Trials and Letters of the Day

L1000824

Trials

Here’s the current Trial Status:

Low Cost Trial Stats (91 trials, 24 conversions, ~26%)

Not bad, Not bad.

First Letter of the Day

Dear Michael Wilson, Samsyn, Bruce, Mackie, and all other staff members whose names we don’t know:

Thank you.
Thank you for reopening There, for giving us our virtual home back so that we can visit with good friends, play cards, decorate, race buggies, and so much more. You and your very limited staff are doing an outstanding job.

We are puzzled and dismayed at the negative emails you receive, and decided to let you know that there are many Therians who appreciate all you do. We love There, we are thrilled to be here, and just wanted to voice something positive. Don’t let the turkeys get you down!

It’s everyone except me who deserve the credit, but most of all it’s the good members of this Community who deserve the Thanks. We are really thankful you’re here, or back, and are doing all we can to keep you here.

Second Letter of the Day

I would like to have my account deleted, since I will not be needing my avatar anymore. I tried the trial, and sad to say, the people on there.com do not like new people.

Letters like this break our hearts. You know, no matter how much we advertise (when we do), or no matter what we build, Mean People always trumps. Unfortunately, that’s one feature we can’t write, and it’s all up to you.

I will say that if you see anyone being rude or griefing newbies, report ’em, preferably with chat logs or video, and we’ll have a little chat with them. Of course, that doesn’t “undo” the rudeness they inflicted on that newbie, but eventually we might educate or weed out these idi..er, self destructive immature individuals.

  1. #1 by Ada on 2013.03.30 - 10:50 am

    About claiming possessions:
    Pardon me if i missed any posts about this, but i was wondering whether or not i can claim my possessions from an avatar i re-created to a new one. The old one is no longer subscribed, so what must i do? Create 2 subscriptions now?

  2. #2 by Mimi There on 2013.03.08 - 6:00 am

    Actually making mulitple accts to “catch” whomever is your choice. But I do hope those that are come forward to those that try so hard on the WW to assist NEW accts. Last night was prime example. Mulitple ALT accts were made by many. Of course it was easy then to see who was who, BUT my point is if multiple accts are made and those of us that do spend alot of time “helping” don’t know they are not new will be wasting alot of volunteer hours assisting. Not to mention I really dont want to GIVE from the community “Messy Closet”. Its all good to make alts for what ever reason. But please tell anyone “helping” that indeed you are just an alt. Thanks. As far as Zona and the trial or new members go, yesterday more then 1 landed at fisher. Some not all in fact do want Zona lol. Its your 50 cent, I am not saying dont, just be up front and honest. Its also OUR world and if we dont send in screenshots or video staff wont know something is wrong.

    • #3 by Andrew Almeida on 2013.03.11 - 1:35 pm

      That looks like a reply to my comments but it posted at the top. I guess I should have been more detailed with my idea. The accounts I’ll be using for that purpose will only be used for the duration of the trial, then I’ll send an email to There to let them know it can be deleted whenever they have time to do such things. I will in no way accept anything from other users for free even on my actual avatar, so I would not take it on one I don’t plan to keep. As for letting the helpers know, I’ve never bumped into any on WW yet but I only walked through it twice, but I’ll just run through the walkway without stopping to talk to anyone. But you have my word, if any helpers period message me offering any kind of help I’ll gladly say who I am, as long as it won’t hamper what I’m trying to do.

  3. #4 by Soledadnegativa on 2013.03.07 - 5:28 pm

    Michael,

    You know, I just finished reading your post and immediately made me wonder “why you allow the behavior to repeat itself. You have the technology to identify when a member creates multiple accounts and utilizes them in a manner that violates the TOS. You are able to monitor known griefing areas like Zephyr, Zona Alex’s, responsible Therian’s constantly report the same members over and over, one in particular comes to mind. This person does not contribute anything to the game other than drama and many good people have stopped playing There because of the constant unwanted pressure. A financial reason has to play a major part in the reason why you do not implement a NO TOLERANCE rule and ban this members once and for all. I do not share your opinion and hopefully your decision will eventually allow for a more fruitful investment for all. The simple fact that you have not started charging paintballers like myself for refills tells me that you are not solely concern with making a financial as most of the disgruntled players say. Thanks for all you and your team have done for us, even most of my team members and friends do not even log in game any more I am grateful.

    SOLE
    SNIPERS
    ANGELS OF DEATH

  4. #5 by MademoiselleFifi on 2013.03.07 - 11:22 am

    I agree with granpared as not using zona as a landing….its also a pb spot….maybe another spot could be a good idea.
    The older members don’t know when people are coming in, so they are not met by friendly members.
    If new members would be aware of a list of hoods then they could visit hoods and meet interesting people.

  5. #6 by SecondLetter on 2013.03.07 - 10:29 am

    It was most definitely not my intention to upset anyone by asking to be deleted. I am the one who sent the second letter. I did not know that my email would go public. I hope that my experience will not interfere with other people wanting to try there.com. I guess I was at the wrong place at the wrong time, by the sounds of it.

  6. #7 by whocares on 2013.03.07 - 8:18 am

    well mw ya great place is down again I cant get in the great blue sky and mountains AND BEFROE YA SAY ITS MY INTERNET OR FIREWALL .. I asked 5 people I know they cant get in now either 10 a month for crap not getting anymore off me

    • #8 by Michael Wilson on 2013.03.07 - 8:21 am

      Yes we had a problem this morning which is now resolved.

      I’m curious why you said “Down Again”. Have you had other issues, because with the rare exception like today we’ve found the new infrastructure to be very reliable.

      • #9 by Artie on 2013.03.07 - 5:54 pm

        Let me articulate an answer, since I think Mr. WhoCares is someone with whom I sometimes play cards with on my day off. We will sometimes build a track ant do buggy lapping until we tire of driving, then we play cards for 10 hours. During that time we experience the FLASH memory leak that causes us to crash and relog or reboot every 2 hours. I have gotten used to it, but it is rather frustrating in the middle of a serious game, and one has to always worry that someone else will take your seat while you are in the middle of a reboot. Mr.WhoCares just likes to cuss and complain. You should hear him when we go to TWINITY and have to relog every 10 minutes.

        Mr. WhoCares seems to be of the opinion that you can just go out and buy Adobe and force them to fix the Flash memory leak problem. actually, I think he really enjoys the attention you give to his comments. He will now call me an apple polisher, but I must commend you for being so available and responsive. It is one of the reasons I enjoy THERE more than any other hang out on the web. Too bad my employer does not let me log in from the company DS3 lines.

        Thanks for all you have given us with the new THERE. Please forgive our impatiance for wanting a perfect world. I am once again enjoying my days off from work because of THERE. ‘tu

  7. #10 by Andrew Almeida on 2013.03.07 - 6:27 am

    Let it be known in the coming days I will be creating as many new trial avatars as are allowed per my paypal account. For the sole purpose of taking screen shots or recording vids. I will take them into areas that have been called out as places where griefers/teens harass people especially new members. I think others should do this as well. It’s a 2 birds 1 stone situation. One you get to help them further test out how the trial process is going. Two you can possibly help catch some of the ones who make it harder on new users. I know from experience new users are treated differently in There, but it isn’t just There. It’s like that in absolutely every form of a chat site that you can find online. It would be a bit easier and possibly more convincing to new users if when we did a mouse over on a user’s name, and in the list of actions there was one that says “report user for harassment”. Which could auto throw the current chat logs for that user into a folder that gets sent to one of the helpers or staff. (am I blocked here? This is the 4th post I’ve posted that just never posts wtf)

  8. #11 by Andrew Almeida on 2013.03.07 - 6:27 am

    Let it be known in the coming days I will be creating as many new trial avatars as are allowed per my paypal account. For the sole purpose of taking screen shots or recording vids. I will take them into areas that have been called out as places where griefers/teens harass people especially new members. I think others should do this as well. It’s a 2 birds 1 stone situation. One you get to help them further test out how the trial process is going. Two you can possibly help catch some of the ones who make it harder on new users. I know from experience new users are treated differently in There, but it isn’t just There. It’s like that in absolutely every form of a chat site that you can find online. It would be a bit easier and possibly more convincing to new users if when we did a mouse over on a user’s name, and in the list of actions there was one that says “report user for harassment”. Which could auto throw the current chat logs for that user into a folder that gets sent to one of the helpers or staff.

    • #12 by whocares on 2013.03.07 - 8:24 am

      WTF YA KIDDING WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY

      • #13 by Michael Wilson on 2013.03.07 - 8:27 am

        Thank you again for visiting pepsi79@charter.net.

        I noticed that THREE months ago, you posted “there is a rip off and allways well be ..”, yet here you are, THREE months later …

      • #14 by Andrew Almeida on 2013.03.07 - 3:24 pm

        Lol are you implying 2-3 50 cent trials is a waste of money to spend on trying to help There out? Sorry for the double post btw ppl, I thought my posts were not going through here anymore.

    • #15 by Artie on 2013.03.07 - 5:20 pm

      Actually the only griefers I have met are on new trial accounts trying to disturb people. I hope it wasn’t you who was hovering on top of the card table while i was trying to play a quiet game of spades with friends. I asked three times for the irritating behavior to stop before I got tired of the nasty hover sound in my ears while I was trying to concentrate on a serious game of cards. Good thing zone controls have a remove feature that one can use before a ban goes into effect.

      Andrew, be careful, because it might be you who is percieved as the griefer and the one doing the harrasment. I enjoy meeting new people and loaning out vehicles, but sometimes I do not want to chat forever especially when playing cards. I have met many new people in the past few weeks. Some have been very nice, and some have been total losers bent on disturbing others. I will keep on being nice to visitors who are not bent on being obnoxious. I enjoy loaning vehicles to new people and showing them around.

      Mr. WhoCares .. loosen up and be nice, your sugar must be off again. Eat a apple and another burrito … you need the extra turbo power to beat me in the next race. We know you care, because you keep posting here … yes, I know who you are.

      • #16 by Andrew Almeida on 2013.03.07 - 7:25 pm

        From what I gathered here are the new trial members are being griefed, not vica versa? And of course it wasn’t me hovering on your card table, that was a big stretch of an assumption I think. I have no need to be careful though, cause all I’m saying is I’ll be using trial accounts to catch ppl who attack newbs. The ones I catch should be careful though lol. All I plan to do is pretend to be random new people to see how new ppl are treated in various spots in world like Zona. Ppl can perceive me in any manner they wish, in world I’m “Tre_Ghost” and my only other account so far is “justamule” which was never a trial avatar, they can check all my logs at any given time. I don’t harass anyone. So no clue why you’d think it might be me who is perceived as the griefer. Ppl may not always like me, but I’m not that bad. Smeet would have never let me be a chat moderator for a year if I harassed ppl all day.

  9. #17 by Francis_7 on 2013.03.07 - 4:47 am

    I appreciate all the hard work the There team is putting in on making this world an even better place than it is too. I guess people just tend to complain about things, rather than thanking people for all that they do.

  10. #18 by avatar name was Robynn on 2013.03.07 - 2:53 am

    Wow the amount of Real money I spent on Giving Newbies stuff was Insane LOL It was Fun to just ” drop ” vehicles from the sky for newbies to use 🙂 My hubby would have let me start playing again except for the fact I wasted about $ 10 000 in Real money within only a year or so of playing There,,,,,my bad

  11. #19 by GrandpaRed on 2013.03.07 - 1:26 am

    When I heard that THERE was re-opening, I rushed to get my invite so I could re-enter THERE. Altho the in world population right now isn’t near what it was before THERE closed, it still has alot to offer and I enjoy everday I’m in world. There’s plenty of GOOD people in world and plenty that are trying to make life in THERE a fantastic placce to be, just look at the THERE Games. As far as rude people to the newbies, I would definately look closely at Zona and maybe eliminate it as a landing point for newbies. There’s plenty of other places for newbies to land with very friendly people.

  12. #20 by Phil Reinsmith on 2013.03.07 - 1:10 am

    I was saddened by the second letter. I wish I had run across this person, but I’m guessing they ended up at ZONA somehow. So sorry to see that happen. “Rockinsurfer_Boy”

  13. #21 by Arbata on 2013.03.06 - 6:37 pm

    It does happened, new comers to get mis treated. Its sad and we need new comers! For those I know that mis treat new comers KNOCK IT OFF!!!! and you know who you are.

  14. #22 by PlAiNHaVoC on 2013.03.06 - 5:50 pm

    While I have not logged in for several months, I gladly pay the membership. The Therian community is truly a great group of people. It is sad to hear that new people are being turned away by those who are being rude. Back in 2007 when I first joined, I was enamored with the wonderfully nice and polite people who called it their second home. If people such as this had not “taken me under their wing” so to speak, then the story would have been much different. For those of you who remember when you first joined, especially those who had never experienced a virtual world of any kind, try to help new people enjoy that euphoric first time. Who knows, they may be a new friend for life. They may even bring something better to this great world, and make wonderful creations. All you have to do is provide the spark. Thank you team Phoenix for all that you have done.

  15. #23 by Mimi There on 2013.03.06 - 5:39 pm

    Some of us try and tell people, send in your complaints with chat logs/video. Too many “think” nothing will be done. I feel bad that second letter wont give THERE a chance.. I agree with the first letter. Just no other place like THERE. No matter what they say.

Leave a Reply

