“You took money out of my account…”

We get a lot of questions from people who believe that There has taken money out of their PayPal Account, perhaps more than once, perhaps early, etc.

While we sympathize with you, it’s important to know that There doesn’t take the money out of your PayPal Account.

Unlike that past, when There accepted a credit card, and charged you every month (well, charged you), PayPal subscriptions work differently:

  1. You tell PayPal “I want to subscribe to There.
  2. Once a month, Paypal takes the money out of your account and sends it to There.

There has no way of asking for your subscription. We just get the money from PayPal.

Here’s the same thing, in SamSyn’s words:

subscription (a PayPal recurring payment) and that gives PayPal permission to withdraw $10 each month, which they then give to us. That’s all we do, sit around and wait for PayPal to send us the money. We never talk to your Bank.

PayPal, on the other hand, has to GET the money from somewhere. That’s something THEY do, not us. As I understand it, they first look in your PayPal balance and, if that can’t cover it, then they look to the ‘reliable backup funding source’ you set up with your PayPal account. We have no contact with this ‘backup funding source’. As to when PayPal feels the need to transfer funds from your backup funding source to your PayPal account balance, we just don’t know.

I mean, it’s POSSIBLE that PayPal “thinks ahead” and says “Gee, we just covered this month’s payment, but now the PayPal balance is zero and maybe we should get a head start on getting some money in there to cover next month ahead of time” That is entirely a guess, you would have to talk to PayPal to find out what their strategy is.

…we just receive funds from PayPal that you have authorized them to send us, we never reach out and take anything

Again, we sympathize with you, especially if you think too much money has been taken out of your account, but I hope this shows that, unfortunately, it’s not something we can control.

  1. #1 by Therian on 2013.02.18 - 9:34 pm

    When will the names of the past be able to be remade or taken again by new players?

  2. #2 by InjectX on 2013.02.18 - 2:14 pm

    Hey Michael Wilson,

    Suck my dick.

  3. #4 by Andrew Almeida on 2013.01.31 - 3:31 pm

    Paypal sadly has had issues like this among even more drastic issues since Paypal has existed. It’s a convenient service to have/use, and has worked without problems for millions of people. But anytime you have such a large customer base, there will always be a situation here and there. I’d be more concerned about stuff like this happening when you have a ton of new members, cause their patience won’t be as thick as those who’ve been around There for years. I was wondering, have you considered linking this blog to There Central or is that a bad idea since it’s a personal blog? Cause I notice I have had several conversations with members in world and I’d bring up something I’ve seen here. And a lot of people in world actually have no idea about this blog, and some that do have not checked in months they claim. From what I gather the trial concept to some people has just been a rumor floating around in world, when it’s a fact.

  4. #5 by Guernseyman on 2013.01.31 - 2:49 pm

    I had the opposite to this PayPal tried to take my monthly subscription for Thereinc.com world but some fowl up took place between my usual paying source (I.E one of the big banks) due to some upgrading works on computer systems so would not advance my $10 even though my piggy bank had lots more to cover it. I would there for like to apologise to Makena/Thereinc.com for my none renewal of my subscription which had nothing to-do with PayPal or Makena/Thereinc.com but my banking side of the subscription. I have renewed my subscription after having to cancel the monthly authorisation via my PayPal account and setting up another monthly authorisation so my paying source can continue via another code number, this is the first time that any thing like this has happened in all the years I have used PayPal and as I said it was nothing to do with PayPal but my paying source having a banking upgrade. So any one else having the same trouble as I did with PayPal trying to get the subscription but could not, try looking at your paying source for banking upgrades before complaining of PayPal not doing a jot with payments. It’s not always PayPal at fault but your own paying in source like your bank, credit card supplier or other paying in systems.(see post by Hypatia to reference this post)

  5. #6 by Hypatia on 2013.01.31 - 12:34 pm

    I work for a company that does their subscriptions through Paypal. It appears they had a technical issue on January 27th and 28th that impacted transactions from some customers. This technical issue caused payments to be duplicated so some customers paid more than once for the same transaction. Paypal reversed the second transaction back to customer’s paypal accounts or credit cards. I suggest anyone who had this happen to them and did not get a refund from Paypal contact their customer service.

Leave a Reply

