Update on new Members

Just a quick update on new members:

. Bruce and Samsyn are working to get the old Fuze-based Help Content back into the system, sans Fuze. As of today, they’ve the “Help” links redirected away from “Fuze”, and a large part of the content imported again.

. The next step is to start “abusing” the Help content to make it more accurate (member program changes, Payment system changes, etc, etc).

. At my request, Dan’s also made a change which cause a “Greeter” or other designation in a name tag to appear ”only” in designated areas.

This means that if we do re-instate a greeter program, “Greeters” will only be “Greeters” in designated areas – in the rest of the world, they’ll be the same as everyone else.

  1. #1 by Sassybeme There on 2012.04.17 - 4:41 pm

    One silly little thing I have always wished for. Was to be able to restart a skill. My favorite would be hoverboard. I think I mastered that way to fast. πŸ™‚
    I don’t want to redo the gifts from the skill. Just redo the skill with my own set of play with it. And just redo the ones you want. There maybe some we don’t want to redo. πŸ™‚
    **Wish List Stuffs**
    Maybe some day before I grow up. πŸ™‚

  2. #2 by tazzerous on 2012.04.16 - 3:34 pm

    So any thoughts on making an alternative method for payment? Thanks

  3. #3 by tazzerous on 2012.04.16 - 3:33 pm

    So are there any thoughts on making another alternative for payment? Thanks

  4. #4 by Jennifer Taylor Waggoner on 2012.04.15 - 7:17 pm

    Thank you mimi06 and ImageMaker for answering my Q about paypal. We shall see tomorrow and Tuesday. πŸ™‚

  5. #5 by SaltySilver on 2012.04.14 - 9:04 am

    Looking forward to having new people in game.

  6. #6 by Jennifer Taylor Waggoner on 2012.04.13 - 9:53 am

    Quik Q here…..my debt/visa card expired and i had to put a new one on the paypal account. This will not affect my avies monthly fees will it? It should still go throu? Thank you Jennyw9wkids

    • #7 by mimi06 on 2012.04.14 - 2:16 pm

      I don’t know alot about paypal but I would assume your fine. I know some that switch types of cards they use thru paypal. good luck. also theres a number in your paypal acct to call if your real concerned πŸ™‚

    • #8 by ImageMaker on 2012.04.15 - 4:39 am

      There should be no problem. Your PayPal remains the same, so Makena gets paid as long as PayPal has a source for funding. All you’ve done is change or update your funding source — that is, told PayPal a new place to look for money when they need to pay Makena on your behalf.

  7. #9 by MademoiselleFifi on 2012.04.13 - 9:50 am

    I would also love to be able to go and meet the new members, hope we can.

  8. #10 by John on 2012.04.13 - 9:06 am

    When will banned accounts with minor causes like cursing be able to get back into the game ?

    • #11 by mimi06 on 2012.04.14 - 2:18 pm

      I believe it’s been said that issue is at or near the bottom of the “things to do”. BUT good news , keep reading and check thumdar because that list has shortened alot!

  9. #12 by xSnoopy on 2012.04.13 - 5:45 am

    Great update and good news about the Greeters.
    This is the second update about “opening” There to the public.
    I know everyone has the same question so I will go ahead and ask it.
    Do you have a date in mind?
    Can you share it with us?
    P L E A S E !

  10. #13 by Stone1 on 2012.04.13 - 3:43 am

    i still can barely move in There world, and have to log out to be ejected from a vehicle. Anyone else have a remedy for that? (be kind lol)

    • #14 by mimi06 on 2012.04.14 - 2:19 pm

      which client you running? some have to switch from dx9 to dx8 or ogl.. check thumdar.com alot post issues there. πŸ™‚

    • #15 by ImageMaker on 2012.04.15 - 4:44 am

      This shouldn’t normally be a big issue, but have you checked your system specs (RAM, clock speed, video, connection speed) against the minimum and recommended specs for the client? What you describe sounds rather like a badly bogged down client, which could happen if you have insufficient processor speed or RAM; less so a poor connection (that will, in my experience, cause things to load poorly or fail to load at all). Generally, I’d expect DX8 to be the lowest load on your graphics, but some folks might need to switch to Open GL — depends on your video hardware and drivers — but again, what you describe isn’t what I’d expect from inadequate graphics, more like what I’d see if you didn’t have enough RAM or processor speed.

  11. #16 by Kontumnam on 2012.04.13 - 3:36 am

    We need new members… its a Ghost town at times… and some of the grumpy old we-where-here-first not so friendly members need to lighten up, don’t understand why only greeter tag in certain areas? either way a good job and well done πŸ™‚

    • #17 by Namron Therian on 2012.04.15 - 9:31 am

      With the change, greeters can get a break from being a greeter without having to pay for another avatar.

  12. #18 by Phil Reinsmith on 2012.04.13 - 12:01 am

    Great Update. Really looking forward to having new people in game. Love Helping the New ones, as a form of repayment for all the help I have received.

  13. #19 by avertedvisionblog on 2012.04.12 - 3:33 pm

    Awesome with the nametags! Thanks for the update

  14. #20 by Elaur on 2012.04.12 - 10:41 am

    I just listed some of my stuff and sold my first item in There 2 within hours. Yay!

  15. #21 by Alan4984 on 2012.04.12 - 8:52 am

    When will you’ll guys process age Verification?

  16. #22 by chipfrodo on 2012.04.12 - 8:36 am

    i think the greeter idea is great and where do I sign up for it lol.

  17. #23 by soede on 2012.04.12 - 7:16 am

    That’s a really good idea with the nametag icons! I’m very interested to see what the designated area lines will be!

  18. #24 by Hype_Dragon on 2012.04.12 - 7:13 am

    Sounds good, “other designations”.. as being Island Guides? I can’t see it affecting Helpers as they should be allowed anywhere in world with there tag. Or is the island guide program finished?

  19. #25 by Christy Clendenen on 2012.04.12 - 6:42 am

    YAY! Excited about new players!!!!
    wikkedbliss : )))

  20. #26 by arbatas on 2012.04.12 - 6:06 am

    This is great! Where will the new comers be landing? I would love to meet and greet them as they land. I really don’t need a greeter tag or do I? I just like welcoming new comers and offering help in any way I can. This is a great update and looking forward to seeing new comers come into world. Thanks MW

    • #27 by Hype_Dragon on 2012.04.15 - 1:50 am

      They will probably land on the WW (Welcome Walkway) it was a new spawn point used before There closed.

      • #28 by arbatas on 2012.04.16 - 6:24 am

        Where is the Welcome walkway? I knew I should’ve landmark that LOL

      • #29 by arbatas on 2012.04.25 - 6:00 am

        Hmmm I never did save the walkway…. Anyone have it landmark?

  21. #30 by arbatas on 2012.04.12 - 6:04 am

    The greeter tag is awesome! And only used in greeting designation. Also where will the new comers be landing? I’d like to be there when they do and offer a hello or some support in any way I can. I really don’t need a greeter tag, I just like to meet and greet. Thanks for the update MW and also looking forward to meeting you in world too πŸ™‚ Stop by Whispering Palm sometime to say hey! πŸ™‚

  22. #31 by mimi06 on 2012.04.12 - 4:04 am

    opps typo! (lack of caffeine) rofl.. that shoudl read. “non greeters will NOT have access to ww” ?

  23. #32 by mimi06 on 2012.04.12 - 4:02 am

    Nice. Love that soon we will be opening the doors. I assume this means non “greeters” will have access to the WW? Do you know if the spawn areas will be the same as before? Some of us would like to be in those spots to help as well. Thanks again for all you do πŸ™‚

    • #33 by Dan Samuel on 2012.04.13 - 4:36 pm

      The “New Welcome Walkway” no longer imposes a permission restriction, so anyone may visit it. The day may come when that is no longer a good idea, but it seems pretty good right now πŸ™‚

      • #34 by mimi06 on 2012.04.14 - 2:21 pm

        Thanks Dan πŸ™‚ The chat instructor and myself have become soul mates πŸ™‚ ‘tu

      • #35 by coolnet on 2012.04.15 - 6:39 pm

        thats my girl friend you been talking to πŸ˜›

  24. #36 by Sassybeme There on 2012.04.12 - 3:29 am

    Like

  25. #37 by Guernseyman on 2012.04.12 - 12:09 am

    I hope that the There Greeters will return as they were a great help, I helped a number of Official There Greeters like Greeter Anna, Greeter Dixie and Greeter Josie(The Boss/Head of the Official There Greeter Group). If the Official There Greeters Group is re-formed will it be a volunteer group or will they be paid?, I was in the very first un-official Greeter group of There which was called Guild of Free Greeters(GoFG’s) which I believe was started in 2004(?) by Soosi and later run by Dalrida who took on the running of the group from Soosi. Since I returned to There I have joined Percy’s Group “The Volunteer Island Guides Group” as I am still keen to help new and old members, with the impending return of the Official There Greeters will the Islands Guides Group also be returning which was run by Greeter Josie?

    • #38 by arbatas on 2012.04.12 - 6:14 am

      With or with out the greeter status, I just hope many players just help a new comer if they need it and not just think if they help they get that greeter status. As I said in a recent reply, (I think anyone should be able to help and meet and greet and not just look to have a star placed nect to there name. Its a community of players helping one another and thats the way it should be)

  26. #39 by NoBioN on 2012.04.11 - 10:08 pm

    Looking much forward to new players. Its easy to feel that there is nothing but old players (not that its a bad thing. But we really need both). Greeter idea is good. Instead of entering a empty walkway. Seeing life and a effort and commitment from the community from day 1. Will give a good impression to new players. And this time it has potentiel to be people that truly wantd to help. And not people looking to pimp their nametag with a star. (all respect to those who did a effort. There were alot of those as well)

    • #40 by arbatas on 2012.04.12 - 6:11 am

      I think anyone should be able to help and meet and greet and not just look to have a star placed nect to there name. Its a community of players helping one another and thats the way it should be. With a star or with out. I did this back in 2008 I just helped and never asked to be a greeter or a star. It was fun and a pleasure to do this. I hope many players think this way and not ask for the star.

      • #41 by xnecroscopex on 2012.04.14 - 10:12 am

        Not everyone thinks the way you do nor are they willing to be as helpful as you are. I’ve personally seen community members haze newcomers and refused to help them. I think it’s important to have an icon next to people’s name tags to attract newcomers’ attention and to let them know that there are people designated in There to help them navigate the program and world. Think about it… who helped you when you first became a newbie? A random stranger or the Island Guides and Greeters? Personally, an IG helped me get situated with the game, not a random person.

      • #42 by arbatas on 2012.04.16 - 6:28 am

        Nope not an IG I just came in and on my way. I think they’res alot of good people in world that loves to help with out a star. I have a shirt that says Im a newbie helper. πŸ™‚ I will continue to help with out a star πŸ™‚ Thank you for your reply.

      • #43 by arbatas on 2012.04.25 - 6:01 am

        Eh its ok we all have our own opinion. I will still help a new comer regardless of a star or not. A few friends have also agree too..

  27. #44 by Coolnet on 2012.04.11 - 10:02 pm

    Thanks for the update. Looking forward to see the help central page working again. It’s very important to have that to help other new members who are having issues in There, they can look at the page as well as finding the answers for them. πŸ™‚

    • #45 by Francis_7 on 2012.04.12 - 5:14 am

      Thank you for the update. I like the greeter nametag idea! Glad that you are working on that even if you don’t use it right away.

Leave a Reply

