Greeters and Island Guides

We’ve had a few internal discussions about “Greeters”, “Island Guide”, and what have you.

We’ve gotten lots of mail from people volunteering to be guides and offering all kinds of help. We appreciate all the interest, even if we didn’t have time to answer each one.

We are very excited so many people are willing to help others out, especially new members. That’s exactly the kind of spirit There needs to survive.

Here are some tentative decisions we’ve made. I’m sure that they will almost all need revision, but you need to start somewhere.

1. There will be a program for “People who would like to hang out in the landing areas and help other members”. For the sake of this post, I will call them “Greeters”.

2. Greeters are VOLUNTEERS. They will have no assigned hours. There will be standards for behavior which we will enforce, but, due to California labor laws, we are very limited as to what we can compel volunteers to do.

3. Those people will have to be approved (by a process TBD), and will have some sort of visual designation (Star in their name tag, etc) while they are in the Landing Areas. The visual designation will NOT show up in the world at large.

4. Greeters will have NO moderation powers of any sort.

5. While we’d love to be able to pay them Greeters will initially be unpaid (which is probably how it should be, anyway). Later we may consider some sort of renumeration, but we have to be very careful since California has very strict labor laws (for good reason).

6. Initially there will be only one Greeter Leader, and they’ll work for There. We don’t want to get all fancy with hierarchies and the like at this point.

7. The Welcome Walkway will be open to all. We’re going to watch this very carefully, and take griefing there very seriously. We don’t want to be all heavy-handed, but for There to succeed, new members have to have a good experience, and people hanging out in the WW to harass new members doesn’t do anyone any good. No does attempting to grief the WW by dropping buggies, doing “Lag Tests” (that was a rich one, I tell you), drop tricking giant pickles, etc, etc.

(Those of you who think I’m being to mean and think we should allow griefing in the WW, raise your hands now).

That’s the start. As with everything else, we’re going to take this slowly and figure it out as we go along. It will take a little time before we’re happy enough with the First Visit Experience to start thinking about advertising, etc, so you can appreciate us taking the time to get it right.

  1. #1 by Elaur on 2012.05.04 - 8:13 am

    I’m glad the WW is going to be open to all!

    It’s great seeing the facebook pics of There 2.0 that people keep posting ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. #2 by mimi06 on 2012.04.27 - 11:20 am

    About the WW. Will there be card tables set up? Also, I notice the dog playground, as well as the signs with commands, wondered if “dropping dogs”, will be allowed? I know that it’s probably far to soon but another suggestion, maybe in those far cornors some sort of seating. I Love the BIG cake in the center! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #3 by mimi06 on 2012.04.27 - 11:27 am

      Mights well toss this in too for the WW. rofl dance floor? music? Looks so bare up there lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. #4 by GreenAngel on 2012.04.26 - 11:07 pm

    Add me also to be a greeter, yeah

  4. #5 by JasonMK on 2012.04.24 - 9:01 am

    Keep up the great work!

  5. #6 by Mr_Perry on 2012.04.23 - 11:05 pm

    Please put me on the list of potential volunteer greeters.
    thank you.

  6. #7 by maverickfred on 2012.04.23 - 3:39 am

    hi every one we could make that island off the ww island guide island lol

  7. #8 by okalnix on 2012.04.22 - 12:34 pm

    Themeday event April Showers
    Have fun to watch it.

    Looking great to have indeed geeters to help the New members.
    Thank for the update.

  8. #9 by MovieQuest on 2012.04.21 - 6:47 pm

    Michael Wilson , not sure whether you still read most/all the comments on here or if you are too busy (understandable) , but I just wanted to let you know that , while too young to join There (yet) , I wish you the best of luck with There and couldn’t be happier you are (finally ๐Ÿ˜› ) Making a profit on it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. #10 by SaltySilver on 2012.04.21 - 8:56 am

    Such exciting news! It’s great to see so many here wanting to get back their IG roots. I still consider myself a perpetual IG and will continue the persuit..(if allowed) ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. #11 by alexandria3178 on 2012.04.19 - 5:42 am

    By the way. I am sticking my hand way up to be one. As I type this. I am standing on the walkway just waiting for anyone to arrive. LOL

  11. #12 by alexandria3178 on 2012.04.19 - 5:39 am

    My 2 bits. There are many previous IG who are in world, and I for one still hang out at the WW to see if former members still returning might need assistance, and there have been many who did. If you are looking for an official volunteer core group of volunteers, i should suggest that you would look to at least those who were senior Island Guides on the past, as these people have proven in the past their dedication and willingness to assist new members and will likely continue to do this in the future.

  12. #13 by rip on 2012.04.18 - 3:59 pm

    lol

    • #14 by Hoverbiker on 2012.04.21 - 8:35 am

      Hey, cool, check that out, a three letter abbreviation! How interesting that it’s all alone, leaving us all to ponder as to just exactly what the author is “laughing out loud” at. I myself, however, have now lost all interest. Well, except to present you with this little gift of an even shorter abbreviation . . . FO.

  13. #18 by Hoverbiker on 2012.04.18 - 7:13 am

    I believe that it was mentioned a while back that Samsyn had discovered how to change nametag colors when he was resurrecting avies. I suggest that you allow new members the option to choose their nametag color. It may not seem like much to some, but I bet to a lot it’s fairly important.

  14. #19 by Hoverbiker on 2012.04.18 - 7:08 am

    I believe it was mentioned a while back that Samsyn had discovered a way to change nametag colors when he was resurrecting avies. I suggest that you allow new members the option to choose their nametag color. It may not seem like much to some, but I bet to a lot of peepz it is fairly important. Anyway, just my humble suggestion.

  15. #20 by martin71a on 2012.04.18 - 12:49 am

    count me in to be a IG again

  16. #21 by Koala Thereian on 2012.04.17 - 10:01 pm

    Very cool to here that I enjoyed the time I spent as an Island Guide, would love to help out some more, so count me in as a volunteer.

  17. #22 by martin71a on 2012.04.17 - 9:52 pm

    count me in i would like to be a greeter again in the uk will they be a weekly report so we could send it back to you or member of staff.? for how it went and for under age , gref ect..

    • #23 by mimi06 on 2012.04.18 - 7:16 am

      hey hi martin! The way I read this is that if and when the program is implemented, “greeters/guides” will only be to help out new members. Probably won’t be like the old guide system, no sign ins or logged info. or tgms lol.. “greeters/guides” won’t have any moderation powers. so I suspect if some thing or someone goes wrong greeter/guide will click the “report abuse” button when thats fixed. we’ll have to wait and see and play it by ear. I think it’s still all a work in progress ๐Ÿ™‚

      • #24 by martin71a on 2012.04.18 - 8:23 am

        yea it does sound abit like the old way thats one thing i hated is doing the logged info so it would be great helpin new members again and lending buggys on plaza and fisher… ๐Ÿ™‚

      • #25 by mimi06 on 2012.04.18 - 1:07 pm

        My thinking is: it won’t be like the old way. But at least new members will log in and be greeted with info if they so desire it. More then likely, they’ll will be anxious to learn, explore and have fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. #26 by LauraGenia on 2012.04.17 - 4:39 pm

    ‘handup. I would love to volunteer again. Yay! Looking forward to helping newcomers – it’s so important especially the first visits to have friendly, helpful people available. Let me know what I can do help.

  19. #27 by Elizabeth on 2012.04.17 - 11:27 am

    I am happy to help new members out. I always enjoyed that. Of course, so much has changed over the years!

  20. #28 by Christy Clendenen on 2012.04.17 - 9:25 am

    I would LOVE to volunteer, it’s not like I have a job or anything LOL And I LOVE new people ๐Ÿ™‚
    wikkedbliss

  21. #29 by Jordan on 2012.04.17 - 9:10 am

    Welll I’m going to probably going to see all you volanteers sometime in the future. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #30 by mimi06 on 2012.04.21 - 3:03 am

      ‘waves @ Jordan. You have been the most patient young man! I can’t wait for you to have your big day. Keep smiling, won’t be that long. Hope I am the first to hug you in world ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. #31 by arbatas on 2012.04.17 - 6:15 am

    This is great! Its like a new beginning, I would love to be a volunteer GREETER Sign me up! (Arbata) Looking forward to meeting new comers and welcoming them into There.

  23. #32 by Francis_7 on 2012.04.17 - 5:06 am

    “Greeter Leader” Sounds a lot like a Cyberman designation! Oh yeah I too want to help out and greet new people again!

  24. #33 by chipfrodo on 2012.04.17 - 3:32 am

    This is getting better with each post can’t wait until there opens to the public. I would love to volunteer and help new members get started in there.com can anyone send me information on this. Thanks and you all are doing a great job, Thank you

  25. #34 by mimi06 on 2012.04.17 - 2:39 am

    Thank You for taking the time to let us know where we stand in this issue ๐Ÿ™‚ Will be a great site on the WW, to have some willing folks to greet the new members. Also this will certainly bring a smile to the “chat intructors face”. rofl.. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • #35 by mimi06 on 2012.04.17 - 4:05 am

      site? rofl sight……………… I must remember to wait till coffee has competely got into my brain..

  26. #36 by Teresa Henry on 2012.04.17 - 1:49 am

    smiles Love the idea of caring ppl being there for our new members sighning up ๐Ÿ™‚ maby one day i can come help out too ๐Ÿ˜€ !

  27. #37 by Guernseyman on 2012.04.17 - 12:44 am

    You can add me to the Volunteer Greeter list if your doing a list for Volunteer Greeters, I’m looking forward to helping our new members on the Walk Way. “Guernseyman from Channel Islands (UnitedKingdom)”

  28. #38 by Basya on 2012.04.16 - 11:05 pm

    I’ve been a greeter in several different worlds and even beame an Island Guide just a month or so before There closed. I look forward to being a greeter once again and donning my IG clothes once again! Also, I think it a good idea to keep the WW open to all.

  29. #39 by GaryBob on 2012.04.16 - 10:15 pm

    This is great news! I always wished the Welcome Walkway would be public. It will make it so much easier to help friends from other places/real life when they finally cave and try out There.

  30. #40 by Fallax on 2012.04.16 - 9:48 pm

    Nice to see new people will have friendly folk to meet them and help them begin their There adventure.

  31. #41 by Ray Khechen on 2012.04.16 - 8:27 pm

    I am very intererested in in being a greeter or a guide. I was a perpetual guide when There closed it’s doors. I really enjoy helping people and would like the oportunity to be able to help new members once again.

  32. #42 by Francis_7 on 2012.04.16 - 7:19 pm

    I could have sworn the only type of vehicle that you could even have on the walkway was a specific type of hoverpack… Great to hear there will be one more there employee! I think greeting new people is a great activity and I look forward to volunteering agian soon! Thank you for the update agian!

    • #43 by SaltySilver on 2012.04.21 - 8:41 am

      Francis, It was the Yellow Bumblebee hoverpack.

  33. #44 by maverickfred on 2012.04.16 - 7:18 pm

    great idear MW . I was a senior island guide . Its inportant that people feel safe in THERE and they get the help .I love working with new members in helping them to understand what There is like. Becouse im in australia the defrent time zones im in hear when you and the USA AND UROPE ARE ASLEEP . I love to help WHERE I CAN .

  34. #45 by Deleight on 2012.04.16 - 6:56 pm

    Awesome! I enjoyed the near two years I spent as an Island Guide before. Always enjoy helping members out… so glad to hear there will be an official group again ๐Ÿ™‚

  35. #46 by coolnet on 2012.04.16 - 6:52 pm

    Thank you for the update. I’m glad there will be some sort of island guide. I love working with new members in helping them to understand what There is like. I had my own experience of being confused and with the greeters and island guides helping me I chose to sign up as an island guide to repay the help I received as well as teaching new members what we have in-world.

    Thank you.

  36. #47 by MademoiselleFifi on 2012.04.16 - 6:46 pm

    I would like to be a Greeter and be there to welcome new members.

Leave a Reply

