March Revenue

March was GREAT month for us:

Subscriptions: $15,440
TB Sales: $35,223
Gross Income: $50,663

Good numbers.

I’m almost done updating the “Operating Costs” page, but that’s about 10K-15K in profit. We will use that money to (a) set aside for a cash cushion, or (b) pay for more support/community support for when we open to the public.

Opening to the General Public

Bruce and Samsyn have been working to suck the Help articles out of the old Fuze Database and get them back into the “old” format. That’s a little tricky since Fuze not only contained articles, they also contained user-generated comments and replies to the articles. We can’t just toss all the data in the old Fuze system – some of it was very useful – so this is a worthwhile exercise. Once that’s done, we’ll figure out what’s still missing and fill the gaps.

OSX Port

Don’t get me started. I’m dealing with a switch from Carbon to Cocoa, and an upgrade of Qt to 4.8.1, and who knows what else. GL_INVALID_FRAMEBUFFER_OPERATION is all I will say right now, which is annoying because I’m not even USING frame buffers.

Developer Tools

I will see if SamSyn can get them built for download. I know lots of people would like to start using them.

That’s all for today!

  1. #1 by Cellophane Thereian on 2012.04.15 - 10:05 am

    I’d like to say, way back here in the shadows of the underbrush as I sit and gobble my slop in a place no one is really giving any mind to- that I personally appreciate ANY attention you’re giving to OSX. I’m just about ready to pack up my old Sony and ship it off to Papa so that he can repair my power cord port so that I can JUST GET BACK IN ALREADY AND TO HELL WITH MY HESITATIONS AND BEGIN TO CONTRIBUTE BOTH AESTHETICALLY AND FINANCIALLY TO A VIRTUAL WORLD I BOTH MISS AND CAME TO LOVE. <>

  2. #2 by GreenAngel on 2012.04.12 - 9:09 am

    Great News!!!, waiting for noobies

  3. #3 by Jamie on 2012.04.11 - 7:08 pm

    I am itching for There to open to the public so that my boyfriend can play with me in there (which is everyday). He has the $10…he wants you to take it..come on!! lol 😉

    • #4 by Cellophane Thereian on 2012.04.15 - 10:09 am

      Let’s see… There has been taking in monthly fees for 2-3 months… That is 30$ + my average monthly TBux purchases to resellers plus my reselling those TBux for profit of which at least half I put back into There one way or another… I have some money I’d like to pump into that machine also! I just need a port-fix or OSX. And if I when our stars cross I’d give you and your boyfriend a thumbs up and a high five!

      • #5 by Michael Wilson on 2012.04.15 - 12:38 pm

        “my average monthly TBux purchases to resellers”

        Really? You gonna stick with that story?

  4. #6 by Christy Clendenen on 2012.04.09 - 8:53 am

    Thanks Commander

  5. #7 by fairserenitee on 2012.04.08 - 9:08 am

    Hello! My subscription was accidentally canceled and I just wanted to know how to get it going again. For the life of me, I can’t remember how I started it to begin with….LOL.

    • #8 by ImageMaker on 2012.04.09 - 2:14 am

      At some point, you’ll be challenged when you attempt to log into There 3D world, and you can follow the prompts at that point to reactivate your subscription.

  6. #9 by martin71a on 2012.04.08 - 1:40 am

    hi do we have a date when it will open? and when i drive alot my there.com veiwer crash`s any ideas thx

    martin71

    • #10 by ImageMaker on 2012.04.09 - 2:19 am

      I think most of us have this problem to a greater or lesser extent; there’s at least one known memory or resource handle leak in the client; if I relog and then drive through, say, Duda Beach, my client’s memory footprint will expand from about 450 MB on start to as much as 650 or even 700 MB. At around that point, I start losing frame rate, and shortly thereafter I’ll get the infamous segmentation violation. This happens faster if I have a compass open, whether it’s There’s original compass or Myrmex GPS; without the compass, memory increases only when I travel and view new objects or terrain, while with the compass open, there’s continuous leakage at a rate of around 20 MB per minute.

      The only solution I know of is to watch for warning signs (slow frame rate, screen freezes) and relog when they start to show.

  7. #11 by martin71a on 2012.04.08 - 1:37 am

    are we close to a date when it will open fully ? and when we drive all over witch i like doing the viewer crash`s any idea

    thanx

    martin71

  8. #12 by #11 on 2012.04.07 - 7:09 pm

    I have a question and since the link for Customer Support doesn’t work I’ll ask here…If I cancel my subscription for awhile will I loose my stuff?

  9. #15 by Mercuria on 2012.04.07 - 2:34 pm

    *hands prozac to bobo*

    • #16 by IndyLou on 2012.04.08 - 3:22 am

      ROFLACGU 🙂

  10. #17 by Jonathan on 2012.04.07 - 1:26 pm

    Can’t wait for the Mac client. Currently canceled my subscription until that comes. Running with Parallels/VMWare just infuriates me at the moment. Hopefully it’ll be available soon!

  11. #18 by Francis_7 on 2012.04.07 - 8:12 am

    Thank you for the update! Great news on the money front! I am happy the help articles are being revived! I know a lot of people will be excited if they can get thier hands on the developer tools again!

  12. #19 by Kevin Hammett (Kevman95) on 2012.04.07 - 8:02 am

    keep up the good work! Hopefully it all returns to normal soon 🙂

  13. #20 by Mr_Perry on 2012.04.07 - 7:43 am

    still waiting for a reply from feedback@thereinc.com

    • #21 by alan4984 on 2012.04.07 - 9:39 am

      Same here… avatar name: (alan4984)

  14. #22 by bobo on 2012.04.07 - 6:25 am

    why the fuck right about it then dumbass

    • #23 by bobo on 2012.04.07 - 6:28 am

      why the fuck Write about it then dumbass sorry just had my frist cup of coffee and seeing some one wants to ruin there KEEP REFILLS FREE OR ELSE THERE.COM FREE..

      • #24 by Jordan on 2012.04.09 - 10:47 am

        First cup or not, Honestly you should see that There is a business also. They have to have money to keep it up. No money coming in = No There.

  15. #25 by Yozh VisualDelights on 2012.04.07 - 4:14 am

    Yes, that’s great to hear, Michael! ‘tu ‘sunflowerbow
    Cheerio folks (There Staff, all great Thereians), I wish you a Wonderful Day,
    and I see you in There, anytime, anywhere! •♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸★☼

    Yozh
    http://tiny.cc/yozhstributetothere

  16. #26 by Whitelines on 2012.04.06 - 9:18 pm

    Thanks for the update, keep up the good work. Nice to see things are on the up and can’t wait until we’re open to the general public.

  17. #27 by EternalQuasar™ on 2012.04.06 - 8:34 pm

    Good new’s indeed … an now to probably get some flack however I was curious if/when paintball re-fill’s will consistently start charging for refills; with one of my Pb-Gun’s I am receiving free re-fills (no complaints here lol) and another is charging T’s so I figured I would throw the question out there?

  18. #28 by coolnet on 2012.04.06 - 8:29 pm

    Thank you for the update. Looking forward for the mac client. 🙂 Keep up the wonderful work!

Leave a Reply

