June Numbers

So sorry, I thought I’d posted these, but it looks like I forgot.

Income (this period) from all AvMans
Subscriptions: $17,950
TB Sales: $30,897 (avg $25.13/purchase, $1029.9/day)
Gross Income: $48,847

Apparently, there are some people running around in-World claiming that I said our “numbers are down and we’re going out of business”. I, of course, never said such a thing. Now that the excitement of “OMG I CAN RECLAIM MY HOOD” has been tempered with “OMG I CAN’T AFFORD MY HOOD YET”, I would expect the numbers to be off a bit, and I’m not worried.

Yesterday, SamSyn processed 52 “Migrate My Possessions” requests, which is twice our usual rate. He also sent me this cool picture of 3 “New” developers items he’d injected “Live” into world. This is significant because each of these objects has, internally, wildly varying characteristics. The fact the he could inject them all without incident shows that we’re getting closer….

Hopefully, next week, we’re going to invite a ”couple” of select developers (who we’ve already selected, so please don’t ask, your turn will come soon enough) to start testing this “Live Injection” “Live” in World.

Personally, I’m ”really” excited about this. I think that developers are going to go a little crazy (in a good way) at this new way of testing products, and we’re going to see some really cool new things for people to buy.

  1. #1 by Cellophane Thereian on 2012.07.28 - 1:06 pm

    The upshot to people getting ahead of themselves is that Groove may still be empty when we OSX get in! I, for one, would immediately ‘claim’ my old Hood! 😀

  2. #2 by Spacehead on 2012.07.26 - 12:51 pm

    So MW, Is that your bus and surfboard?

    • #3 by Michael Wilson on 2012.07.26 - 1:10 pm

      No, I just spotted it on the street the other evening.

  3. #4 by Jimmy Kluding (@LegionNinja) on 2012.07.26 - 8:22 am

    Not sure of the year, but is the first picture the windshield from a VW Microbus split window?
    -SonicWarriorXP

  4. #6 by cory on 2012.07.25 - 8:34 am

    any new news on the mac version?

  5. #8 by JohnOzzyOsbourne on 2012.07.25 - 6:50 am

    Completely off subject but could you reset the old cc metro area so porta zones can be dropped there or put a land mass there? Alot of us have the place saved from the old There and the area is just going to waste. Thanks..

    • #9 by Michael Wilson on 2012.07.25 - 6:53 am

      Ummm, since that island had a trademark shape and we’re no longer partners with Coke, I’m not sure there’s any land there to drop things on any more. I’ll check though.

    • #10 by ImageMaker on 2012.07.25 - 10:25 am

      As noted below, there’s no land at the old Coke Island location — and in general, you can’t drop PAZ on the open ocean; once you move from a terrain server to the (singular) ocean server, PAZ dropping isn’t permitted (which is one major reason There can run with a single server for the entire world-wide ocean). FWIW, there is droppable land outside Club Makena (three small islands there, and only a fairly small permission zone directly around the Club), located roughly where the original immense California island was; the Welcome Walkway is just offshore from one of those three (and if you don’t have a link there, it is possible, if not easy, to get out of Club Makena at the end of at least one of the surface streets). There’s also Eagle Island, which I don’t recall from before closing — it’s way out hell-and-gone to the SW from the main islands, and rumored to have been the location of Virtual Congress (there’s certainly an empty pit about the right size to have housed a virtual Capitol Building).

      So, lots of unused land — and not much good reason to put a different island where Coke used to be.

  6. #11 by Phil Reinsmith on 2012.07.25 - 1:08 am

    Great News…..I’m not a developer, but I’m always looking for new things to buy.

    • #12 by JohnOzzyOsbourne on 2012.07.25 - 7:01 am

      You are right ..there is nothing but water there now. I just wanted to know if you could put some type of land there or at least set the area so porta zones can be dropped there.

  7. #13 by ImageMaker on 2012.07.24 - 4:46 pm

    Good to see the money holding steady(ish) — keep these figures, and we’ll do well.

    I’m one of those who has to be concerned whether I can afford my house, never mind a ‘hood — but as long as my budget doesn’t completely melt down (and $400 in car repairs in the past month hasn’t quite done it) you can count on my membership. Maybe I should see if the art photo market is a little less sluggish than it was three-four years ago — I’ve got a bunch of those already approved and ready to sell…

  8. #14 by Punkster OfThere on 2012.07.24 - 4:04 pm

    Very nice!

  9. #15 by JRz ZuoIsnlli on 2012.07.24 - 3:12 pm

    Good news. This should bait people back into world. If certain people cant afford their hoods, numerous factors take into place that have to be considered. Overall the news on the developer program is great.

  10. #16 by Mahmitta on 2012.07.24 - 2:35 pm

    We are definatly starving for some new items! Looking forward to moving ahead! Thanks for the update MW!

    • #17 by DavidWayne on 2012.07.25 - 8:56 am

      Who is going to buy these new items? I’ve been in world for 3 months now and, except for a few people on Zona Island, It’s empty. The hoods are empty. Fisher, Piaz, Zephyr, Duda, Phoenix Park, Kantana Point and it goes on and on all EMPTY. Noone to even attend events. There.com as we knew it before it closed is gone forever. Until people start returning to game I wont waste anymore money on There. It’s just too boring.

      • #18 by Michael Wilson on 2012.07.25 - 9:16 am

        ‘Wave.

      • #19 by ImageMaker on 2012.07.26 - 12:42 pm

        Really? The graph consistently shows daily peaks (early evening, California time) of 140-160 people in world simultaneously. When I log in, there is always a group standing around talking in Phoenix Park (off Tiki Beach, roughly between Tabu and the south end of the stone road to Monkey Crater). There are usually a number of avatars around Duda Beach as well, though the clutter of objects is so great there you sometimes can’t see other nametags until you’re quite close, and the last time I went to Fisher Island (that’s the one directly between Caldera and Ootay, right?) the place was crawling with avatars.

        Are you logging on at a very “off” time of day, like just before or just after daily maintenance? Got your nametags set to something like “don’t show” or “nearest ten” instead of “all visible”? Got a video problem that keeps avatars from rendering?

  11. #20 by Soledadnegativa on 2012.07.24 - 2:03 pm

    More great news, thanks for the update…

  12. #21 by Escape on 2012.07.24 - 1:58 pm

    Thanks for the info.

  13. #22 by Wikked Bliss on 2012.07.24 - 1:56 pm

    Thanks MW!!!!! I thought I had missed them!!! YAY!!!

  14. #23 by Sassybeme There on 2012.07.24 - 12:51 pm

    I am so glad your at the point of testing….. (the new push).
    I’ve been checking often. *claps*

  15. #24 by Coolnet on 2012.07.24 - 12:35 pm

    Hopefully it will be ready before the ‘unofficial’ THERE GAMES! Woot!!!

  16. #25 by Francis_7 on 2012.07.24 - 12:34 pm

    Thank you for sharing the figures for June. I am very excited by the ‘developments’ in the ‘developer’ program! I can’t wait to see new things in world again. I bet that will boost up sales of therebucks again!

Leave a Reply

