Racing in the Sky

A great video by one of our members of a little-known track:

  1. #1 by JasonMK on 2012.05.30 - 11:03 am

    Thanks for the video, MW. Although I haven’t been around much to comment or log in lately it was fun to catch up and learn something new.

  2. #2 by okalnix on 2012.05.19 - 12:09 pm

    A theme event from the group.
    Lights Camera There
    Have to watch this theme day.

  3. #3 by mimi06 on 2012.05.15 - 2:55 am

    For those of you that don’t use Thumdar or Facebook, I wanted to post this here. It will be the biggest event so far and now well before Sunday “Eagle Island” is covered with THERE community pazs! If you havent been to Eagle Island yet be sure and check it out! It’s bound to be awsome! http://thumdar.com/forum/there-buzz-and-events-in-there/25272-the-great-2012-there-gathering-official-thread.html

  4. #4 by okalnix on 2012.05.13 - 12:34 pm

    Wow its a good track and a good skill is needed to try out on that buggy.
    Good recording guy’s I hoop I see more of this type of recording.

    Small vidoe to share with you its from motherday may 13
    On dune valley buggy place

    Have fun to watch it.

    Thanks for this sharing info.

  5. #5 by Jonathan on 2012.05.13 - 5:18 am

    In case you haven’t already seen it, Michael – http://vimeo.com/41869140 I know you’re a Leica fan and all!

    • #6 by Jonathan on 2012.05.13 - 5:19 am

      Wow, I failed embedding that one! You get the picture… (no pun intended).

  6. #7 by Joe_R203 on 2012.05.12 - 9:43 am

    Is anyone having trouble with adding days to your PAZ? I tried to add 30 days on 3 of mine and the T-bux were never taken out of my account and the confirmation notice never showed up. I have 18 hours left before they get put away and it’s a PITA to set them back up again due to the terrain. I hope this can get resolved soon.

    • #8 by Joe_R203 on 2012.05.12 - 12:53 pm

      Okay, problem worked out. Apparently when I click on “This Place”, and select a refill option (1,7,14 or 30 days), I don’t get a confirmation and the Ts don’t get taken out. I clicked on “Info About” and then clicked the “Refill” link and that worked. So if anyone else has this problem, that’s the way to do it until the easier way gets fixed.

    • #9 by ImageMaker on 2012.05.12 - 5:57 pm

      You can use “put back” and they’ll go right back where they were, layout intact, as long as you haven’t dropped the same PAZ in another location. Not as preferable as getting your time added, but a better alternative than starting the layouts from scratch…

  7. #10 by Pro buggy racer on 2012.05.12 - 6:24 am

    this is one fucked up track and i am a pro buggy racer i dont know why you want to post this mw this track sucks big time .. and sure not a good welcome to there track…

    • #11 by Jinxed_Karma on 2012.05.12 - 5:43 pm

      To each is own. For instance, some people see punctuation as unnecessary, while adults typically prefer it.
      Regardless, I respect your opinion, to a degree. The track was experimental, and some people have told me they actually enjoy it. It could be better, but that goes for pretty much everything in life. I am a firm endorser of variety, and I don’t see how that would impede There. Besides, I’m not sure how many new members come to Saja to learn how to buggy lap… I’m guessing that number is pretty low.
      I am going to continue to make messed up tracks that don’t appease everyone. Feel free to not come to them.

      • #12 by Sassybeme There on 2012.05.21 - 10:58 am

        Jinxed that is one mean track! I tried a few times. Couldn’t finish half the track. I gave up lol. That one is so beyond my buggy skill. Not that I ever had a great one. πŸ™‚
        Keep it up though! IF simple, they’re boring. I don’t need a trophy for showing up. We need that kind of spice. πŸ™‚

    • #13 by Rob3000 on 2012.05.22 - 2:49 am

      Someone takes buggy racing seriously.. lol

  8. #14 by martin71a on 2012.05.11 - 2:57 pm

    just an idea for you MW could we have the option to turn the voice off when we do events like clubs ect..!! for the owners to have the option to do it??

    • #15 by fulkenstien on 2012.05.13 - 11:23 am

      we already do have the option to turn voice off.i dont know if other emotebars have the tab but i use the dethany emotebar and it has it.

    • #16 by fulkenstien on 2012.05.13 - 2:24 pm

      oh i see what you wrote now.like being able to have a setting to turn off voice like a zone set to turn off forcefields.

      • #17 by martin71a on 2012.05.15 - 1:02 am

        yea cos when you tell them no talking when the events running they still carry on doing it so instead kicking them out just turn the voice off ..
        thought it would be a good idea

  9. #18 by martin71a on 2012.05.09 - 11:15 pm

    hi there never mind about the sound i have moved to one that has one …

    but they is still the funzone when i take items out they start flashing (i am not out side of the zone ) why is that can it be sorted cos its getting to be a pain its taking longer to build a track on it

    • #19 by Dan Samuel on 2012.05.17 - 4:21 pm

      Note that decorations you can sit on come with a 1meter or so ‘guard region’ so you can’t place them right up against the egd of the zone. Originally it was so the camera would not get wonky when between you and the wall. But even in a wall-less zone (a paz) it is useful to make sure the seated avatar doesn’t end up outside of the zone the seat is in.

      But if you’re not talking about that sort of piece, then please ignore the above πŸ™‚

  10. #20 by Jinxed_Karma on 2012.05.09 - 2:31 pm

    Wow! I didn’t expect to see this when I came here today. Very cool! That totally made my day! Thanks MW!
    My apologies in advance on the next track I make there… It probably wont be so easy. :p

    http://www.jnd4there.com/jndraceway.html

  11. #21 by PcMan Hoverboat Pilot on 2012.05.09 - 7:12 am

    When I first saw the title of this blog entry I totally thought it would be about hoverboat racing. Then I remembered that you requested that Memphis upload Karma’s buggy track to Youtube so you could put it on your blog. ‘doh πŸ˜€

  12. #22 by xnecroscopex on 2012.05.08 - 6:13 pm

    Any news on ye’ olde’ OS X client?

    • #23 by Michael Wilson on 2012.05.08 - 6:21 pm

      No updates at this time. Still converting from Carbon to Cocoa.

      • #24 by Luis Concepcion on 2012.05.18 - 3:06 pm

        How about, now?

  13. #25 by shiningknbighgt1955 on 2012.05.08 - 3:52 pm

    There is a new Raceway in the Sky we all used to know as Engee Raceway, now owned by Martin7. Please feel free to go by and enjoy his TUV 4×4 tracks.

  14. #26 by Punkster OfThere on 2012.05.08 - 1:23 pm

    SWEET!

  15. #27 by Sassybeme There on 2012.05.08 - 12:14 pm

    I can’t say I’ve tried Saja’s yet. Moved away from buggies a bit. The skill has left me. But I guess if I can make it on Karma’s track I can try Saja’s. πŸ™‚
    I didn’t know we had invisible walls? Sure looks interesting. πŸ˜€

  16. #28 by MademoiselleFifi on 2012.05.08 - 12:08 pm

    WOW….some very good drivers in There….now me, but i admire the talent of those who can.

    • #29 by jamtuner on 2012.05.08 - 12:53 pm

      Feef – if you wouldn’t wear those poofy criniline hoop skirts while driving, it might improve your technique ! ‘tu

  17. #30 by popebenadict16stuart on 2012.05.08 - 11:56 am

    Hi Mr Wilson.
    i used to have a pro account on there and enjoyed it a lot spent many hours and pounds. when it closed i thought it was gone for ever so i got rid of my password and now can’t remember it for the life of me i remember my avatar name but the rest i dont know if i could get my avatar back i maybe able to come back to there i would love to if it was possible.Any help you could give to me Mr Wilson would be great.

  18. #34 by Bob Baxter on 2012.05.08 - 11:18 am

    This is a great idea letting the people know about the fun places in THERE. I have set up three SLINGS in there to give people the thrill of flying through the air and landing in surprise places. This race track looks like another fun thing to do in THERE.

    • #35 by soledadnegativa on 2012.05.08 - 1:43 pm

      @ Bob

      Buggies, Hoverboard or Hoverbikes are all fun ways to connect with your friends or make new ones while enjoying our VW. I can truthfully say I spend more time running away from those vehicles than driving them, paintguns and buggies don’t mix well >.< but the fun is nonstop 'tu.
      Another fun activity I enjoy are playing cards with my friends, participating on skillfully created quests and some midnight madness at the Darkshadows hood.
      Thanks for the update
      Sole
      SNIPERS
      ANGELS OF DEATH

Leave a Reply

