Ok, so maybe we DIDN’T float it down on a giant parachute and lower it from a rocket-powered Sky Crane…

…but SamSyn DID submit this buggy, right from his desktop, into the new submissions system, and, from there, into world.

P.S. We’ve already invited a handful of GPD’s (Guinea Pig Developers) to help us find stuff, so you can expect to hear reports of pain, dismemberment, suffering, and agony excitement, joy, and general awesomeness!

  1. #1 by martin71a on 2012.08.25 - 10:55 am

    hi MW can you help me please i have been waiting for a new password for my alt avi like 4 days now and im getting no replys when i aply for a new one it dont come through at all i tryed to email mackie but nothing as yet .. please help
    thank you

  2. #2 by DavyRocket on 2012.08.24 - 8:30 am

    If anyone would like to see new stuff I submit for test reviewing come by Misty Hollow neighborhood. I will be setting things out throughout the day for a few weeks. Today I submitted a new Ranch style house, and tree’s, and will take it out throughout the day. Tomorrow I will submit something different. Keep in mind the review copies only stays out for 30 minutes. So if it is gone, try back later.

  3. #3 by AgapeLove on 2012.08.22 - 5:56 am

    Since no one seems to have posted for a while I thought I might share what my husband and I have been talking about in terms of advertising. I understand that There.com cannot afford to advertise right now, but I was wondering if you would support our efforts to advertise.

    I was thinking that it would be nice to have a RL t-shirt with a there Logo/ website etc; you could do prepaid preorders and only have them made if there was enough interest! I see that there is or was license plate holders and bumper sticker available at one time; I found where you could order the holders but did not see the bumper stickers.

    And my husband “Ralph523” said that he would be willing to print up (using our printer ink and paper) some sort of pamphlets or hand bills, if you provided something we could copy with your permission/ blessing etc. Just a couple thoughts for what it’s worth! Agape’

    • #4 by There on 2012.08.22 - 11:17 pm

      Thats A Wicked Good Idea

    • #5 by Jordan on 2012.09.06 - 11:16 am

      That sounds like an amazing idea! 🙂

  4. #6 by Blax on 2012.08.09 - 10:46 pm

    Good job. 😀

    This might be not related to this post, but I have something to say and REALLY need help with:

    -I have kept trying to pay for There’s subscriptions with PayPal every day, every time I get the same problem about credit card requirement. Since I live in Egypt, I cannot use credit cards on PayPal since it doesn’t support any credit cards from Egypt. But in fact, I have a bank account. I could use it. But it still requires me to put in a credit card.

    Can you please help me?
    Thanks.

    • #7 by Mimi There on 2012.08.10 - 9:47 am

      Would you happen to be the same Blax that private messaged me on Thumdar, asking for a GIFT subscription? I believe I gave you an email to get your credit card issues answered. IF THERE.COM cannot help you and it’s a Paypal issue , paypal has a Q&A option. Maybe you simply lost this email tho 😉 feedback@thereinc.com Simply asking strangers for (money) subscription more then likely won’t get you into THERE.COM

      • #8 by Blax on 2012.08.10 - 6:32 pm

        I didn’t ask for a free GIFT subscription, I offered to pay you back in-return. And I’ve already e-mailed feedback@thereinc.com they didn’t reply yet.

    • #9 by ImageMaker on 2012.08.10 - 11:10 am

      An Egyptian bank account won’t work any better than an Egyptian credit card — based on what I’m reading “between the lines” concerning banking policies (Tunisian and Ethiopia okay, Egypt blocked), I suspect Egyptian residents are blocked from PayPal because the State Department of the USA prohibits business dealings of various types with residents of various countries for various reasons; in the case of Egypt, likely due to political ties to the Arab world or recent political unrest. If Egypt *is* on their list, there is literally nothing that can be done (in fact, even if you had a credit or debit card issued in another country, PayPal would be required, in that case, to block you as soon as they knew you to be a resident of Egypt).

      If I’m correct on this, Egyptians aren’t going to be able to subscribe with any payment method, at least until their government manages to get into better graces with the United States. This isn’t necessarily permanent; South Africa used to be on the State Department list because of their apartheid; when that ended, it became permissible for Americans to have business dealings with South African nationals and businesses. The same can be true of Egypt (assuming I’ve inferred the situation correctly), when and if your government becomes a genuinely representative and responsive one (might already be the case, the “list” is only updated once or twice a year).

      • #10 by Blax on 2012.08.10 - 6:33 pm

        True said. PayPal is not supporting credit cards from Egypt due to “Islamic frauds”, I don’t really get that part, but that’s what I have been told.
        By the way, I’m not using an egyptian bank account, they still don’t support it. I’m using an online bank account as well.

      • #11 by lofticries on 2012.08.11 - 5:57 am

        Just so you know, it was the US who empowered and supporter Egypt’s now-deposed dictator. Like the rest of the middle east, the US is opposed to democracy in Egypt and is actively seeking to prevent it.

        If you live in the USA, I’m not surprised that you don’t know any of this. You are the most thoroughly propagandized population on Earth. Which is also why the US government hates and fears wikileaks, and is actively trying to destroy it.

        So you learned something today at least.

      • #12 by ImageMaker on 2012.08.11 - 7:12 am

        The problem isn’t just where you bank — it’s where you live. Anyone in the Middle East (or anywhere else, for that matter) can open an online “bank” account (I put bank in quotes because those online accounts don’t conform to a number of very important regulations required of American and European banks); those online banks probably don’t work with PayPal even if you had an American mailing address (also, I know Green Dot affiliated accounts, even the ones like Account Now that accept direct deposit and have online bill payment, won’t play nice with PayPal because they won’t honor any transaction that wasn’t preauthorized for a specific amount — they don’t work at pay-at-the-pump gasoline stations, either).

        Sad to say, the only reliable solution I can see to your problem would be to move somewhere with a compatible local government and banking system: France, UK, Netherlands, Germany, etc. — probably rather far to go for an online social game like There, even neglecting the requirements those countries have regarding immigration. Best thing I can suggest is to find another online world that’s either free to ply or doesn’t require PayPal.

    • #13 by Michael Wilson on 2012.08.10 - 7:50 pm

      Unfortunately, there is nothing There can do.

      PayPal, and only PayPal, can control what accounts they do and do not accept for subscription payments. We have no control over that and can’t influence it in any way.

      For reasons we’ve covered before here, There only accepts PayPal at this time.

      • #14 by Blax on 2012.08.11 - 12:50 am

        I just read that link.
        By the way, did you know that PayPal accounts can be verified by bank accounts only? And paying by bank account or credit card on PayPal is related to the seller to change or not, why don’t you allow instant payments for subscriptions by bank accounts & credit cards through PayPal for subscription? Maybe choosing payment method will be more helpful for users.

        Hey, I just noticed that TB purchases can be done by credit card or PayPal balance. I’m going to be working with PayPal balance.

      • #15 by ImageMaker on 2012.08.11 - 7:15 am

        Blax, I’ve been paying my own subscription with PayPal linked to my checking account, using that account’s debit card as the “credit card” PayPal pushes people into entering. As you note, T-buck purchases also don’t care what source of PayPal funding support them. My PayPal has been funded by PayPal balance, with the checking as a backup. In other words, this works; it’s solely a problem with your location, not with how you want to pay. As for “instant payments” — PayPal payments from payers who aren’t PayPal members — the problem with those is back to chargebacks; the cost and longer term effects of chargebacks make payments that can’t ultimately be resolved by PayPal’s arbitration system a bad risk.

      • #16 by Blax on 2012.08.13 - 1:17 pm

        So today I recieved 30.00$ on my PayPal balance. I tried to pay for There’s subscription again, but it still required a credit card confirmation (Although I have more than the money required balance).

        I understand that you might be setting the payment method as PayPal, and credit card required to prevent under-18-aged people to get in There. But I don’t see a “huge” need for that, just setting it as PayPal might be hard enough for kids to sneek in There, even if not, when those kids are caught they will get banned.

        I’m not a “PayPal professional” user. But I think which payment method (bank account/credit card) to use on PayPal is up to the seller “Makena, Inc”.
        May you slice it into two pieces? Let bank accounts and credit cards to instantly pay through PayPal? Thanks.

      • #17 by ImageMaker on 2012.08.17 - 1:40 pm

        Blax, I think this is PayPal’s requirement. For a subscription, they have a concern that a payment funded only by balance or a checking account might end with no balance, and a rejected checking account transaction (overdraft, closed account, etc.), leaving PayPal holding the bag for a payment that’s already gone out — and even if they can charge it back, it costs them to do so. Their choice is to avoid the situation proactively by requiring that the account have something they can recognize as a Mastercard or Visa linked. As I’ve previously noted, I’ve had the debit card linked to my checking account in that position for some years, without problems (though I also watch my PayPal transactions even more closely than those on my bank account), and my PayPal has been working fine for my There subscription (a story that might have changed had I failed to cancel when my finances didn’t allow me to top up my PayPal balance this past month).

        The only thing that’s likely to fix this for you is to obtain a credit card issued by a US bank with a US residence address on it (or substitute the country of your choice that’s in good graces with PayPal) — which the bank would likely consider criminal fraud if they catch you at it, even if you’re perfectly fine on payments and credit limits; the very least they’d do in that situation is close the account and declare any balance payable immediately, in full. Whether they could do more might depend on extradition treaties and how badly they want to make an example…

      • #18 by Blax on 2012.08.23 - 2:02 am

        ImageMaker, not all PayPal subscriptions require a credit card confirmation. I purchased premium subscription for RapidShare & Dollarupload using my PayPal checking account (as an example).

      • #19 by tom on 2012.08.27 - 6:06 pm

        hi michael wilson this is funboy77 i was kicked out of there.com about 4 months ago for a arguement i had with a fellow therian about a paintball fight..he was mad that i was shooting and putting up my forcefield so i wouldnt get shot and started to troll me for 2 days..i got upset about it and said some things that i shouldve not said but im only human and i let my emotions get the best of me..but i never thought because and arguement that i would be banned from the best thing that ever happen to me in my life..there.com has been my home since 07 and ive always cherish every moment that i spent in games making friends and having loads of fun..i wish i could take back that day that i got mad but i can’t and it hurts to think i could never come back..Mr wilson im really sorry for geting upset and saying what i said but i would really love another chance to play there.com again and get back to my life..please reconsider and grant me another chance and i promise i will never mess up again

  5. #20 by Mimi There on 2012.08.09 - 4:06 am

    Hope it’s OK to toss this in here!! Opening Ceremonies for the TSG TODAY!!! 8 PM EST time. Check out the posts on the THERIAN COMMUNITY pages On FB! Thank you to all the Game Hosts!!!!

  6. #21 by Cellophane Thereian on 2012.08.08 - 3:05 pm

    The Window Closed (tight)

    ~ a poem by Cellophane

    Alas! While you were mourning Bunmi
    We were diving into pixels
    Yes! We actually were…

    No rhyme or rime or reason
    We just wanted to
    We booted while
    You were wondering
    if Jamie McIntyre may have really looked up
    And became acquainted with antiquity…

    Look! You weren’t there, friend
    We were diving into pixels
    Yes! We were evolving

    No guidebook No coordinates
    We wandered through
    And while we were enchanted
    You were taste-testing trans fats
    We were skinny-dipping in the sand on Duda
    And you were lost in memories of McVeigh

    Look! You missed the effing bus
    You’re not cut out for General Practitioner
    Yes! Get over it…

    Stop attempting a post-knowledge suck-up
    Stop trying to glow in the dark
    Stop trying to tattoo yourself eclectically
    If they wanted you, you’d know it by now…

  7. #22 by Okalnix on 2012.08.08 - 11:34 am

    Indeed a big step.
    Good job

  8. #23 by SunnyMusic on 2012.08.08 - 8:08 am

    YAY!! So exciting! Hopefully the GPD’s will encounter more of the Thrill of Victory, and less of the Agony of Defeat!

  9. #24 by Lady_Tigrane on 2012.08.07 - 10:53 pm

    ooh. does that mean someone might design a Pink Squid prop?

  10. #25 by SaltySilver on 2012.08.07 - 6:32 pm

    Are Guinea Pigs encouraged to post here with their findings and post traumatic stress issues? 😀

  11. #27 by Amxscott on 2012.08.07 - 3:47 pm

    It may not be as exciting as landing on Mars but I know all of us Therians are really excited to see this.

  12. #28 by PcMan Hoverboat Pilot on 2012.08.07 - 3:36 pm

    Keep up the great work Samsyn and team!

  13. #29 by ImageMaker on 2012.08.07 - 3:15 pm

    That’s a giant *supersonic* parachute.

    Heck, the only way I know to beat the (assumed) speed of sound in There is to push a hoverboat off a platform above hoverboat operating limits (1000 km?), and any rocket powered skycrane we see will have five seats — but still, it’s cool to be able to push stuff into world more or less instantly. Of course, I can’t even find my submission page to try to sell stuff I had approved years ago (it’s not linked from There Central any more, as far as I can find).

  14. #30 by Francis_7 on 2012.08.07 - 3:00 pm

    Maybe bo rocket crande, but it is like a gift from above! Looks beautiful to me!

    ‘bravo

  15. #31 by mimi06 on 2012.08.07 - 2:01 pm

    Alot of people going to be alot of HAPPY! I am not a developer but I am thrilled for them 🙂 ‘tu

  16. #32 by coolnet560 on 2012.08.07 - 1:58 pm

    Great to hear! Good luck guinne pigs! 🙂

  17. #33 by Mr_Perry on 2012.08.07 - 1:57 pm

    Who does one have to know or What does one have to do exactly to be considered for the opportunithy to help thier favorite site by being a GP?

Leave a Reply

