Nightly backups / Downtime

In a previous post, I told you that Bruce was changing our technology for our nightly backups / downtime to use Amazon “Snapshots”.

Turns out that’s now done.

Our nightly outages are now about a minute, if that. Our early risers on the East Coast, and overseas customers will appreciate this, I’m sure.

  1. #1 by Reo on 2012.10.16 - 4:55 pm

    This might actually be the thing that convinces me to pony up.

    It’s close. The billing scheme and my lack of friends to play with in-world are my only remaining obstacles.

    If I could buy a discounted 1-year subscription, and a 3-month gift card for a friend, I’d do it right now.

  2. #2 by Alease on 2012.10.11 - 8:52 pm

    ‘tu

  3. #3 by Mimi There on 2012.10.10 - 11:35 am

    What! I don’t get anough sleep now! ROFL.. Awsome news. Seriously, this is great, I know so many that work night shifts. They will surely love this!

  4. #4 by Jesus Gutierrez on 2012.10.10 - 9:54 am

    I’ve been waiting for almost a year to get my age verified, once again my username is alan4984, if you any question please don’t hesitate to contact me at alan737@live.com

  5. #5 by Jonathan on 2012.10.10 - 8:44 am

    Have been pestering you, asking when you’d use Snapshots! You’ve finally done it! Pretty awesome! Will definitely be a welcome addition when I’m back home in the UK.

    • #6 by Michael Wilson on 2012.10.10 - 9:57 am

      Hmm. I haven’t seen any pestering, or anything.

      In any case, it wasn’t available to us until we moved to Amazon, got a new filesystem which supported it properly, and, oh yeah, we got a few other things out of the way.

      • #7 by Jonathan on 2012.10.10 - 10:49 am

        I’ve literally asked once or twice on game that’s all – slight exaggeration. But nevertheless, it’s pretty amazing what’s capable these days!

  6. #8 by EternalQuasarâ„¢ on 2012.10.10 - 8:34 am

    This is great news to us insomniacs here in the States, straight Like A BOSS.

  7. #9 by toufovou on 2012.10.10 - 7:26 am

    Thats one of the best things that’s ever happened to There

  8. #10 by Wikked Bliss on 2012.10.10 - 6:56 am

    WOW! That’s awesome!!!

  9. #11 by Namron Therian on 2012.10.10 - 6:09 am

    Thanks MW. I know my Australasian friends will appreciate the reduced interruption in their There “day”.

  10. #12 by Deb Sassybeme on 2012.10.10 - 6:06 am

    Now That is totally cool! Congrats

Leave a Reply

