Feature Request Response

L1000054

We’ve had a feature request that I wanted to respond to publicly. It’s actually not a new request – I’d just forgotten about it.

The request is that “When I ignore someone, they’re not allowed to see my chat, or hear my voice”.

Sounds easy, huh?

Well, unfortunately, it’s easy, but very expensive. Here’s why: To do this, as other members came within “earshot” or “chatshot”, we’d have to fetch their “Ignore” lists, see if you’re on it, and see whether or not to suppress your chat/speech for them (or vice-versa, right?).

Basically, that’s probably almost every avatar in the sector.

And, since we obviously don’t want to download your ignore lists onto other people’s computers, this would have to be done on the server (it would be done on the server anyway, but I know someone’s going to ask).

Now, imagine that every avatar in a sector is fetching the ignore list for every other avatar in the sector to see if they’re on their ignore lists – it’s the most evil of algorithmic problems: the “N-Squared” problem. (Ok, not the MOST evil, but you get the idea).

So, if we implemented this feature, we guarantee there would be no more griefing because no one could move because the system would be so busy looking up ignore lists.

If you’re discussing something sensitive, or don’t want people to hear/see what you’re saying, we can suggest some alternatives:

  • Use a private person to person or group chat.
  • Move to a private place.
  • Speak in the Wyandot, Tsetaut, Chitimaca, or Klingon languages.

I hope this answers “Why can’t you do this” satisfactorily.

P.S. I took the picture above at the BNP Paribas Tennis tournament this weekend. I liked it because I took it using a manual focus camera which is not known for sports photography with a very minimal zoom lens (it’s a Leica M).

  1. #1 by Erik on 2013.03.20 - 1:18 pm

    When is There.com going to be available for Mac users to play? I’ve been itching to play ever since it has reopened, but I haven’t been able to due to the fact that I have switched from a PC to a Mac (which a great amount of people have over recent years). The website forever says that it is “working hard on it,” but somehow I doubt that.

  2. #2 by SkyMage on 2013.03.16 - 3:02 pm

    n-squared shouldn’t bring the servers down where n=20. I guess this could be a serious issue when / if the game becomes populated again, though. If more processing power is needed to parse the block lists of active players right now, I’d be happy to volunteer my wrist watch. Sometimes my house makes up 10% of the world’s pop. On that note, if people truly need to ignore eachother, perhaps we should be talking about a single player version? jk. Cheers 🙂

  3. #3 by Greenie on 2013.03.13 - 4:48 am

    Focus.

    Clarity.

    Even if we don’t like the facts revealed, we can respect the clarity.

    Thank you for considering.

  4. #4 by pHluid13 on 2013.03.12 - 7:55 pm

    Is this a riddle? What’s the elvish word for friend?

    • #5 by Lady_Tigrane on 2013.03.13 - 10:20 am

      Sindarin, Quenya, or Drow?

  5. #6 by Juli on 2013.03.12 - 7:07 am

    Hello Michael, Thank you SO much for the soundscape for sound control in the hood lots and hoods and also the weather and environmental choices! I am in a region that had no sound but now I do!!

    Now as far as this request, “When I ignore someone, they’re not allowed to see my chat, or hear my voice”. I have never understood griefing or ignoring. There is a place to socialize, and I make the choice to log in and also the choice of where I want to be in world. I sure don’t log in to have to WORRY about ignoring people or who is ALLOWED to see my chat.

    If I am not having fun I can teleport or log out.

    All I can suggest is find people who you dont have to ignore and therefore request that they are NOT ALLOWED to see your chat or hear your voice.

    There has lots of nice, welcoming, social people!

    .

  6. #7 by Arbata on 2013.03.12 - 6:03 am

    Just ignore them sheesh, how hard is that? And if they wanted to chat about something private! Do it in private chat or a private area such as your lot/paz and only allow u n the person u want to chat with. 🙂

  7. #8 by blagdash on 2013.03.12 - 4:22 am

    Food for thought:

    You don’t need to fetch ignore lists every time an avatar comes into view… they don’t change that often. When a client first connects, it could load the entire list of avatars that are currently in world, and keep a cache. It’s not that much data… there are only a few hundred avatars in world at any one time. Client could do it as a low priority background task. When any avatar logs in or out, or edits their data, push an event out to all the connected clients so they can update their caches.

    Then the clients only have to check against ignore lists that are already cached client-side.

    Just saying, when you’re zooming around in a buggy and come in range of another avatar, you need to decide quickly what to do with it. (milliseconds) If someone edits their ignore list or logs in or out, you can afford to take more time to respond to that, it’s not a realtime event.

  8. #9 by NathanAvis on 2013.03.12 - 4:12 am

    lol Mr. Wilson is asking for common sense to prevail. Think it will?

  9. #10 by brandon527 on 2013.03.11 - 10:59 pm

    I’m not a fan of tennis, but indeed the Bulova advertisement is relevant. I’m a big watch collector I must say.

  10. #11 by Namron Therian on 2013.03.11 - 8:37 pm

    I don’t know the language, but I’ve heard that Navaho’s pretty good to use too. 🙂

    • #12 by Michael Wilson on 2013.03.11 - 8:48 pm

      Yes, but then you have to hang around with Nicholas Cage.

      • #13 by Namron Therian on 2013.03.12 - 1:06 pm

        There’s a downside to everything I guess. 🙂

  11. #14 by Jimmy Kluding (@LegionNinja) on 2013.03.11 - 8:04 pm

    I have a question about the photo, Does anyone know who those two athletes are?
    -SonicWarriorXP

  12. #17 by Andrew Sertich on 2013.03.11 - 7:24 pm

    Hey, I already use Klingon an it’s not enough! Joking … well not about using Klingon but yeah. 😛

    • #18 by Lady_Tigrane on 2013.03.13 - 10:22 am

      I can cuss em out in Ukranian… ROFL

Leave a Reply

