July Numbers

Here are our July Numbers:

Income (this period) from all AvMans
Subscriptions: $16,610
TB Sales: $27,886 (avg $25.05/purchase, $899.54/day)
Gross Income: $44,496

What’s Odd about this is that the average T$ Purchases/Day have dropped precipitously (ok, sharply).

This could be due to, as discussed, people having “stocked up” on T$, and not needing to buy any more. Or, it could be something else. Or, it could be people getting T$ from…other sources (which would be a shame).

In any case, as I said at the end of last month, we’re not worried, given our last discussion.

Other new is that SamSyn continues to make progress with the New Developer Program, having successfully used a new Stylemaker/Previewer to submit to the new submissions system, and seeing the items show up In World. This code is being pushed to production, so our DGPs (Developer Guinea Pigs) will be able to start testing it soon!

SamSyn’s also been putting together the Peer-Review system, so progress is being made there, too.

I will be REALLY excited when we hear the first DGP has pushed an item to world for testing, and even MORE excited when it’s approved and For Sale in World. I don’t know about all of you, but to me this is a whole new There, both for Developers, and non-Developers, since it will make it easier for Developers to Create, and, ultimately, for members to “own” (as much as anyone ever owns a bunch of bits in cyberspace).

  1. #1 by soede on 2012.08.15 - 12:59 am

    Hey is it just me (and the people I’m with) or is the CCU stuck? I was really interested in the stats during the Games.
    You dont have to post this, it’s really just a headsup in case there’s actually something borken. =D

  2. #2 by soede on 2012.08.13 - 12:52 pm

    There seems to by a spiral happening in auctions…Not enough people putting their stuff up for auction because of lower sales and/or lack of the ability to resell…which results in a lower variety of stuff to buy….which results in lower sales…

    I hope that the buyback program can be worked on asap since Makena’s tolerance of resellers has changed so much from before the Limbo. While I can see the perspective of the company on loss of immediate sales, i disagree drastically because of the long term repercussions of cracking down so hard on this type of transaction, especially with no timeline for how soon the company can take over this much needed area =/
    Why scare away the devs interested in a payout?

    • #3 by Michael Wilson on 2012.08.13 - 12:59 pm

      We’re focused right now on getting the Developer Program resurrected.

      Let me re-iterate the prior situation:

      1. There lost money every month.
      2. Usually, There’s costs were at least TWICE what it made each month.
      3. Those costs were made up by the investors putting in money each month.

      Thus the money that developers cashed out of there through resellers came, unfortunately, right out of the investors pockets. As is the money which went to the “BuyBack”.

      I appreciate the fact that some developers anxious to “Cash Out”, but at this point the investors (that would be me) aren’t going to (1) Sacrifice There’s Profitability, or, (2) Have the “Cash Out” be a “hand out” since There’s income won’t support it.

      I’m sure that this reply will be met with cries of indignation, accusations of greed, etc, etc. Before you do that please read the sentences above, again – the part about the investors paying, year after year, to keep There open, before you toss those words around.

      • #4 by soede on 2012.08.13 - 2:06 pm

        No indignation or cries of greed =P. We just seem to have differing perspectives on virtual world economic theory based of course on our very different involvement with it.
        I’m taking the long view, while of course you’re looking at the day to day transactions. This makes complete and utter sense. I dont want There to continue bleeding money either. I’d like for you personally to make a whapping huge return on your investment!!
        To me personally, it makes sense to lighten up a little on resellers,despite the short view on tbux sales, to ensure the long view is protected. At least until the resources and time become available to focus on the buyback system you’d previously said Makena would be taking over.
        Though the spiral has affected my sales, I’m not personally anxious to cash out. My spending is Up =P but I know people who wont bother to submit unless they can. I have no idea how strong an influence this will be on the market and how much the time between now and buyback will affect them and the company. No one really can, which sucks.

        I do not toss around my words. I have opinions. They are not angry opinions, just ones that differ from yours. I am genuinely sorry when you seem to take offense to them.

      • #5 by Michael Wilson on 2012.08.13 - 2:13 pm

        Oh I don’t take offense at yours, I’m just anticipating what others have commented (or attempted to comment, because some of them have been “Content Free Comments”) about our motivations for NOT doing a buyback.

        As for “lightening up”, I’m afraid our experience has been “Give an inch, watch them take a light year.” A few bad apples have made that approach untenable.

  3. #6 by SaltySilver on 2012.08.04 - 2:06 pm

    I have a lot of old stuff, I’m kind of waiting on new stuff….. ‘coy
    Thanks for all the hard work and dedication.

  4. #7 by SunnyMusic on 2012.08.04 - 8:02 am

    I have pretty much bought all that I want out of current auctions. Also, it appears that the Auction inventory is a little down anyway, as in plants and flowers, for example. I really think the Dev program starting up will be a huge help. I for one, cannot wait to see what purdy new clothes my “barbie doll” will be able to wear when the new stuff rolls on in! 😀

  5. #8 by Phil Reinsmith on 2012.08.04 - 7:51 am

    I have to say my THERE usage/purchases have been down lately. Summer you know….”Rockinsurfer_Boy”

  6. #9 by Rob on 2012.08.04 - 7:07 am

    I think the reason the sales is down is cause most members are holding off for developer program I don’t believe it’s people are getting tbucks elsewhere …I know I’m holding off for new stuff …maybe there needs to also be creative and add new stuff ….more games etc reasonably price the lots…. the less things cost the more people will come is how I see things …(more lots that are out there the more people will have them and buy things for them …hoods wouldnt be as empty )most other virtual games ain’t as expensive and offer virtual cash for memberships ..I’m not saying flip the scales one side or another to hurt the game but give people a reason to come to game ….there’s gotta be a medium…I do believe the developer program will help with the tbuxs issue. I really wanna see there do well and the people come back ….

  7. #10 by Amxscott on 2012.08.04 - 6:10 am

    In regards to the decrease on T buck sales, I know in my case there is simply nothing I want to purchase right now. I make sure i have enough T bucks for all my hood and lot rents but until the developer program gets going there is nothing i really want to build, thus no need to purchase those extra T bucks. Once new items are being introduced into the world i know in my case my purchase of T bucks will increase as I then can add new builds into my hoods and lots.Right now that extra money in real life is going to Home Depot and Lowes as I work on my RL house.

  8. #11 by Wikked Bliss on 2012.08.04 - 5:26 am

    I know for me and have heard a few others saying that there are a couple ( One older female in particular) of people who are really overcharging for stuff in auctions, I will not name names as everyone already knows who they are and a boycott of their auctions has already been discussed among many. People ARE buying/selling off game money, people ARE having yard sales and other sales for PAY PAL only, it has super pissed me off, this was what contributed to the demise of there.com last time. GREED. It also doesn’t help the new people to drive up the cost of auctions items cause you want to buy low and sell high, too high. then they buy less and here we go. I am hoping that the opening of the dev prog will will cause a parade of new and old peeps since I keep hearing a GREAT deal that people are not coming back till its open and a LOT do not consider the world really open until that happens : ( it would make me must more comfortable to see higher number but I am happy we have ANY numbers : )

  9. #12 by Neecie on 2012.08.04 - 4:40 am

    I’m thinking once the dev program gets going again the TB sales will pick back up. I hope anyway!

  10. #13 by ImageMaker on 2012.08.04 - 3:38 am

    I can’t speak for anyone else, but for me, it’s been broke out — I’ve been keeping up with my membership, but it looks like I’ll even have to let that go when it comes due in mid-August; there’s no money to put into PayPal this pay, and next pay will be most of a week after my membership is due. Things are picking up again at work (though this is subject to huge levels of fluctuation), so hopefully this will be a one-time situation…

  11. #14 by jimony on 2012.08.04 - 12:44 am

    I have to admit I have used my Netflix account more than I have logged in There for the last few months but I am happier to see the payment for There cleared than I am to see the Netflix charge clear. I am happy I am able to go There when I can.

  12. #15 by SNIPERBAIT on 2012.08.03 - 10:21 pm

    Well.. on the low tbuck sales, I have heard this so many times now that I can only think this is the case. Everywhere I have went almost, and to many events.. even in my own hood.. folks are saying they are waiting on the dev program for they want the new stuff and do not want to spend on the old with it possibly so close and hence be stuck with something now harder to resale. Me on the other hand, I think my wallet has THERE.com burned into it lately. Apple has a new phone coming out soon and kinda like THERE, folks have really slowed on buying the current if not almost stopping and are awaiting the newest release. The good thing for THERE is that as long as our virtual world continues to grow, folks will once again buy the old and the new together. Well, that’s my input if it makes any difference. On a side note:I am quite happy paintballing has stayed free and this has been motivation to invest in paintballing setups. I have also watched some who can only do the ten bucks be able to still do what they enjoy in THERE due to this. Thankyou.

  13. #16 by seckoa92 on 2012.08.03 - 10:16 pm

    If you ever need a Guinea Pig for a Mac There client I’d love to be the first person to help with that project. It would also help me get back into There. I have an active subscription, but I never get on because of how inconvenient Parallels is for me. Either way, I’m still going to support There and patiently wait for the next big client. -92

  14. #17 by EternalQuasarâ„¢ on 2012.08.03 - 9:41 pm

    As happy as I am to hear about the DGP(s) I’m more interested/concerned with Member retention as-well the amount of *NEW* Members, we have the die-hard’s though would be interested in seeing what those figures are honestly…

    • #18 by Michael Wilson on 2012.08.03 - 9:49 pm

      Not sure what you’re asking here, but the income from subscribed members is right there: $16,610/10 = 1,661 subscriptions.

      The current # of Active + “Dying” subscriptions is 1,735 (where “Dying” means “Cancelled, but still allowed to log into world”).

      The comment this month is was about the T$ purchases, and not membership. We haven’t seen anything odd about the latter. Anecdotally, given the number of questions about “How do I claim my old Avatar”, “I forgot my password and don’t have a secret question”, etc, I’d say the number of new returning members continues to be consistent.

      But, at the end of the day, given our constraints, I’m not sure what we would do differently. We could advertise, again, but at this point I think we’d see what we saw before: A nice Phat number in the expense column, and an miniscule (as in “rounding error size”) increase in membership, if any. Don’t know how to do that better yet.

      • #19 by EternalQuasarâ„¢ on 2012.08.04 - 3:02 am

        You answered that great Oz an have to say thank you; my Aunt just created her first ever Avatar in There and once I’m done moving my mom is following the flow. You rock Mike I hope you know I do seriously appreciate having my Bajor back even when I can be blunty rude an quite frankly a asshole at times…

        Word of Mouth is the best Advertising (I agree fully on the advertising point) … I’m honored an proud to still be a member of this Community.

  15. #20 by ant1977 on 2012.08.03 - 9:36 pm

    Nice pic of the Grand Canyon….welcome to Kayenta.

  16. #22 by JRz ZuoIsnlli on 2012.08.03 - 9:36 pm

    Shame on you people purchasing TBUX in other places. Tsk tsk. Otherwise good news on the dev program. 😀

  17. #23 by coolnet560 on 2012.08.03 - 9:35 pm

    Great news! I’m looking forward for the developer program. Thanks for keeping us posted.

Leave a Reply

