

    Got a very nice surpise in my inbox, and email labeled “Developer Submission Migration for There.com”. I know i only had a few items submitted, but it is a nice step towards being back the way things were (only better?). Thanks for all the work you guys have been doing.

  7. #18 by xnecroscopex on 2012.02.22 - 5:44 am

    Hey Mr. Wilson!

    I hope you are doing well and in good spirits. I am a Mac user and was wondering when you would come out with a mac version of There. There are a lot of us out there waiting in suspense… lol. Thanks!!!!

    • #19 by cory on 2012.02.23 - 1:28 pm

      agreed. its to slow trying to do it on parallels

      • #20 by Jonathan on 2012.02.26 - 12:31 am

        Add me to that list! Can’t wait for the Mac client. VMWare/Parallels just makes my computer overheat like mad.

      • #21 by xnecroscopex on 2012.02.29 - 12:16 pm

        I know!!!! I tried parallels for the IM chat and even that lagged. I can’t imagine how bad it is for the There client. :/

  8. #22 by Tommy on 2012.02.21 - 5:58 pm

    Hey i have a question , I have an account that was banned for cursing last year . You mentioned something about accounts with minor bans like cursing getting a second chance when or how can i get my account back . I am very excited about there being opened again and wanna hop back in I wouldn’t mind paying the 10 dollars per month subscription fee only if i could be able to play back on my account . I have a lot of money and time invested in that account. I would love to be able to play again and understand the rules . Please respond thanks . My banned avie’s name is 1Ringo1

    • #23 by Greenie on 2012.02.22 - 3:56 pm

      Hi Tommy, It might help you to send your inquiry to feedback@thereinc.com. This is the email where we are directed to send all customer service issues.
      Good luck!

      • #24 by Tommy on 2012.02.23 - 12:31 pm

        Ya i have sent an inquiry to that email . No response though 😦

  9. #25 by studlythere on 2012.02.21 - 11:34 am

    any news on a mac client yet???

  10. #27 by Rebecca McArthur (Marcy_D) on 2012.02.20 - 7:16 am

    Hi Mr. Wilson,

    I’m reposting a couple of posts I made on Thumdar because well, they were really for you and they are in such inflamed threads, I’m not sure you’d even see them. I just wanted to make sure my voice was heard. I have always had such a warm personal spot in my heart for your world that I’m unashamed to say I’ve got a lil hero worshipping crush on you. :p

    Post 1:
    “My vote would be stop giving idiots the ability to control sacred/iconic ground, period. This is the dumbest idea ever frankly. The idea of Paz is okay, not terrible. The decision to not make their use super limited to areas of the world that the entire public should be free to enjoy is bullshit, short sighted, and a freaking hot bed for drama (as so clearly demonstrated here in these forums and the game isn’t even public yet).

    NOBODY owns this virtual space, but MW’s company. Don’t believe me? There closed. I’d think that we’d care more about keeping the world open and inviting, then the false ownership of nonphysical things, but apparently not. I won’t feel badly for one little millisecond for any of the “residents” *snort* of Zephyr or Duda Bay for that matter if There fails again, but I will know exactly where blame lays.

    The entire group of you are less mature than my teenagers, completely selfish beyond words, and should be utterly ashamed of yourselves all the way around. I strongly urge you to take a complete and thorough inventory of your disgusting behavior here, and clearly in game, while asking yourselves what role are YOU playing in keeping anyone “new” from being in your “zone”? From enjoying world? From wanting to spend even a dollar on There? What are YOU doing to kill off a world you supposedly love?

    Really hope Mr. Wilson is taking a close look at all of this incredible ridiculousness and considering the extremely chilling affect this has on any potential casual user. The fact is that a few number of customers willing to spend lots of dollars will never really compensate for the loss of lots and lots and lots of customers each willing to spend some much smaller amount of money. The later provides a continuous stream of fresh dollars, while the former only guarantees that you have this money until drama (or any variety of other factors) drives away some subset of that much smaller customer base… with very few left to step into their shoes because the world was so inhospitable to new customers that there was no one TO fill the shoes.”

    Post 2:
    “My comments weren’t meant to be directed to anyone specifically, other than Mr. Wilson in a round-about-way. They are more my opinions on the entire situation of “ownership” of land that should be used by the public, not defaced or controlled by individual players.

    There means a lot to me. My husband and I met here. We fell in love here and we married all because of There. We celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary on Saturday. When There closed, I can’t fully explain the incredible sadness I felt. I literally grieved for weeks. It is so much more than a “game” to me. Its home in a very weird way, but more than that Marcy & Smiwi are pieces of us that live in this world. They are pieces of us that don’t exist in that way anywhere else. I am bound to my avatar in such an intimate way that it is hard to explain. To me, this is the real beauty and ingenuity in There, the essence of that bond between player and the avatar is more intimate than any other gaming experience I’ve had and my gaming experience is considerable. I don’t log into There often. I joined in April, 2003 and I am a lifetime member along with my husband, my sister, and a very close friend. We spent enormous amounts of time in world, once upon a time. We all rezed our toons, but I find I’m the only one who still reads here and on rare occasions logs in. Why is that? What can be learned from this? Does it relate at all to the longevity and appeal of There to the larger gaming community as a whole?

    My husband and I are pretty hard core gamers. We play everything from twitch combat, first person shooters, RPGs, MMOs, and even iPhone games. I have an advanced degree in finance and actually specialize in long range financial plans, projections, and the creation/evaluation of pro formas. We spend approximately 15% of our fairly respectable disposable income on gaming for everything from a house full of custom gaming rigs, to an impressive variety of consoles, and nearly every hand held out there. We even travel to gaming conventions annually. We’ve had the intense pleasure of attending PAX both in Seattle and Boston each year.

    My husband and I spent some time last night discussing why I am even participating on this forum and the conclusion is this. I hope that Mr. Wilson will read my opinion and give it some consideration. I don’t think these things are welcoming to players, new or old. I never go to Duda or Zephyr when I’m in There. I don’t spend large amounts of time in There. I don’t find it welcoming and in large part many of the most beloved places to me are overwhelming, unimpressive, and defaced. Its like seeing your childhood neighborhood taken over by gangs and spray painted with ugly epitaphs.

    However, I love There. I love Marcy and I love Smiwi. I bought tbucks and prepaid rent on a little house even though I rarely log in and when I do it is for very brief periods of time. I want to keep Marcy and Smiwi alive for as long as possible even though I don’t enjoy being in that world anymore. There is a very exclusive, uninviting tone to the world and it is driven in no small part to this kind of a situation. So sad that it is easily remedied by tough but simple decisions. It is the difference between a world that we can all enjoy and a world that is pieced out and owned by the current inhabitants only.”

  11. #28 by martin71a on 2012.02.18 - 7:04 am

    mw could you make the designing items more easyer than havin limited pollys cos before there closed when ppls asked for no one would help to get them started or do some thing like you had before with pannels and build your own home or any other buildings or you could do a plugin for the max with all the limits for building

    • #29 by Dan Samuel on 2012.02.27 - 3:00 pm

      wouldn’t it be cool if you could convert a large zone into a Minecraft style ‘pile o’ legos’ and then go crazy? Maybe just ‘hollow it out’ to make interesting cave-like spaces… Especially if it could magically override the terrain height at that location so as to let you dig down below the ground/water. Yeah… cool 🙂

      • #30 by McKensy on 2012.02.28 - 2:31 pm

        Now Samsyn – hold on to that thought! That is very interesting indeed! Some degree of decoration freedom like in Minecraft would really make my day! 🙂 When do you start programming?

      • #31 by PcMan Hoverboat Pilot on 2012.02.28 - 6:44 pm

        Speaking of “legos” what happened to the block kits like the one seen in this video? 😛

  12. #32 by mimi06 on 2012.02.18 - 6:04 am

    Any time frame yet on how much longer “claiming” avies is allowed? I have a friend Ar1DDawg, thats been trying to reset password and has used the help link. I know your all busy and this isnt as important as helping him, but he so wants back in THERE with his legacy avie as well, so he can play with his 300 some odd buggies rofl.. he did get his alt avie registered.. Hope there’s still more time before the avie names are closed 😦 I was reminded this week that time’s running out and thought I would ask for him. thanks thanks I am so happy to be home..

    • #33 by Dan Samuel on 2012.02.29 - 10:20 am

      Time is not running out on claiming old avie names. Someday, of course, but it is definitely not imminent. I’m a little worried about your 300 buggies though 🙂 Parking Lots are still one of our performance issues to be addressed. 🙂

  13. #34 by J_blackk on 2012.02.17 - 5:49 pm

    Hey question, When “There” started up doing the subscriptions I bought it and had it for about a month. The next month I did not renew it because I knew I would be busy the following month. I tried last night to reactivate my account, but to my dismay, I had forgotten my password, I tried getting it resent to me, but no password reset was sent to me. How can I go about getting my password re-sent to me so I can start up my subscription again?

    • #35 by Dan Samuel on 2012.02.27 - 3:04 pm

      Just in case this isn’t clear, there are TWO ‘password reset’ features. One is on the “Help Me Remember Stuff” page and is only used to reset your LEGACY password, *before* re-creating your avatar.

      After your avatar has been created, you must use the ‘normal’ password recovery tool, shown at the top of http://www.there.com and in your profile. But if you can’t login, it’s probably better to use the one at the top of http://www.there.com

      In both cases, however, the new password will be emailed to you. In the ‘normal’ case this is sent to the avatar’s registered email address (which in theory has received email in the past since it needed to be validated before you could log in the first time)

  14. #36 by Merry Prankster on 2012.02.16 - 8:19 pm

    Who does one talk to, to get their PayPal account unfrozen? I mean, it’s good enough to use for the subscription fee, yet I can’t seem to buy any t-bux.

    • #37 by IMAKOS on 2012.02.17 - 10:19 pm

      I have found if you go into “Internet Options /Advanced, Under ” Security and Untick the ” Do Not Save Encrypted Pages to Disk” and that seemed to help me..

      I hope it helps you.

    • #38 by Dan Samuel on 2012.02.24 - 3:06 pm

      MP already knows this as we dealt with it via “feedback@thereinc.com” but I will post here for general entertainment value…. I mean informational purposes.

      What had happened in MP’s case was that some time ago PayPal reported his account had been used fraudulently. (Well, what they actually said was that MP had disputed a payment and declared he hadn’t made that payment). At the end of the day, we don’t feel that actually explained what happened. But the problem was that a report of a fraudulent use of a PayPal account (reported to us by PayPal itself) caused us to lock down his avatar and deny it the right to use PayPal in the future.

      Which should ALSO have blocked his ability to pay for a subscription, but it turns out the subscription code assumed someone else was checking for that (it’s “on the list” to fix that).

      Anyway, that’s all cleared up now.

      But it does raise an interesting flag. If you need to cancel a payment (to anyone) in PayPal, be very reluctant to push the ‘fraud’ button unless you really really mean it, as PayPal and Makena both freak out when they see that. “Fraud” in that case means you are saying “I never told PayPal to send that money, someone else must have done it” and that’s very very bad.

      And I use “him” in the “i really have no idea” sense. My apologies if I got it wrong 🙂

  15. #39 by XNecroscopeX on 2012.02.15 - 7:12 pm

    MAC VERSION!!!!

  16. #40 by Kevin Brunner on 2012.02.15 - 1:27 pm

    Can anyone help me with some advice on how to make the radio’s and boom box or Juke box work in world. I can get it to work in my brouser but not in game. Another words it plays fine thrue my speakers on the PC. but it is not coming out in world. This is only happening with my personal boom box. When I go some place that has one playing it works just fine and I hear it as I should. But when I place one in my own PAZ it won’t work. I am missing something. Some emportant step. Just can’t remember what. I know this has been addressed here in this blog before, but can’t remember where or when, it was some time back. Maybe I should be asking some place else other than here, just not sure where. Any advice?

    • #41 by Greenie on 2012.02.15 - 10:36 pm

      Hi Kevin, You might find some answers at http://thumdar.com. I’ve had the same problem, but I didn’t look for a solution as I did not have plans to keep the music box out but for a few minutes, at the time. If I come across the instructions I’ll post again. Good luck.

    • #42 by CardSharkRay on 2012.02.16 - 10:59 am

      go to your music box of jukebox and hit change staion when the page comes up hit help tab on top then settings set it for defult meida player and then hit save on bottom then pick ya stataion and bingo ya got music make sure its in 128 band the one ya pick the others really dont play

    • #43 by IndyLou on 2012.02.16 - 1:14 pm

      HOW DO I GET MY MUSIC BOX TO WORK?

      When you use the ‘Change Station’ option to pick your shoutcast radio station, you will need to (one time for each radio) use the Shoutcast HELP/SETTINGS option to select how you want to hear the music. You want to select “Use my default media player” for the music to come out of the music box in world. Otherwise, it will come straight out of your browser and no one else will hear it.

      Be sure to SAVE the settings. Then Select your radio station.

      • #44 by Kevin Brunner on 2012.02.16 - 9:47 pm

        Thank you all for the help. That worked perfect IndyLou. Tnx.
        kev_bo

  17. #45 by Okalnix on 2012.02.15 - 12:13 am

    Valentine Day on Dune Valley Buggy Arena.
    2012 Feb 14
    Have fun to watch this great day.
    More Theme event comming soon

  18. #46 by CardSharkRay on 2012.02.13 - 9:36 am

    hey mw thought i just let ya know that auctions are messed up again and really puts a damper on people trying to sell stuff..

  19. #47 by Tahitisweetie53 on 2012.02.13 - 5:44 am

    I noticed that in Shop Central ( and also on our portazones ) you got 1 acre ( 100 drop) portazones listed for $ 48,000 and the rental to refill it is even more than the basic price, your asking $ 48,240 to refill it. ( It would be cheaper to
    buy a new portazone at this rate than to refill it each time. )

    Im sure its just an error that got overlooked, but it needs to be corrected in both shop central and in our 1 acre (100 drop portazones).

    Its listed as follows :

    64×64/100 PortaZone
    “64m x 64m PortaZone, allows up to 100 drops. 30-Day Refills are 48,240T. First 30 days included with new PortaZone purchase from Shop Central. Can be dropped in open areas.”
    Product ID: 1094335
    Regular Price: 48,000T

    • #48 by NathanAvis on 2012.02.13 - 7:47 am

      In the case of a 2 or 3 acre paz having double the drops at double the price is also questionable, when one can stack a 1 or 2 acre 50 drop quite freely under a 2 or 3 acre 50 drop and save several dollars a month.

    • #49 by McKensy on 2012.02.13 - 8:09 am

      I noticed just that back in the “old” There when the new paz’s were introduced. Contacted staff about it but nothing nothing was changed. It is indeed a little weird (and it messes up my paz-price calculator).

  20. #50 by frankprss on 2012.02.10 - 8:10 pm

    You freeze my avatar in the middle of the ocean with a moderation reason for something I didn’t do, then you don’t bother to cancel my subscription for me even after you aren’t providing me a service and then charge me? Appealing the charges with paypal, reporting to BBB. Terrible game

    • #51 by Michael Wilson on 2012.02.11 - 6:20 am

      We’ll figure out who the Avatar is, cancel the subscription (if you haven’t already done so), and refund any monies paid to date.

      • #52 by William on 2012.02.11 - 1:54 pm

        won’t be sorry to see this one go … have only had one encounter with him and it was one of the most offensive ever in my history in There

      • #53 by Michael Wilson on 2012.02.11 - 3:01 pm

        The funds have either been refunded via PayPal or will be shortly.

    • #54 by SaltySilver on 2012.02.13 - 11:38 am

      I would think the responsibility would fall on the holder of the PayPal account. It is a monthly charge until you quit. It’s nice that There.com refunded your money.

    • #55 by Detested_X on 2012.02.20 - 8:06 am

      My account was suspended as well and for age verification, there is no way for me to verify my age and it has charged me twice since I have been suspended. I don’t Is there any way I can cancel my subscription so it wont keep charging me for a game I cant play?

      Sincerely – Detested_X

  21. #59 by lilsneekie on 2012.02.10 - 3:43 pm

    dear mw ive tried to log in after they reset my password but it wont let me it says the avi or the password is incorrect could u have some one email me plz on how to fix this my email is stizzyhartman@ymail.com ty

    • #60 by Greenie on 2012.02.11 - 12:12 pm

      Hi lilsneekie, All customer service type issues should be addressed via email to feedback@thereinc.com as per the resurrection email instructions. It is never wise to post your email address in open forums and/or blogs. Try to make sure that you type in your password letter and character one at a time. Sometimes copy/pasting will put in a space in front and/or back of the password and cause your password to be unrecognizeable as YOUR password. I’ve done this… oiy! When you do get in, it is a good idea to save your password somewhere safe. I forget mine more often than I remember them. Double Oiy!

  22. #61 by superdale on 2012.02.10 - 2:42 pm

    i seen a lot hoods droped by my old one im waitin for mine too be droped how can thay drop it if its in my things

    • #62 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.12 - 9:12 am

      What’s in your inventory isn’t the actual ‘hood, it’s the deed — just as if you rent a house, you don’t carry the house around with you, but you have a deed that shows in your inventory.

  23. #63 by tommy roberson on 2012.02.09 - 2:43 am

    can someone help me i cant login to there.com..my old avie doesnt work…remember how heartbreaking it was for you to wait well im going threw the same thing i just want to meet new friends and find my old ones…please help thanks dallasuy_102

    • #64 by AgapeLove on 2012.02.10 - 5:17 am

      “Tommy” I was kind of hesitant to help you, as I like to wait for someone that knows more what their talking about to do that. In the past, if in my enthusiasm to be helpful, I have given wrong information, and seen people’s replies to that effect, it made me feel like crawling under a rock! I then tell myself that I won’t post on this site again, but then keep doing so and opening myself up for whatever! I suppose that I am a “glutton for punishment”!

      But when I don’t see anyone helping someone that asks for it, it sort of tears me up inside, although I’m sure that you have probably been receiving help through email which I have no knowledge about. Although my nephew has had no luck recovering his “Combat bob” avatar and is also getting very frustrated! He tells me he is willing to pay an extra fee if someone will just help him!

      The web site below is what I sent him, and what you have probably already tried, but in case you haven’t, you might want to try that first. And yes There.com virtual world is open, and I hope that you are able to get on soon!
      Good Luck ,Agape’
      http://webapps.prod.there.com/scripts/legacy.py

    • #65 by Orielle Thereian on 2012.02.10 - 8:24 pm

      First off did you go to There.com and click on “Invite me NOW!” and have an invite sent to you? And then after you received your invite did you create a new avie using your old name and password? If not then go to http://www.there.com and where it says “Claiming an old avatar? Just create a NEW one, using your old avatar name and password. Currently accepting registrations for 18+. By invitation only. Invite me NOW!” click on “Invite me NOW!” You NEED to follow the instructions EXACTLY.

  24. #66 by tommy roberson on 2012.02.09 - 2:27 am

    is there.com up and running yet..im having problems with my old avie name and password…im in tears right now i want to see my old friends and meet new ones so someone please let me know whats going on i cant wait to ride my hoverboard and talk with my old buddies..thanks bye

  25. #67 by 12mandy on 2012.02.08 - 7:28 pm

    hoods are being resurrected they have droped one hood then they wait a day or two,then drop another few,and pause see if everything turns out ok
    if its ok then they will start dropping all hoods thats being claimed,so its very good news for hood owners, and all thanks to samsyn and michael and
    whole crew for all hard work put into this ,

  26. #68 by DodgeBoy101 on 2012.02.08 - 5:46 am

    Why is it we can only use paypal?

    • #69 by Andy on 2012.02.09 - 1:48 am

      Because at the present time its the only payment method available

    • #70 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.12 - 9:16 am

      “Why” is because it costs There the least, in total operating cost. PayPal’s fees are pretty low, and they don’t require There to maintain a specific type of secure server in order to store credit card numbers (or threaten to cut off their service due to too many charge backs). Even better, they do a pretty good job of prescreening users for age, so There doesn’t have to spend a lot of effort on that (they still have to ban an avatar for an under age user from time to time, but at least they don’t have to run a full age verification service), and they manage the monthly subscription processing.

      Lowering costs (in this case, fees, server costs, and staff salaries related to age verification and child protection) is one of the main keys to operating at a profit instead of a loss.

  27. #71 by Mr_Perry on 2012.02.07 - 3:04 pm

    How do I pay for the bloody subscription. have tried 10 times keep getting message that seller only accepts payments from confirmed paypal accounts Paypal has verified my account is confirmed and working perfectly.
    There.com will still not accept my payments
    what is up with this.
    just tell me what I need to do
    this is maddeining!!!!
    pay everything else with paypal with no problem.

    • #72 by Sassybeme There on 2012.02.07 - 8:11 pm

      @ Mr_Perry
      If I were you, I’d call paypal directly to see what is the problem. I found them to be extremely helpful.

    • #73 by WizardK on 2012.02.08 - 4:59 am

      Make sure your adress in pay pal is same one you have in your acount in there i had that problem to good luck

    • #74 by DodgeBoy101 on 2012.02.08 - 5:49 am

      I’m having the same problem. Not sure what’s up with it, but it wont let me pay the subsciption fee, no matter what I do. I’ll get some friends that use paypal every second of the day to help, just hope its something with paypal and not There. (will update if need be)

    • #75 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.12 - 9:18 am

      PayPal’s documentation states they only accept subscriptions on accounts with a linked credit card. Experience suggests they may also accept subscriptions for accounts with linked checking, but they certainly won’t set up a sub on an account that operates only from PayPal balance or prepaid card funding — too likely to leave PayPal holding the bag for bad charges already paid to the service subscribed, and PayPal NEVER gets left holding the bag (they’ve got around fifteen years experience in reducing their risk on this).

  28. #76 by justagreatguy on 2012.02.06 - 9:11 pm

    Is the fun times still going to be here for us to read and updated at anytime?

    http://www.therefuntimes.com/there_fun_times/

  29. #77 by shezbanjo on 2012.02.05 - 2:23 pm

    thanks for the update 🙂

  30. #78 by Sleestak on 2012.02.05 - 2:10 pm

    anyone know how to transfer realestate, we tried to transfer a zone and all i got was a generic deed with no connection to the zone.

    • #79 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.06 - 3:09 am

      We’ve been specifically asked not to try to transfer neighborhoods (neighborhood *lots* should work okay); other than that, for something like a funzone or frontier zone, you have to transfer (auction, give, trade, etc.) the deed, and then *the recipient has to pay the first month’s rent* (this should prompt immediately on trasfer). If the recipient hasn’t got the T-bucks for the rent, I think the transfer would fail (have never actually tried this; never had the budget to buy a funzone)

      If that’s not the way it worked, e-mail to feedback@thereinc.com is indicated — include the object ID of the deed and/or original name of the zone, as well as both avatar names.

    • #80 by WizardK on 2012.02.08 - 5:01 am

      look good for a second one in your invintory when i did it i had two icons for my zone after use the one has configer on it good luck

  31. #81 by Mooly on 2012.02.05 - 6:16 am

    Which time zone is the time shown? And will this graph be available to us from now on?
    Thanks!

    • #82 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.05 - 7:53 am

      Based on the location of the daily maintenance gap, it appears to be in Pacific Standard Time — six hours behind GMT. I’m not an insider, but given it requires no further effort from There staff now that the program that generates it is running, I’d expect it to remain available as long as it’s wanted/needed.

  32. #83 by Mr_Perry on 2012.02.05 - 5:50 am

    I will be adding my blip to the graph in the next day or two….can’t wait!

  33. #84 by petal on 2012.02.05 - 1:24 am

    There is working fine me , we actually got two full tables of card players last night. So good to see old friends and looking forward to more returning .
    CPR was a success last night too according to my friend ,
    Jane Austen

  34. #85 by justme on 2012.02.04 - 7:30 pm

    Unfortunately it has become common place that any time anyone voices an opinion about the current flaws in game, they are jumped on immediately and bombarded with “they are doing their best!” and other lovely cliche lines. Yes, we know there are only a handful of employees contributing to the game as of present, and we know these things take time etc etc etc etc etc etc, but the minute someone pays for a service, they are entitled to have an opinion regarding that service, positive or negative.

    I have nothing against MW or Samsyn personally, and I am grateful to them for resurrecting a great game and RECOGNIZE the financial leap of faith they took, and the risk involved in taking that leap HOWEVER, I do believe they failed somewhere along the line in the execution.

    The truth of the matter is they had a year to determine whether or not they would re-open and if so, how they would go about making that happen. I think they jumped the gun by opening the doors before they had a tangible deadline in place let alone a game plan. It doesn’t cost anything to have your ducks in a row and to have laid out a blueprint as to how and when they would tackle each obstacle on the road to reopening. I do regret buying my subscription when I did, and honestly wish I would have waited until the game was out of the beta stage. I believe that they underestimated how much work they had ahead of them and did not have the financial means to employ a reasonable staff in order to live up to their end of the subscription. I have repeatedly tried to contact staff for various glitches and issues, and many times gone ignored. I have close friends who have legitimate cases for wrongful banning who have been all but told to GTFO.

    I do think the staff has an air of arrogance, and seem to be annoyed at the prospect of having to actually deal with their customers. It was only a few short months ago that we were being treated like a valued component to the success of the resurrection of There.com and today I feel as though if your lips aren’t superglued to MW or Samsyns tushies, you’re a nuisance.

    They have made mistakes along the way, this has taken far too long, and the attitude displayed by staff AND members alike, is more than a little irritating. That’s one opinion anyways.

    Attack me all you want but the truth of the matter is that I have contributed a decent amount of money to this game ( a lot for me at least ) and I feel that earned me the right to put in my 2 cents so to speak.

    Hats off to you guys for the work you HAVE put in, but I believe you could have approached and executed this endeavor far more efficiently.

    • #86 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.05 - 7:48 am

      I think the plan as currently being executed is, overall, very well made and well applied. Priorities have been laid out and made public, and money collection opened as soon as practical to minimize financial burden on the investors (December and January resulted in only a thousand dollars or so loss each month, instead of above $37,000 for November). Additional money producers are currently prioritized (there’s a test ‘hood out now, on Frosty — Candy Cane Lane — which bodes well for increasing cash flow past the break even point soon).

      Revisiting bans, restoring avatars whose owners lack any of the information required to do so automatically, and other low-volume, low-return activities are being held back until the money is flowing enough to allow spending time/money on things that don’t immediately affect profit and loss. Even so, some significant (and pretty old) bugs have been fixed (like the memory leak in teleports, which has existed for at least five or six years).

      Yes, paying customers have a right to an opinion — but (especially in a well-communicated “paying beta test” situation such as we have now) I don’t think they have a right to expect their singular problems to be prioritized above getting the overall world to the point of making some level of profit instead of losing money every month. FWIW, I don’t see the “they’re doing the best they can” responses as jumping on anyone, more reminding people that this isn’t Ford Motor Company or Kraft Foods they’re dealing with; it’s a game company that closed for lack of profits almost two years ago and is struggling back to operation and profitability with a staff count below five. If they had to meet the standards you put forth before letting anyone back into the world, they’d have had to stay closed — and I bet even you don’t want that.

    • #87 by Cassiie32 on 2012.02.05 - 1:34 pm

      Well.. I got to the injustice of those Banned, I realised even though you’re a paying fellow therian, that allowing you an opinion sounds risky.

      To quote you.. ‘legitimate cases’, ‘air of arrogance’ and talk of how they failed! As though staff aren’t busy as it is, you seem to have an illusion that they don’t have the ‘ducks in a row’ ..sorry but I’ve seen update after update regarding upcoming changes and fixes and dates of such to come, right from the start..

      I think your comment had a masquerade, and that you are, or partner to a member who is banned, whether you have managed to gain access or not.

      An appropriate quote here.. ‘I pity the fool!’

    • #88 by William on 2012.02.06 - 10:03 am

      Is it just me or has anyone else noticed that the big complainers almost without fail seemed to be linked to a ban?

      One thing I’m fed up with is people mentioning that they spend sooooo much money on There – complain all you want – but you lose people when you expect preferential treatment and remarks like that are nothing but an attempt to gain that. Sure we’re all entitled to our opinions, but posting them here means you might get a response you don’t like – suck it up, or don’t post if you can’t take people not agreeing with you or not liking what you’ve posted.

      Don’t like what’s going on, nobody is forcing you to stay and play in There or to post of Micheal’s Blog.

      I think they’re doing a crackerjack job and I have the maturity of patience to endure the time until it’s up and running at full speed Never having created, opened, or operated a public virtual world, I don’t know how I could see it any other way. I pay, I play, and I send in information on any issues I discover. That’s kind of what it’s all about right now. And if I wasn’t happy about it, I’m a big boy, I’d buck up and just go do something else.

  35. #89 by BaphNagi on 2012.02.04 - 5:41 pm

    Oh this graph is current, showing the last 24 hours, and being updated hourly!!

    This I was unaware of the first time I viewed it.. Nice touch!

    Still seems to me a tad scant on numbers of folx actualy inworld tho.. I rather expect that will change upwards once things get opened up fully…

    Onwards!

    …..Baphnagi…..
    (also Steve987 fer a couple more weeks before he is stripped and retired)

  36. #90 by Okalnix on 2012.02.04 - 2:31 pm

    Thank you for this graph info on people online.
    Its good to see that people have instesting in the game and stil growing.
    Its not needed to give every day or week the info but a basic 1 time a month woot be great.
    I am happy that you share info to the people so the know how there.com go and give them there trust back.
    For me the game is very good also the people I have see and chat are friently.
    Oke we need to have some fix here and there but its oke.
    Thank you for the open share info.
    Good work with your team.

    Go Go team ))

  37. #91 by fulkenstien on 2012.02.04 - 1:07 pm

    i looked pretty hard at that graph and i couldnt reconize anyone i knew.thought i saw someone but it was just a smudge on my computer screen.

  38. #92 by Wizzle on 2012.02.04 - 11:43 am

    This is very useful, and good to know people are in world!

    This isn’t really relevant to the topic, but i’m not completely sure where to put it, but:

    Will there be a neighbourhood lot around the Old Waterin’ hole (caldeira)? There is currently one there owned by “there_rental” and I was wondering if it was going to be a permanent fixture?

    Great job with everything so far guys! Things are getting better by the day 🙂

  39. #93 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.04 - 10:33 am

    Six thousand plus members, and less than 200 online at a time, at peak time on Friday evening. No wonder the world seems empty… 😉 Fortunately, it’s the number of monthly subs (plus upcoming ‘hoods and Developer income) that determines whether There makes a profit, and therefore stays open, but I’d swear there were more people online concurrently the week after subscriptions started than this week (at least during times I was able to get on).

    The world is working better for me than it did for a couple years before closing — which must have been due to my old router getting flaky; my computer upgrade (to dual core/2.5 GHz, 2 GB RAM, and slightly more modern video) was three years ago (more than a year before closing), and didn’t improve There operation a bit at the time. I was able to complete last night’s Cross Country Race, at top speed, without any problems (though running it on Motu Motu probably helped me there; I still get lagged and memory-starved if I have to drive or fly through Duda Beach). Soon-upcoming video upgrade should help render lag a bit, too, and let me run DX9… 🙂

    • #94 by Michael Wilson on 2012.02.04 - 11:26 am

      Where did you get “six thousand plus”? It’s 1600+.

      The rule of thumb is approximately 5-10% of a given population will be “active”, and out of that, expect 5-10% to be online at any one time.

      I’d say we’re beating those odds.

      And that’s with auto-logoff in place (I need to double check that).

      • #95 by NathanAvis on 2012.02.04 - 7:51 pm

        Hey MW I think the info comes from the people search. Right now it shows approx or over 8000 “returners” since you went open beta. However understandably that doesn’t represent how many people have decided to subscribe, how many singular accounts (not alts) that takes into consideration. A LOT of people came back just to get their last taste of There or get a go before they would get booted (kids).

        I have a few mates wanting to join. And I was curious, on average the peak is 200 members. Say if There was to get very popular again would we be booted off if there were too many people in world at any given time? Considering things like Dr. Phil Day, I would hope not!

      • #96 by Michael Wilson on 2012.02.04 - 8:32 pm

        Oh! Remember, our numbers are subscribed Avatars, which of course, don’t include those who came back and didn’t subscribe. And that includes some former banned members who we let get in for a bit before we fixed that problem. And, as you mentioned, other folks.

        So yes, some confusion there.

        As for the “too many people” that was a temporary measure as we made sure the new Cloud Servers would work as expected. I don’t expect you’d see those issues again, but then, I never expected to be on Dr. Phil, either!

      • #97 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.05 - 7:36 am

        Woops, you’re right, I read the previous blog and misplaced the six — that makes <200 peak concurrent logins look like a more reasonable figure: a bit more than 10% of current subs logged in concurrently, at peak, average close to half that figure — yes, that's significantly better than the expected .25% to 1% from the rule of thumb. Seems likely that's because we don't have much if any "inactive" population with subscriptions becoming a requirement so recently.

      • #98 by Rakja on 2012.02.07 - 6:18 am

        Oh yeah, Dr. Phil…is he back in world yet. Ha ha!

        Are you planning on visiting the show again once you re-open to the public. Might I suggest maybe visiting Ellen? Lest we become too “Jerry Springer”.

        =^.^=

      • #99 by tommy roberson on 2012.02.09 - 2:30 am

        michael wilson i need help logging in..how do i get my old avie back please help dallasguy_102…thanks

  40. #100 by Jimmy Kluding (@LegionNinja) on 2012.02.04 - 10:05 am

    very interesting, but I don’t get how that graph works.
    -SonicWarriorXP

    • #101 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.05 - 7:38 am

      The vertical dimension is how many avatars are logged in at any given time (colors indicating how long various avatars had been logged in at that time); the horizontal is time, 24 hours wide (there’s always the pink-bordered yellow stripe for daily maintenance, of course) — and the graph is either generated for each request, or more likely updated every quarter hour or so, so “now” is at the right end of the graph.

      • #102 by Jimmy Kluding (@LegionNinja) on 2012.02.05 - 10:22 am

        Thank you for clearing that up. I was never good at resding graphs.
        -SonicWarriorXP

      • #103 by SaltySilver on 2012.02.06 - 2:54 pm

        Question, I’m confused on the color coding. I see purple, orange and blue (3 colors) with 9 different time slots.
        Which is which on the Graph?

  41. #104 by soede on 2012.02.04 - 9:06 am

    GRAPHS!!!! *Drool*

  42. #105 by DodgeBoy101 on 2012.02.04 - 8:01 am

    Dear Mr. Wilson,
    I have tried and tried to get There to re-download. And it always come’s up as an error message at the end of every instillation. Please let me know how I can fix this problem. Thankyou!

    • #106 by Namron Therian on 2012.02.04 - 8:13 pm

      I’m sorry that you are having trouble with the download. I’m not from Makena, but it might help them help you if you could provide some more information, such as your avatar name, your computer’s OS and the error message you are getting.

    • #107 by ImageMaker on 2012.02.05 - 7:30 am

      The most common cause of this kind of failure is corruption of the installed files; the most likely source of that corruption is an antivirus program in operation during installation. Try temporarily disabling your AV software while you install (don’t forget to re-enable it, and set there.exe as having permission to make internet connections, once the install is completed). You might also need to do something similar with a software firewall; most are okay, but some may prevent the client from connecting to make the final update check at the end of installation.

      • #108 by DodgeBoy101 on 2012.02.06 - 11:37 am

        Thankyou both for trying to help me. I finially got it to work later that day. 🙂 I will me trying to get on either later today or tomorrow. If I run into anymore problems, I’ll re-post somewhere on this update or what ever the new update shall be. 🙂
        Here’s how i fixed my problem. It must have been something on my computer stopping it cuz I did the by-pass system run on it and it worked. ( http://webapps.there.com/download/ ) – Security settings preventing ‘Get_There’ from fetching the 3D client? You can directly fetch the installer here.
        It was the by-pass version (that doesnt play the music and play music) So if anyone else had that problem, there ya go! 🙂

  43. #109 by NathanAvis on 2012.02.04 - 7:43 am

    Who’s in There? Definitely not Margot and Bankrupt ahahaha!!! 😀

  44. #110 by Sue M on 2012.02.04 - 6:23 am

    I am so happy to be back in There! I think the Phoenix team is doing an awesome job and so far my There experience has been quite pleasurable. Please keep up the good work!

    Missmerry

    • #111 by IMAKOS on 2012.02.06 - 8:16 pm

      Welcome Home, Have Fun !!!

  45. #112 by Soledadnegativa on 2012.02.03 - 6:56 pm

    Interesting

    Thanks for the update.

  46. #113 by McKensy on 2012.02.03 - 5:27 pm

    Very nice indeed. Thx 🙂

Leave a Reply

