This is Water

This is Water
On a completely different topic, I’d like to recommend this very quick little read “This Is Water: Some Thoughts, Delivered on a Significant Occasion, about Living a Compassionate Life” (Kindle edition).

I know the title makes it sound all new-age fruffy, but it’s not, and well worth the 20 – 30 minutes it will take to read it.

I read about it here, which also has some links to a Free and Audiobook version of the text.

Well worth a read. Might make your day.

  1. #1 by Nancy Russell on 2012.06.24 - 6:18 pm

    Thank you for introducing me to this author. As I was reading his speech I felt like I knew him personally.

    Thanks again, Mooly

  2. #2 by Cellophane Thereian on 2012.06.22 - 10:18 am

    Love it. Page 126 is part of my extended personal mantra. 🙂

  3. #3 by Sassybeme There on 2012.05.25 - 11:08 pm

    Thanks for posting that link Basya. So it does follow in the direction of the documentary Happy as well as Iam.
    Words and stories are different. Different people doing the telling. Focus remains the same.

  4. #4 by Basya on 2012.05.24 - 10:27 pm

    Even though I’ve bookmarked the speech, I haven’t read it yet. But here’s the link to the text:
    http://moreintelligentlife.com/story/david-foster-wallace-in-his-own-words
    Basya

  5. #5 by Soledadnegativa on 2012.05.24 - 3:21 am

    Thank You for the update.
    His death in 2008 was a demoralizing blow to the genre of fiction. His style will be missed.

  6. #6 by SaltySilver on 2012.05.23 - 12:19 pm

    Thanks

  7. #7 by Sassybeme There on 2012.05.23 - 11:41 am

    Along the subject line of this one? http://www.thehappymovie.com/

  8. #8 by EternalQuasarâ„¢ on 2012.05.23 - 11:11 am

    I dig your style Oz … keep it up homie I so back you right now.

Leave a Reply

