As many of you know, and most disagree with, I have long held that it is “improper” or “not correct behaviour” for There to remove you from someone’s buddy list when you remove them from yours.
Thus, if Jack buddies Jill, and Jill buddies Jack back, they’re on each other’s buddy lists. And when Jack logs in, Jill can see it, and vice versa. Next week (not that this EVER happens in There), Jill decides she doesn’t want to be Jack’s buddy, and removes him from her buddy list. However, Jill’s still on Jack’s buddy list, so Jack still sees when Jill logs in (presumably because she’s fooling around with Jack’s best friend, _Jack).
Many people – maybe every one but me – felt that we should not automatically remove Jill from Jack’s buddy list, because this was changing Jack’s list without his permission.
But, I changed my mind. I was wrong.
In an upcoming release, if you remove someone from your buddy list, and you’re on their list, you’ll be silently removed from their buddy list. (There may be a slight delay in you actually disappearing off their list, but they’ll instantly stop getting messages about your logins, logouts, etc).
So Jill and _Jack can be happy, and Jack will too, since he won’t know about them.
P.S. Thanks to itechgear (I thought it was “Itchgear” for a second 🙂 ) for the image.