April Numbers (sorry, delayed) and various updates

wilsonslideshow_104

(Disclaimer: I didn’t take this picture. It was taken at an event and I was busy celebrating)

April Numbers

Income (this period) from all AvMans
Subscriptions: $12,340
TB Sales: $17,745 (avg $21.71/purchase, $591.5/day)
Gross Income: $30,085

Peer Review Stats (all time) on all AvMans
Total Submissions: 5341
Total Reviews: 49210 (including 26416 from prior years)
Total Approvals: 2882
Total Cancels: 2394
Total Rejections : 6

Global Chat

SamSyn is almost done with “Global Chat”, which is exactly what it sounds like. It will also include the ability for the System to add events to the chat for things like “Such and Such Event starting in…”, and “Race starting in … in 10 minutes”.

Also, you don’t have to participate in Global Chat at all, if you don’t want to.

Of course it will also include the ability to mute/ignore people who insist on using it to show “LOOK AT ME I CAN TYPE SWARE WORDS ARENT U IMPRESSED?”.

Co-Host Decorating Privileges

We’ll also be rolling out the ability to designated co-hosts to always have decorating rights, instead of “just for events”. This is something folks have been asking for, especially in connection with “Landmarkish” areas in the world. For example, There could pay the rent on a Landmark, but leave it to a more aesthetically talented person to maintain it.

Developer Price Changes

In the near future, we will be making submission fees $1000TB across the board for all types of items. In 99.9% of the cases this is a price reduction – in many cases a significant price reduction. In a few odd cases, it seems to be a price increase, but this is frankly for some items that seemed to be aberrantly priced anyway.

Next Up

Next up is the “Real Money” system for Developers.

Of course, we’re also going to see if these “How do I find people in the World” changes help people…Find things to do in World. If they do, we can then experiment with advertising again, with the hope new members will “stick”, and generate more revenue than the cost of acquiring them (which is what has happened with every other kind of advertising we’ve tried before).

If those things don’t work, we have more things to try, of course :-).

  1. #1 by imJonathan on 2013.05.25 - 11:31 pm

    Will you bring back There Forums? Thumdar has been somewhat temperamental of late, and having google malware warnings etc!!

  2. #2 by Mike on 2013.05.24 - 5:53 am

    Don’t know about ya’ll but I just signed up again after 3 years with my old legacy Avi and I could hear the sound of crickets! I counted maybe 5 people total hanging out in the well known areas. It was like a ghost town. Even less people now than before it closed. I’ve been waiting to sign back up so all the bugs were worked out but to me it’s about to close again one day. Theres the 3 day trial now but all thats going to do is show people theres no one of THERE and thats as far as they will go with it, never to return. I’ve been on it since 2007 and at that time, THERE was “THE PLACE” to be. Duda was just packed 24/7. I had tons of fun and just so much to do. I don’t see those days ever coming back again and not even close to that. It’s been a year now that it’s reopened and if it still that empty, it’s not going to work. I really miss the old days.

    • #3 by Michael Wilson on 2013.05.24 - 7:08 am

      The problem with the “old days” is that, in the background, someone was writing checks to keep There open.

      Every. Month. Of. It’s. Existence.

      I’m sure that if we made There “Free” again, and opened it for everyone, it would be packed.

      And would promptly start losing money again.

      The problem with There’s past is it was like the housing boom of the early 2000’s. It was sure fun, but it wasn’t sustainable.

      • #4 by Mike on 2013.05.24 - 12:05 pm

        Right but now like myself, in the old days I spent alot on rent of paz’s/neighborhoods and such so I did my share. I have no problem at all paying the $10 per month for a membership but looks to me others still have that problem. If you are able to keep it open on the few people that are in there paying that, thats great. I was about to sign up for the monthly membership but I don’t feel like talking to myself in world. I do that now in real world. lol. I think the idea of charging was great and it keeps the riff raff down especially no more kiddies running around ( although some weren’t trouble makers and good kids ). It’s been long enough with the re-opening and if it hasn’t grown anymore than it is right now, it’s not going to ever. Just my opinion as I was shocked to see that.

      • #5 by Mike on 2013.05.24 - 1:01 pm

        Final note, free doesn’t mean it will be packed again because it was still free before it closed and the world was populated a fraction of what it was back in the day. All the popular hangout places were dead already. I’ll tell ya what killed the world was when the stacking of paz’s ( free ) went away. Soon as that happened, the popluation dropped like a rock. Neighborhoods fell apart due to people moving out. I remember, I was there. Thats when membership fee should of happened and the paz law should of stayed the same. The new rules of membership could of taken effect even with current avatars. Just send out a notice saying monthly fee’s will be due or your account closes. To me that would of been less of a hastle than closing the whole world down and starting over. Now alot of the old Legacy customers don’t want to come back because they don’t want to start over again. They put alot of work in those neighborhoods and I don’t blame them to not wanting to start over. Unless you have experienced building a hood, you have no idea the work that goes into that just to be taken away in a flash. I realize you now had a chance to fix all the bugs and get things cleaned up but I think in the long run it’s ruined it for the future of what it was in the past before all the rule changes. I know you were trying to pull THERE out of the slums then is why the no free stacking but I don’t think that was the answer. That law should of been reversed right away and monthly fee’s instead to go into effect as the free riders is who were sinking the world, not the paz stackers.

    • #6 by Mike on 2013.05.24 - 12:13 pm

      To be honest also, I think alot of people don’t know about THERE. Alot of times in a search engine, you can search for worlds like that and THERE doesn’t come up. I always thought about that in the past too. THERE was working off of word of mouth. Thats how I found out about it in 2007. Example, ( Avatar chat program ) you would think THERE would show up, it doesn’t. I don’t think there is enough advertisment for THERE in the past and present.

  3. #7 by Jimmy Kluding (@LegionNinja) on 2013.05.22 - 6:45 pm

    I know he didn’t take that picture, but I like the boat. Where was this picture taken?
    -SonicWarriorXP

  4. #8 by superdale on 2013.05.21 - 6:37 am

    this is all good news happy to hear it on 5- 24 2013 I well be having a grand opening for the new rock club called CLUB BIG EASY hope to see you there. join the fun dancing good old rock tunes e moteing are just come meet some peeps .

  5. #9 by StephenWiz on 2013.05.19 - 1:01 pm

    Thanks for the update, I always like to read these and keep up to date! Lots of exciting stuff… thanks for all the hard work.

  6. #10 by SNIPERBAIT on THERE on 2013.05.18 - 3:04 am

    Quick question for Samsyn of Michael Wilson: I asked this in past but never got a response, so has left a bit of confusion and hope at same time.. go figure. The new “Co-Host Decorating Privileges”.. This has been a way long needed change but the big question in it is the protection of the owner of that area drops. Am hoping this means that whomever is on that “co-host” list or stated allowed will be able to drop there stuff and of course it stay permanently, but also without fear that they could pick up the owner dropped pieces. Would much appreciate a conclusive answer on this. Some of us hood owners enjoy settings up places for others to use and have fun with at will but accidents do happen and would be nice to not have to worry about that anymore. Thanks again for taking the time to answer this as just has the need for the “permanent decor” been long awaited, the ease of worry over main drops being removed has been needed as well.

    • #11 by Samsyn2 on 2013.05.24 - 8:33 am

      That’s unfortunately tricky. On the one hand, if you designate someone a decorating co-host, you are indicating you trust them. But the wiring that prevents you decorating with “someone else’s pieces” runs deep. I don’t think we will be able to allow you to ‘nudge an owner’s piece’ nor can we ‘protect’ an owner’s piece from your clear layout or load layout. (nor can your load layout include pieces belonging to someone else).

      But the behavior where the piece is just instantly put away if you try to ‘pick up’ an owner’s piece is clearly non-optimal. Perhaps someday we could… add a system message on that? “This piece does not belong to you, so you cannot move it. However, you do have the ability to put it away”

      That’s only a suggestion and not part of this set of co-host changes.

  7. #12 by Orielle Thereian on 2013.05.17 - 4:21 pm

    “Developer Price Changes

    In the near future, we will be making submission fees $1000TB across the board for all types of items. In 99.9% of the cases this is a price reduction – in many cases a significant price reduction. In a few odd cases, it seems to be a price increase, but this is frankly for some items that seemed to be aberrantly priced anyway.”

    I had been hoping something like this would be done, flat fee across the board. Will that be 1k over the wholesale cost of the so called “free” copy or will we no longer be getting the so called “free” copy? I’m fine with getting rid of the “free” copy as i had been returning mine to help reduce the submission fee.

    Now if there was just an easier way to relist our items in auctions… And before anyone suggests I use JinXplorer I can’t. I keep getting errors.

    • #13 by Samsyn2 on 2013.05.17 - 7:07 pm

      The ‘wholesale price’ still exists (and has not been changed at this time). So the full amount you pay at time of submission is now (well, will be) the wholesale price + 1000TB

      Instead of wholesale price +

      The wholesale price is because you ‘get a copy’ as part of the submission (and without charging the wholesale price, it could lead to weird abuses)

      That variable part was originally designed to cover the costs of manual submission approvals, but since that is now ‘automatic’ there was no real justification for it other than the negative feedback required to prevent someone from just sitting on the submit button and submitting the same shirt over and over 60 times. It is hoped that 1000TB is perceived both as ‘not much’ and ‘too much for me to think of submitting specious designs’

      The wholesale pricing, again, has not changed from what it was, which was determined by some equation based on the textures and polys involved. Which makes a certain amount of sense if you look at it from the right perspective (standing on your head, with one hand in your back left pocket)

      • #14 by coolnet on 2013.05.18 - 7:16 pm

        As fort the developer price change. How would this affect for those who are submitting the interactives? Will there be still an extra fee for it or will that disappear?

  8. #15 by NastyNate on 2013.05.17 - 4:07 pm

    This may have been spoken of before but just to clarify…with upcoming real money developer system, will developers have an option to ONLY sell their stuff for real money?

    Or simply offer a tbuck or real money choice?

    • #16 by Samsyn2 on 2013.05.17 - 7:09 pm

      It has only been hand-waved about. I am personally not fond of “options for the sake of options” but we’ll see. It could either be a master switch you set on your developer profile, or it could be a checkbox you check on the ‘auction listing’ (for new developer sales only)

  9. #17 by Francis_7 on 2013.05.17 - 3:46 pm

    Some very exciting news about submission costs! I am very excited by that change as I think it will drive a ton of new submissions in world!

  10. #18 by firetamer on 2013.05.17 - 3:17 pm

    This is probably the 3rd or 4th time I’m asking, and multiple comments on most of my posts saying the same thing,

    Is there even a chance of getting the Mac clients out anytime soon? It hasn’t been brought up in months, and A LOT OF USERS have macs and want to use it. I used to have 3 active accounts, I’ve reduced to one due to only have 1 PC in the house and it is very slow, if there was a Mac version, I’d still have all three. I have met many people with similar problems.

    ONE, just one, update on it would be appreciated, as I have 8+ buddies on my list wanting the Mac version, we’ve all been patient on everything, you mentioned it awhile ago and abandoned it and moved onto new things, why?

    I am a full supporter of yours, and so are the others that I’ve met over this issue, we are just wanting an update, not complaining or anything, just sort of frusterated.

    Hope to get a reply.

    • #19 by brandon527 on 2013.05.17 - 10:57 pm

      I’ve the same issue. I’m sure they know this, but I believe they were having issues with the Mac client and probably put it on the back burner for when they come up with a resolution and are trying to fix things that are easier to do. I’m just guessing that is the case. Michael mentioned in the past that he is using Mac as his primary computer. I too am waiting for an update. I practically check twice a week. I grew up with this game personally.

  11. #20 by Mimi There on 2013.05.17 - 12:23 pm

    Yay. Sounds good, especially the option to NOT use the global chat unless we want too. I was curious about the trial program, how do you think it is going? Lately I have noticed alot of OLD members returning and “some” trial. Thanks! Moving forward is always awsome.

    • #21 by Michael Wilson on 2013.05.17 - 12:32 pm

      Despite the views of the “Paul Ryan of There”, the Trial Program is doing amazingly well, with about a 20% conversion rate (ask anyone, that’s a pretty amazing rate). If we can just get those convertees to “stick” by getting them to things to do, we’ll be in good shape.

      Personally, I’ve been trying to make it into world every night and exploring the events in “Happening Now” (which is MUCH better now that you can only see events with people in them). I’ll admit I have MUCH more fun lapping (even IF some of the tracks are CLEARLY broken and not recording accurate times :-)) and doing other stuff than standing around complaining about There. Maybe it will start a trend :-).

      • #22 by Mimi There on 2013.05.17 - 1:24 pm

        Zips lips about that night you was lapping.. ( I saw the photo’s) lol. On a side note, I know its peddy asking BUT I would so love the return of “music” on the walkway. And as far as getting trial members things to do, last few we have taken them touring, teaching them driving/flying what ever. They seem to like that alot.

  12. #23 by Arbata on 2013.05.17 - 12:22 pm

    Id like to advertise there FREE! I never received a response if I can or not.

    • #24 by Andrew Almeida on 2013.05.17 - 5:49 pm

      They want to make the world’s setup a certain way before advertising so the chances of retention are higher. So like their $ yours would be better spent once they are comfortable they are in that position. Which sounds pretty close to me.

Leave a Reply

