Another Track, Questions, and Answers

Some Questions, and Answers

Q. What is the status of OSX?
A. Not much progress to report, I’m afraid. We, well, I, need to get the Carbon to Cocoa conversion to work. The good news is that I can see the menus and HEAR myself walking around the world, the bad news is I can’t see the world. I’m sure it will be something stupid, I just haven’t found it yet.

Q. Why isn’t it a priority?
A. Remember, we have one fulltime engineer – SamSyn – and he’s working on other things. I know that many people are excited to see the OSX port, but we haven’t got a fulltime OSX engineer, so you just get part-time me.

Q. So why don’t you hire an OSX engineer? After all, Macs are 15% of the market, and climbing.
A. You can do the math on that. A 15% improvement in revenue – even if we spent it all on OSX – wouldn’t cover a fulltime OSX engineer. Remember, our goal is to stay in the black, and there are other things we need to do first which are far more likely to accomplish that.

Q. Why are the SPAs messed up on the Walkway (mis-aligned)?
A. We’ll take a look at it.

Q. Why do we allow imbecelic names for Avatars, especially on the Welcome Walkway and the Newbie Islands?
A. The good comes with the bad. Almost everyone in the world now appreciates we’re 18+, and, as long as you’re indulging in hate speech, etc, you’re free to say anything or name your avatar any imbecilic thing you’d like. That being said, I think we ALL want more people in the World, and realize the new members running into an imbecilic name like, say, oh, “Masturbator”, might put people off, or might be a sign of immaturity which requires age verification.

So…if you want to act like you’re 12, then go for it. But keep in mind that we might need you to prove you’re NOT 12.

Q. Can you grant hosting rights to Island Guides for Zona, Fisher, and Paiz?
A. We will look into it.

Q. How will you support the There Games?
A. The short answer is “Assume we can’t”. We have exactly 2.x Staff (SamSyn, Bruce, Mackie, and Dana), and I’m not sure how we’d have the bandwidth to support the Games. So you can ask for stuff, but don’t be disappointed if we say “Sorry, we can’t”

Q. What about the There Game’s Skill Ladders?
A. Sadly, setting up “Skill Ladders” was … um, err, “complex”, yes, that’s the word, and once set up, required lots of QA to make sure it was working right. So I would set your hopes least high on this one. Sorry!

Q. Why does it take so long for me to get answers to my email?
A. Remember, we have only PART TIME customer support. That being said, most questions should be answered within a few days. However, there ARE exceptions:

  • Age Verification. We’re not actively processing these. We get to them as we can, but there’s no guaranteed response time for this.
  • “I forgot my password, I didn’t set up a secret question, and my email address doesn’t work”. We’re really no equipped to handle these, as we need to PROVE you own the account. We may try and give you hints to resolve this, but at the end of the day, we may not be able to help you, especially in a timely fashion.

I think that’s about all for now :-).

  1. #1 by Cellophane Thereian on 2012.06.22 - 9:58 am

    In the scheme of things, as an OSX- I’m cool with the space-time contin-YOU-UM rolling out to permit me to utilize my avatar to be once again in world. I look at it this way; I came to There the first time around just after Beta- completely missing that joyful beat. This time around I will again enter There after a period of development- after others have claimed the most sought after Hoods, after others have broken ground on great new and inspiring development of items to list in Shop. I will once again enter There as one reaping the wild wind… This time around I will be a different sort of gal. I will be a free agent of whimsy and of serendipitous circumstance rather than the worker bee of some corporate effort to gather information about human beings who choose to live their lives in tandem with an Avatar. I will happily be the Case Study. And all these months I haven’t forked over the monthly fee? All these months I haven’t bought TBux? Oh- I’ll catch up. I imagine every one of us not able to log in due to lack of OSX are thinking this:

    Okay- There has been up and running for X amount of months. I would have spent X amount of dollars if my effing stupid junk VAIO hadn’t gone bonkers on me and forced me into the LaLa Land mentality of It’s Time to go Mac. So on the day I can indeed log in I will have X amount of $$$ banked and ready to go…

    I’m thinking that there is going to be NO juicy Hood in auctions to replace Groove that isn’t in my price range to go after. What with the Tbux left in my account upon the down time of There and the money I have to invest in my decorating and developing pleasure- I will wait patiently for my once again joining There.

    And like they say- Good Things Come to Those who Wait.

    There is no place like home.

    I have my sparkling, ruby shoes in my walk-in (really, I do!) and on the day or night I can once again log into There I will pull them on, snap a photo and make that my profile shot.

    Because really, home is no place like There…. ❀

  2. #2 by Daniel Rechia on 2012.06.16 - 7:41 pm

    I hope i still remember my password!!!
    More 5 months and i am 18 and back There again!!! πŸ˜€

  3. #3 by Okalnix on 2012.06.16 - 11:41 am

    Jungle Safari Themed event on dune.

    Have fun to watch it.

    Thank you MW to answer a lott quastions.
    Go Go there Team

  4. #4 by Evelyn on 2012.06.14 - 6:02 am

    There are one program with crash every time I open GSP (Bension Compass) for about half hour later. The message said “there Client Program has stopped working. My computer is brand new windows7. I removed there and all. Then re installment. It made no different. I believe There software with programmer need to fix that part of it. Can you solved it?

    • #5 by Michael Wilson on 2012.06.14 - 6:32 am

      Sorry, but There isn’t responsible for the Bension Compass – you’ll have to run without it.

  5. #6 by Josh P on 2012.06.13 - 12:43 pm

    Nice to see Mac getting addressed, I’ve been able to run there (with audio and menu) in Wine experiencing the same no gfx as you Michael. Perhaps it’s time to completely leave windows carbon and rewrite the client in mono, lord knows the visualstudio menus need to go πŸ™‚

    • #7 by Michael Wilson on 2012.06.13 - 12:59 pm

      Carbon has nothing to do with windows.

      • #8 by Josh P on 2012.06.13 - 3:39 pm

        Sorry brainfart, was meant to write Carbon API. Was carbon picked up when we first got wind of a Mac client back in the day? I havn’t seen anything relating to carbonAPI since 2001 πŸ˜„

        Best of luck and much love, I hate conversions!

      • #9 by Michael Wilson on 2012.06.13 - 7:38 pm

        We had to use Carbon because Qt required it to be able to render widgets on top of the 3D world. I’m still worried that that won’t work right when I switch to Cocoa which is going to present all kinds of problems.

  6. #10 by swimgood on 2012.06.13 - 9:16 am

    If you want more people in the world, why don’t you start on age verification? Get some experienced users with tbuxs to help the overall growth.

    Till this day, I honestly have no idea how I was suspended. I’m 20 now, and its been 6 months since the ban. I’m here waiting to return, still willing to pay for a service that has literally showed me nothing.

    • #11 by knighthawk101 on 2012.06.14 - 12:51 am

      On the point of more people, There are still two of us just waiting for a chance to get there without having to go through paypal and surely we aren’t the only ones.

  7. #12 by SunnyMusic on 2012.06.13 - 7:42 am

    Thank you for answering those questions, and I am glad that you are aware of the “Imbeciles”. Sheesh….

  8. #13 by Antaios Thereian on 2012.06.13 - 6:04 am

    “and I’m not sure how we’d have the bandwidth to support the Games”.. what would this mean? would you attempt to shut the There games down? since we are already planning to do this with out there staff support.. and would you forbid the use of the there.com logo? i did ask this in feedback but never got a reply so maybe you can help out a little by a yes or no πŸ™‚ thanks

    • #14 by Michael Wilson on 2012.06.13 - 6:13 am

      “would you attempt to shut the There games down?”

      Umm, you’re kidding, right?

      • #15 by Antaios Thereian on 2012.06.13 - 6:19 am

        Umm, you’re kidding, right? RIght πŸ™‚ but what about the logo will allow us to use it?

      • #16 by Michael Wilson on 2012.06.13 - 6:20 am

        As long as it’s appropriate. A There Teddy, There Thong, or similar is NOT appropriate, for example.

      • #17 by Antaios Thereian on 2012.06.13 - 6:26 am

        hahaha well thats fair.. dont think it crossed our minds to use on that sort of stuff, it will be used for there games logo, a thereian teddy bear and there games relate things in the future when submissions open.. there was some doubt you would allow it so thanks for the answer:)

      • #18 by mimi06 on 2012.06.13 - 7:59 am

        Wha! No THERE Games Thong? Good grief……. Thank the Lord, cuz I for one can’t picture Ant, or even MW in a thong. Not sure I wana rofl..

      • #19 by Lady_Tigrane on 2012.06.15 - 12:36 pm

        buttfloss… EWWW

      • #20 by Orielle Thereian on 2012.06.15 - 2:08 pm

        “As long as it’s appropriate. A There Teddy, There Thong, or similar is NOT appropriate, for example.”

        ”’DRAT! There goes my plans of creating a costume prop of a teddy bear like this one http://sphotos.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/s720x720/599874_4061643141594_1062940351_n.jpg except I would have had it wear a There teddy or There thong to help promote the Lingerie There Games… πŸ˜›

        To anyone who might think I was serious, I’m not. I’m only kidding about having a Lingerie There Games. πŸ˜›

  9. #21 by NathanAvis on 2012.06.13 - 5:26 am

    Thought I’d say thanks for the answers, MW, and I believe anyone that is truly interested in the games will put aside the politics and reward incentives and just get on and enjoy any community-organized events πŸ™‚

  10. #22 by TherePercy on 2012.06.13 - 4:33 am

    That answers pretty much all the questions I had. Thanks, MW.
    I think we all want There to succeed and although some might have other priorities in mind than Makena does, we have to trust that you guys know what you’re doing.
    For us it is an escape (and granted, for some a big part of our lives), but for you guys, it is your livelihood.

    Go Team Phoenix.

  11. #23 by Soledadnegativa on 2012.06.13 - 3:33 am

    All good things to know, thanks for keeping us in the loop. Now if I can get in world I could find the origin of this itch >>> (points at trigger finger) πŸ™‚

    Sole
    SNIPERS
    ANGELS OF DEATH
    WAR IS OLD MEN TALKING POLITICS AND YOUNG MEN DYING

    • #24 by Lady_Tigrane on 2012.06.15 - 12:37 pm

      umm… try penecillin?

  12. #25 by mimi06 on 2012.06.13 - 2:59 am

    Thanks for the update. Many of us are TRYING to get some events going. We’ll adjust and do the best we can. THERE games are one. WE know that more then likely these games won’t go as they used to but we still think it’s worth a shot. I may have missed something above but some of us are donating funds to support submissions for THERE game tokens or prizes. Any word on the status of developer items yet? We are thinking maybe using the “coupon” option for prize rewards, kinda an IOU lol.. I would LOVE to have hosting rights on any one of the 3 islands. They seem so baren as of now. Well except for Zona lol.. thanks again for keepin us posted. πŸ™‚

  13. #26 by ImageMaker on 2012.06.13 - 2:22 am

    First??

    For skill ladders — without skilling, we won’t get fun pass upgrades either (not that I’m worried about it, I was platinum for a year or so before closing). New members will stay bronze forever? Okay, no, not “forever”, but it’ll seem like it… Or was that comment aimed at adding new skills to the mix (akin to “Ghoulish Trick or Treater” added to the old traditional 16 skills)?

    • #27 by TherePercy on 2012.06.13 - 6:56 am

      Actually, he was referring specifically to the “There Games Skill”. The rest (except for the “Special” ones, like halloween etc.) work just fine.

Leave a Reply

