April Numbers and More!

April Numbers:

Income (this period) from all AvMans
Subscriptions: $15,040
TB Sales: $27,157 (avg $27.85/purchase, $905.23/day)
Gross Income: $42,197

As you can see, these numbers are a tad lower than last month. While this is not what we want, it’s by no means the end of the world. More on that later.

Open to the Public

Thanks to Samsyn, Bruce, Mackie, and all of you – especially our new “Greeters” – There is now open to the public again. Again thanks to everyone, things have gone swimmingly, and we’re getting about 2X as many subscriptions per day as before. Of course, there’s a certain amount of pent-up demand, so we shouldn’t hang our hat on those numbers just yet.

By the way, we noticed that when members landed in Zona, Fisher, or Paiz, you ended up loading thousands of assets – assets required to render the PAZs placed just outside those Zones. In the Old There, we had one-way zones placed over those areas so this wouldn’t happen, so we had SamSyn place them again. I know that some people would prefer people could see those PAZs, but the experience is just too poor for new users. I’m not sure that means people should move their PAZs – they’re just as nice once you get there whether you can see them from the landing areas or not.

Hood Financial Crises

As I discussed on Thumdar’s site, I think we have a little Financial Crises going on with Hoods. I think that everyone was so excited about their hoods being available again, they went ahead and reclaimed them, without thinking through the cost issues.

In the old There, when we has a much larger population, it made economic sense to have all these hoods active, since there were renters to support them.

Now, with a smaller population, not all hoods can be filled to capacity. In fact, the ratio of hoods to members is huge right now, so much so that unless hood owners start renting from each other, there’s no way they’ll have a decent occupancy. Of course, as we get more members, this problem will ease. Even then, we have to accept the fact that there is a new economy in play here and some people may not be able to afford to run hoods on their own. One of the things I’ve asked SamSyn to explore is the ability to create a “Decorators Club” for each hood, owned by the hood owner, by which the owner could give trusted friends co-decorating rights to the hood. As long as people can get along, this might it easy for hood owners to join forces, and create one profitable hood where 2 or 3 unprofitable hoods existed before.

It’s been suggested that There “do something” for the hood owners such as subsidize them in some way. We’re not going to do that – it sets a very bad precedent, and once we start “subsidizing” it will never stop. Anyone familiar with the last real-life subprime mortgage crises will know exactly what I’m talking about.

What’s Next

I’ve asked SamSyn to look into 3 smaller things while we work on resurrecting the Developer program:

  • Hood Co-Decorating Privileges (see above)
  • Ideas for a “Trial” program in case that becomes an issue
  • A “Who Dropped Me” Tag/Information Item so we tell who dropped a particular object where. I think that implementing this will help deter people from grie… inadvertently dropping things inconsiderately.

I’m sure that other things will come up that we have to attend to, but that’s today’s small update!

  1. #1 by knighthawk101 on 2012.05.26 - 1:54 am

    any idea how long another payment option other than paypal would be available. 2 avies right here just waiting.

  2. #2 by sam420 on 2012.05.12 - 11:10 am

    You just need to put more money into the game and advertise Mr. Wilson there’s a great game you just need to go out on the lam and advertise It’s all up to you Mr. Wilson just advertise and see what happens thx have a great one

  3. #3 by xSnoopy on 2012.05.05 - 7:09 am

    “Ideas for a β€œTrial” program in case that becomes an issue”

    HUH? Have you considered taking a poll ? I can count on one (1) hand those who DO NOT think a “trial” period is a good idea.

    Yes, you have told us about what the down side of trials might be, but I think the benefits FAR out weigh them.

  4. #4 by Penny on 2012.05.05 - 1:42 am

    Great job, I like the ideal of co-decorating, that would be soo cool

  5. #5 by Riot_Girl_1 on 2012.05.04 - 3:07 pm

    IF you do decide explore a trial type thing I have a suggestion you might consider that might work out both in favor of you keeping griefing down while letting people try the game:

    I’ve spoken with some of my friends from back in the late ’03/ ’04 days… And it seems like all of us agree that the extremely limited trials we had back then were the best. They gave us enough of a taste and left us with enough curiousity to want to stay and pay our join-up fee. The trials were very short and we didn’t have explorer, music, or voice packs, those were to be purchased when we joined. For myself, the part that made me want to join so badly was not having voice and knowing everyone was talking and I couldn’t hear. If trials didn’t have voice that would cut down on the avility to grief drastically… And now that you need to verify your email address that could cut down things a little too. If you found a way to implement a trial system like that (with some tweaks to accomodate There 2.0 of course) in when/ if trials ever feel necessary, I think it could work kinda well.

    Thanks for the update! πŸ˜€

  6. #6 by NV on 2012.05.04 - 2:30 pm

    I am totally ecstatic about there being open to the public, now it is up to us therians to get the word out, get people in game, and be helpful to the newbies. I am so ready. Got a few people to invite to the game and can’t wait till I can hang out with them! I am also very excited about decorating rights. I think this would be a great asset to the game. I saw someone make a suggestion about sounds in objects. I have a suggestion as well…any way to be able to flatten out our land within our paz areas? ‘bow to the Makenna team!

  7. #7 by mimi06 on 2012.05.04 - 11:21 am

    Can’t believe its been over a year since that survey. I always loved the THERE world before and now with There2 I seem to love it even more. Been a few challenges but you so have overcome! I commend you all for that. I surely hope there is a way to implement some sort of “trial” time. These past few days on the WW altho hectic, have been busy, but I did notice alot making Alts, over and over all for the color of the name tag. Lol, but hey it’s their money so be it. I want to thank Mackie for forming Phoenix Stars! I believe the way it is set up will discourage the ones that want it for a “show”. I also love the fact that it dissapears as we leave spawn areas. This way some of us won’t get harrassed, for having one. One thing that disurbs me , Altho I love the idea anyone can access the walkway, the last few days I don’t think this is a good idea. Many of us witnessed some very crude and in fact vulgar language. yes, I understand its now 18 plus but I think there’s a time and place for everything, and the welcome walkaway isn’t that place. As we grow I would hate to think a new member will enter THERE and see or hear such talk. I am no prude, but many agree with me about this. hoping down the road the Welcome Walkway is just that. πŸ™‚ To Mackie, thanks again for allowing me to greet new members! Hugz

  8. #8 by jonathan on 2012.05.04 - 11:19 am

    Any news on ye’ olde’ OS X client?

  9. #11 by alan4984 on 2012.05.04 - 11:00 am

    Since there is open to public. will you’ll guy get people age verified?? Avatar name: (alan4984)

  10. #12 by okalnix on 2012.05.04 - 10:55 am

    Small question.
    The Buggy rathing on points its still on 1200 on avie.
    Think also the paintballesr have the same thing.
    For some people have intesting to have that rathings info back.

    Thanks for the update.
    Good job guy’s

    • #13 by soledadnegativa on 2012.05.04 - 11:48 am

      @ Okalnix

      Hey BIG FAN, thanks for all you do for our community, Can’t wait to thank you in person “Evil Grin”.

      The bug with the ratings displaying 1200 seems to manifest when we are in a match, ratings for everything else still displays “not yet rated” on the avatar’s profiles and is actually correct on the Top 50 pages.

      Once again thanks for all you do.

      @ MW

      Thanks for the update and all the hours you and the team puts in. Hope you feel better.

      @ Everyone else

      FX4 (Force Field Free Friday) today and I am going fishing…

      See you THERE

      Sole
      SNIPERS

    • #14 by soledadnegativa on 2012.05.04 - 11:56 am

      @ OKALNIX

      Hi, Big Fan, thanks for all you do for our community. Just to elaborate on the bug the ratings issue is manifested in the following areas:

      a. While on a match is displayed as 1200
      b. On the Avatar’s profile page is displayed as Not Yet Rated
      c. On the Top 50 pages seems to be working correctly.

      @ MW

      Thanks for the update, all the hour and hard work you and the team has put up to make our VW a reality. Hope you are recovering well. Don’t Forget to Zig when You Zag.

      @ Everyone else

      Is FX4 (Force Field Free Friday) today see you There.

      Sole
      Snipers
      Angels Of Death
      War Is Old Men Talking Politics and Young Men Dying

  11. #15 by Sassybeme There on 2012.05.04 - 10:53 am

    I would have re claimed my hood in a heart beat if it had sound. I was kind of settling at the time when I bought it. I use to post many times I’d buy sound from shop if you had it. Just like how we did with radio using shoutcast placing sound effects in our paz’s. Is it possible in any way to place the sound in objects you can sell us in shop? Much like the light bulbs, only with sound effects rather then light? Same behaviors, like disappear after placed. People should be able to adjust background sound from the volume controls if it bothered them when exploring. Life without the sound is rather dull. I just wonder if you could take it the next step from paz/hood controls to objects. Even in the THERE rented homes it would be nice to have crackling sound in the fireplaces.

    It is your ball game. I don’t know how possible it would be. Cost or otherwise. I just think it would make you even more awesome.

    • #16 by Sassybeme There on 2012.05.04 - 3:48 pm

      Sorry, I was thinking again. What I was wondering, would it be more simple to have sounds choices in the zones we could control on the config page? In the lines of keeping these houses, and hoods, and paz’s more interesting. Only could we do this with slider controls. Cause in thinking, we only get a small distance with a radio’s sound effect. Zone controls whole area. But maybe we could adjust water fall not as loud as we want birds or surf to be? It would just be so cool to have sound through out our whole zone rather then a small part.

      please, pretty please?? It would make y’all the most awesome-estes geeks on the whole internets. I’ll even like be nice and not bug you for a whole month. πŸ˜€ I should put a try in there. :/

  12. #17 by Mr_Perry on 2012.05.04 - 10:41 am

    Awesome, woo hoo! I am having a blast being home again.
    love you guys!!!!

  13. #18 by arbatas on 2012.05.04 - 10:37 am

    Awesomeness! The opening is great and looking forward to meeting the new comers. I go to walkway and spend a few mins handing out things, but I don’t overwhelm myself there since I see alot of players crowd it there…

  14. #19 by arbatas on 2012.05.04 - 10:36 am

    Awesome! This is great! I like that fact that they’re going to implement co-decoraters. I understand

  15. #20 by Thumdar on 2012.05.04 - 10:27 am

    Fantastic stuff. The trial topic is already heating up. Nonetheless, the opening to the public seems to have been an excellent shot in the arm for the Therian faithful. Bravo!

  16. #21 by Christy Clendenen on 2012.05.04 - 10:25 am

    It’s been so great seeing new and old people, it’s been a long crazy trip and I am so happy to be a part of it!
    xo
    wikkedbliss

  17. #22 by Will on 2012.05.04 - 9:56 am

    Sounds great!
    Well done!

Leave a Reply

